We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, truly luxurious, and, most of all...very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful, truly luxurious, and, most of all...very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2008

Coming to Hitgeheim , the first thing that will impress you is the huge farmland it is surrounded by. From the gate to the guesthouse, we drove more than 2 kilometres through the citrus farm, meeting some ostrich and antilope. Once you are there, you are welcomed with warm friendliness before you start to explore the beautiful single house lodges. Amazing views, appealing furniture and a fantastic bathroom make you feel that you actually ARE in that holiday accomodation you always have dreamt of. Absence of TV and telephone contribute to the relaxation. Dinner and breakfast served will exceed your expectation and Archie, the owner, who, in his own words, sees the house more as a hobby than a business, together with his staff will help you with issues - from extensive information to sending you missed stuff back to your home address. All in all a must for anyone travelling the Addo area. I recommend to reserve 2 nights - otherwise you might regret it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aurelius999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    80
    22
    16
    1
See reviews for
113
319
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights last October & loved it. Had a gorgeous room with fabulous views over the countryside. Breakfast & dinner were excellent & a nice way to meet your fellow guests. Archie was a fine host & we really appreciated his tips on the local tours etc. We booked one such tour with him & had an amazing day. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2008

After leaving Oudtshoorn we travelled to the Addo region. Hitgeheim had come highly recommended but nothing prepared us for the sheer magnificence of the place. The views from the enormous outdoor thatch lounge furnished with overstuffed leather couches and just perfect for reclining while sipping a welcome drink, are STUPENDOUS to say the least. The cottages are spacious and when the word luxurious was invented it was with Hitgeheim's interior's in mind. Fantastic mattresses, Percale linen, thick white bathrobes, fluffy bathsheets and a bathroom enclosed in glass. Lying in the enormous bath in the centre of the bathroom and gazing out over the Addo valley was a real treat. In fact everything, from the food, to the staff, to the cottages, was so inviting and delicious that we seldom left the property and did not see much of the Addo region at all apart from the almost compulsory game drive. We were very sad to leave after three nights of bliss. Archie is a wonderful host and his wine cellar amazing. And so our journey continues to the Idwala Game Reserve near Grahamstown.

  • Liked — The secluded cottages and the views
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5*travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

Stayed for four nights. Generally very pleasurable. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful. Views over the citrus orchards to hills beyond were beautiful. Owner Archie was a great host, perhaps just a little too overenthusiastic at times! We felt a little pressured to sign up for e.g. lodge-sponsored 'safari' options, strongly promoted by Archie. We much preferred the days when we did our own thing! Food was good, and our dietary requests were accommodated smoothly. Our room was comfortable and suitably styled for the location, but it would have been nice to have a TV (none was provided anywhere on the premises) and less creepy-crawlies and flying insects!

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Creepy-crawlies
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Seabreezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2008

About a month before our trip, I emailed Archie to reserve our stay at Hitgeheim. It was our first trip to South Africa and he made all of our safari arrangements and even set up rides to each (called "transfers"). His suggestions were invaluable and I highly recommend listening to him...especially for first time travelers.

We flew from Cape Town to Port Elizabeth and rented a car to drive to Hitgeheim. It's about 1 hour drive.

Archie greeted us when we arrived, and he, his wife, and the rest of the staff were very attentive to our every need. They have the best lemon drink you'll ever have. The food and wine was also amazing.

Our cottage had an almost 270 degree view of valleys below, filled with citrus trees and other farms.

At the last minute we decided to drive the Garden Route back to Cape Town and Archie arranged for a night's stay at the At the Woods lodge in Tsitskamma.

We truly appreciated his hospitality and warm spirit. The lodge itself is beautiful.

  • Liked — Views and proximity to Addo Elephant Park
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onyxcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2008

One of the most hospitable places you will find in a country of much hospitality. A visit to Addo Park is essential and though we have stayed at several places in the area on previous trips this is our favorite. Set high up in the hills where our private thatched accomodations looked out over the valley. This is a very romantic place to stay, with its netted King Size bed, a bathroom with slipper bath and a separate shower all of which had huge glass windows & doors and you could throw them open to go onto balcony to enjoy the view or else admire the view from inside. Archie is the host and a great one, friendly and helpful.
We had previously made some tour arrangements with Archie, but shortly before our arrival we were in a terrible car accident up in the north of South Africa and did not really want to go on the arranged tours and Archie made us feell that it was perfectly all right to change our minds. However we did ask for and received a tour of his vast farm with its exotic breeds, and mainstay Ostriches and Cape Buffalo. A real treat.
We ate both nights at the hotel and that was also very nice and when Archie had arranged a wine tasting evening for the local hoteliers he was kind enough to ask us to jon in.
I should note that you need a car to drive yourself up the mountain on sometimes rough roads, but other guests had flown in to what looks like Archie's private airstrip.
This is a good place to center yourself for safari outings to Addo, & Pumba, Amakala private reserves (to mention just a few, but ones we reccommend )and they have day programs that can be arranged on your own or by this hotel many other activities. This was our 3rd visit to South Africa in the space of 2 years and this 3 month trip was the most expansive. So we have some advice fr first time visitors. We found it riskier than we thought to drive down from Kruger to Capetown, but on 2 previous trips found it quite safe.
On those trips we had covered the area from Cape Town, the Garden Route and up to East Cape, beyond this things get ...more interesting??
There is so much to see and do without going north we think you could easily spend a week in the East Cape Addo area. Then if you want to do Kruger National park (which is sensational) then fly in and fly out.
Don't miss a chance to see this country NOW !!

  • Liked — The Accommodations themselves, the view, opportunity to see a real farm
  • Disliked — Nothing really though the roads up are rough but that was not a problem for us.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skasulka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2008

We stayed here on the last night of our South African trip and it was a wonderful way to end the holiday. We had stayed inside the Addo National Park rest camp the previous two nights so, as we had explored that fully, we simply checked in, chilled out and admired our beautiful surroundings. If this was to be your main base for the area, I would suggest staying at least two nights to allow a couple of trips into Addo which can be arranged via the lodge or done independently - I would recommend at least one guided tour but also recommend taking your own vehicle to allow you to explore at your own pace.

The bedrooms are beautiful, each located in individual cottages and each with fabulous views across the valley. We had a room with floor to ceiling glass windows right across the front of the building. The bathroom doors could be pulled right back on the bathroom opening it up to the veranda which also ran the length of the property. The freestanding bath was located to make the most of the view and it is all very private.

We ate here; there is no wine list - you are shown to the cellar to choose your own. The food was superb, but I do feel the white glove service is more formal than is necessary - most people I know today prefer privacy to being hovered over.

Do remember to take directions with you - without them this is not the easiest place to locate and even once you reach Hitgeheim it is quite a drive through their land before you find the lodge - but once found it is well worth it.

I would stay here again if returning to this area.

  • Liked — Rooms and setting
  • Disliked — Service more formal than is necessary
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camera1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
5.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
10.9 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.8 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
4.7 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
4.3 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing