We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had the most pleasant experience at this lodge despite worst weather ever in the Eastern Cape. Here you can take a walk on the beautiful game farm, spent hours watching birds or just enjoy the views or you can enjoy a glass of good wine with host Archie and his wife Marietjie. The staff were extremely well trained, very professionally and so helpful. Suites are spacious and tastefully decorated with balcony over looking the Sundays River valley. Each with huge bathrooms, outdoor shower - very private and romantic. Breakfasts are served in restaurant on premises with own chef. It is tastefully prepared and divine also with ambiance and views to die for. Absolute worth a visit and worth every cent!! Thanks to great hosts!! You make us feel proudly South Africa!! Well done and congratulations. You have accomplished something very special. This place is highly recommended!! You will always remember your stay at Hitgeheim. I will definitely be back!!Carin

Room Tip: Room 1 is most private and most popular, but all 8 rooms are quiet and have special features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarinvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    82
    26
    16
    1
See reviews for
125
337
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

On a restricted timeframe, we only had two nights in the Hitgeheim Lodge but it was a great decision. Archie and team are such wonderful hosts with lovely spacious and quiet african style bungalows. You will also receive all the service and attention anyone could ask for, not to mention the fantastic breakfasts and food to treat you palate. The bungalows are perched on the edge of hills overlooking the lush river valley below and on short walks from the Lodge we saw plenty of game. Archie goes out of his way to advise the best activities in the Addo area, so make sure you seek his wealth of knowledge. Hitgeheim won't disappoint....enjoy :-)

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I got started late in planning a family vacation for next December, and when I contacted Archie about staying at Hitgeheim Country Lodge, he did not have room for us. In spite of that, he offered me countless tips on best ways to view wildlife in his area--how to plan a stay to relax and also get the most out of our time at Addo and its environs. He even proposed an alternative itinerary for us that would have enabled us to spend three days at Hitgeheim. Much as I tried to make it work, however, it was simply impossible. Archie never lost patience with me, even as we exchanged daily emails for nearly two weeks. At the end, when I thanked him and expressed my regrets, he could not have been more gracious. He wished us well and said that he was only sorry that he wouldn't have a chance to meet us. Although I have traveled extensively, I have never encountered hospitality like that before.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

With an airstrip on the property, the lodge is a great getaway for anyone with an airplane or with access to an airplane. The airstrip is in good condition and security for parked airplanes is no problem. Archie Hitge is a pilot himself and always happy to talk flying with anyone interested. I took our C-182 up to his lodge this past weekend and enjoyed a terrific overnight with the Hitge's and the staff. Next day I flew back to Plettenberg and what was a 4hr drive became a 1 hr flight...a great way to get next door to Addo National Park and enjoy luxurious accommodations in the process. For you who fly, make it a point to stop by - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldjohns945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I chose Hitgeheim based on other Trip Advisor reviews and so pleased I did. It is a beautiful place to stay, the main lodge has the most amazing views over the valley below - the perfect place to sit and enjoy breakfast or a sundowner on the deck.

The rooms are all individual chalets so you have complete privacy and they are beautiful inside - modern, country-retreat style with huge wet-room shower and bath and separate toilet, the sunrise streamed into the room and bathroom on our first morning - the perfect start to a perfect day!

We did the recommended morning Addo Game Drive from the lodge and afternoon/evening Game Drive at Schotia Safaris - it really is the way to do it, both are very different and brilliant experiences.

The food is wonderful, and the staff Kay, Andrew and Donald were outstanding, they really do spoil you. The owner Archie is great too, very welcoming and laid-back and all are willing to do whatever they can to help.

I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a luxury treat in Addo!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skichickcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

An unplanned and stressful circumstance took place during our trip where my husband and I ended up having to look for alternative accommodations. We wanted to be close to ADDO National Elephant Park. I found Hitgeheim Country Lodge on the internet and once I saw their photo gallery, I knew this is where we needed to be. I called right away and after speaking with Archie, I had a feeling that this was going to end up being the best thing that ever happened to us in all of our travels. As soon as we turned into the drive, greeted by an ostrich, we started laughing. Upon our arrival Kaye poured us a glass of delicious white wine while we chilled out on the plush sofas, soaking in the views of the beautiful citrus orchards nestled between the stunning valley countryside. Archie greeted us at dinner, giving me a chance to personal thank him. What meant the most to us is when I asked him if it was possible for us to stay on the grounds beyond our check-out the next day as our plane departed at 7pm. His response, "you have your chalet as long as you want." Our stress just melted away... we have never felt so grateful and relaxed in our lives. To Archie, his beautiful wife, Marietjie and the staff... THANK YOU for the best memories my husband and I have made in our 13 years together.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWK_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Perfect rooms, perfect place to have sundowners. Food is great but ambience could do better!
Safari's wel organised. But if you have time in your shedule then go to the krugerpark! I loved it but it felt like going on a safari in a zoo without being negative!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erwinatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
24.0 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 12 in Addo
417 reviews
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing