We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Addo gateway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Ranked #2 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Addo gateway”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent place to stay within easy real of Addo. Good self catering accommodation for a family. The staff were exceptionally friendly. Also good security. Would really recommend this if you are planning to visit Addo - we will definitely be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lollllllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    87
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
117
171
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Positives:
- Warm welcome from Bianca
- Spacious cottages, well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The cottages are very clean with lovely warm beds
- Spacious bathroom with wonderful showers with lots of hot water.
- We had dinner and breakfasts at De Old Drift Lodge and the meals were wonderful!

Negatives
- the only negative we found was the situation with WiFi. Charging for WiFi use over 100mb - Who knows when they have used 100mb? Just include a charge in the room cost and give open access. It would be easier.

Overall this is a wonderful accommodation in a great setting. Bianca and the other hosts were friendly, courteous and most welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Very nice setting in addo. The cottages are a good size and within driving distance (15 minute drive) of addo elephant park, which is essential for a trip to addo! Everybody at the farm was welcoming and accommodated to suit your needs. Breakfast had a good selection and dinner was very nice. On downside was charging extra for the wifi, it would be better for it to be included in the price rather than have to pay extra as you are then cautious to use it. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jake_royle095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights in the self-catering unit at De Old Drift. It is in a good position from which to visit Addo Elephant Park, which was the purpose of our visit to the area. Bianca was most welcoming, and we absolutely loved the dogs, who ended spending a lot of time with us! The unit was very well-equipped from a self-catering point of view, with everything we needed and we enjoyed being able to have a fire for cooking and warmth every evening. It was also well-priced.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rene000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Thank you to Neels and Juanita! Perfect hosts and 100% there to make sure that you enjoy your stay! Lovely breakfast! The best place to stay in Addo. You have it all! Spacious rooms, neat, everything you need in the kitchen and the lovely outdoors with trails to the river! I will stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had 4 beautiful nights at the old Drift Guest Farm. The rooms we had were big and comfy with a private terrace. There is also a clean pool with loungers an towels for swimming. We enjoyed the three dogs that belong to the farm and welcomed us every morning or joined us for a walk on the farm. The breakfast is good and you can get a sandwich anytime during the day. In the morning you can choose if you want dinner in the evening. We had dinner only once but this was really great. Neels the owner barbecued the meat for us and our vegetarian friend became her separate meal. Biancke, the manager, prepared the rest of the meal and it was delicious. Especially Biancke did a great job trying to make this stay special. This is a really peaceful and relaxing place to go and you are close to Addo and other game reserves.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This place is a gem. We took the self catering room which has a kitchenette and Braai/BBQ area.

The whole place is really nice and tranquil. The farm and surrounding area is very well maintained. The rooms are clean, modern and homely.

I highly recommend going to a pick n pay in Port Elizabeth (especially if you are vegetarian) otherwise there is a petrol station with convenience store (3km) and Lenmore (12km - fruit, veg, bakery) where you can get coal, firelighters and food from.

They have 3 very friendly and obedient dogs. My wife is some what scared of dogs and commanded them to sit and they were very friendly and do not bark or bother you. The small one is cute and will walk around with you and likes a nice game of catch with sour lemons that have fallen off.

The place is close to Addo and the owners are very friendly and will give you lots of local advice if you need it.

Highly recommended and wish we stayed longer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VeggieLondoners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
4.6 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
8.7 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
4.7 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Old Drift Guest Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Old Drift Guest Farm

Property: De Old Drift Guest Farm
Address: De Old Drift | R335, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Old Drift Guest Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COME AND RELAX IN OUR TRANQUIL ENVIRONMENT, WITH ONLY SOUNDS OF NATURE AT YOUR DOORSTEP... De Old Drift Guest Farm, a short distance from the little village of Addo in South Africa’s malaria-free Eastern Cape province and only 15min drive from the renowned Addo Elephant National Park, with its big Seven, and numerous other species. De Old Drift is a working citrus farm, one of the smallest but most peaceful farms in the area. Take a tour through the orchards and venture down to The Sundays river, only a short 2km away, where Njala, Kudu’s and Rooibok can be seen on the ridge of the mountain. Relax around the pool after a long day at the Elephant Park, or take a walk through the garden and orchards, when the trees are in blossom, the smell of citrus permeates the air. Enjoy our refreshing breakfast in our thatched roof lapa overlooking the garden and swimming pool area. Adventure, fun and games await children, where Pumba (Labrador), Timone (Jack Russel) and Mufasa (Bullmastiff) love to make new friends and play... a little paradise for all children. Your hosts Neels, Juanita and Steffi, will make sure that your stay will be one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your De Old Drift Guest Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing