We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosedale Organic Farm B&B
Ranked #10 of 23 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

After all the good reviews very disappointed
Kitchen is communal with only one fridge for all the guests to share.
Room lighting inadequate and poorly furnished.
Bathroom tacky.
Breakfast cooked poorly, don't even try the fried eggs.
Will not be a returning guest

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith636, Owner at Rosedale Organic Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Unfortunately, the only complaint this guest made to us when he was here was that the frogs were too noisy. Had some of these complaints been raised while he was with us, we would have been happy to assist as far as possible to make his stay more enjoyable.

However, we take every complaint seriously, and have noted all of the guest's points for rectification, where we think this is necessary.

He is correct with his comments about lighting – and we have increased the wattage of the bulbs in some of the rooms. We will also change the bedside lamps. As we are an organic and eco-friendly destination and we strive, wherever possible, to limit our carbon footprint.

We are not sure about his comments regarding the ‘tacky’ bathroom. We can’t do anything about the design or the colour – but the bathrooms are always extremely clean.

It is worth noting that our advertising states that the guest kitchen is communal. Based on the guest's comments, though, we will be looking to acquire a bigger or second fridge for the guest kitchen.

I do not think we will ever agree about breakfasts – it seems that the guest would only be happy with a big fry up. We try to provide a healthy, balanced breakfast, which includes fruits, fruit juices, cereals, organic yoghurt, home baked bread, artisanal cheeses, as well as eggs and bacon.

We encourage any guests who are uncomfortable to raise their concerns with us and we will always do out best to make your stay with us as relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

After all the good reviews very disappointed
Kitchen is communal with only one fridge for all the guests to share.
Room lighting inadequate and poorly furnished.
Bathroom tacky.
Breakfast cooked poorly, don't even try the fried eggs.
Will not be a returning guest

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We found Rosedale to be a great base for exploring the Addo area. Lovely, safe grounds with simple, clean chalets. Good value and friendly, helpful hosts. Very peaceful and good for getting away from it all. Criss Cross Adventures organised a couple of great fun safaris for us. Hazel's Kitchen was just on the next road and we probably had our best meals of the whole holiday there - excellent!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank etwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

1) Room: Very big room with everything you need.
2) Surroundings: great garden –room behind lemon plantage-close at ado elephant park.
3) Atmosphere: very good
4) Food: good breakfast everything is biological for the evening they will guide you to restaurants, take their advice there is one biological restaurant who serves great springbok and impala with all fresh biological vegetables.
5) Good items: Rosedale and keith are very friendly and helpefull-biological breakfast-close at ado.
6) Improvements: NONE

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spend three restful nights with my family at Rosedale. Both Keith and Mama Ndumi were the perfect hosts. We had the most scrumptious breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice. Keith gave us the tour of the farm and my daughter enjoyed every single minute of it. We will definitely be back. Siyabulela

Room Tip: Good Base for Addo Elephant park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phatheka N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Keith and Miso bent over backwards to make our stay as rewarding and trouble-free as possible. The lovely home-cooked breakfast was officially over by 8.30, but our teenagers were challenged by that "early" wake-up call, and rolled up quite late every day. They still got the cooked breakfast! Keith gave us a tour of the farm, and even graciously consented to being interviewed (on camera!) for our son's geography project (see: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSHCuOMr6nU). The gardens that the thatched cottages are set in are gorgeous, and the natural swimming pond (see photo) a sure fire draw for hotter days. The only minor criticism is that the cottage interiors were a little dark and smelt slightly musty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Rosedale Organic Farm B&B. It was a .delight to stay with Keith ( who opened our eyes to organic farming) and Nondumiso the charming maker of good fresh baked bead to go with her great breakfasts. Both were very helpful with local restaurants and other local advice. We thoroughly enjoyed our time with them and would highly recommend a stay with them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JnP683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
1.3 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
0.5 mi away
Broadlands Country House
2.3 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 23 in Addo
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Happy Lands B&B
Happy Lands B&B
#6 of 23 in Addo
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#9 of 23 in Addo
142 reviews
6.5 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Organic Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Organic Farm B&B

Address: Main Road, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: £53 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosedale Organic Farm B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our thatch cottages 11km from the Addo National Elephant Park, set in an indigenous garden, where you will be woken by birdsong.We combine green living with comfort, wholesome food with great taste, and a simple lifestyle with extraordinary experiences.And, of course, a warm welcome that will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rosedale Organic Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing