We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request to preserve nesting birds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The bird life is fantastic and while (because of snakes etc) it maybe necessary to remove nests from eaves and thatch the removal of nests from trees just because they are around the houses is, to me (and the others in our party) cruel and unnecessary. Birding is one of the most popular, if not the most popular, recreation activities in the world and the birds at Hitgeheim and around the buildings is attractive and a highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Hitgeheim Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a beautiful and amazing place. Archie and all of the staff, Kay, Robert, Richard, and so many others provide us with an amazing stay. Beautifully grounds, room, incredible food, a real sense of family.
We felt like we were in our home away from home. On our last night the chef set up a private dinner table in front of the fireplace in the sitting room for us. It was very hard to say good bye to everyone and we will be back again! Thank you again to everyone for an incredible stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coastsidegirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From RON,VASI,good day all we had a splended time at hitgeheim we were pleasently surprised.The room,food the staff, the location,quality bedding and furnature the walks and you topped it all with the best game drive of them ALL.Five Star is what is what you are.We definately will come for more

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ron & Kanniamma... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed two nights here and did the two safari drives to Addo and Schotia which were both very well organised. The accommodation here is very good and the staff were excellent. As mentioned by the previous reviewer the dining is perhaps a little too formal and the atmosphere might be helped by allowing guests the option of dining together. For those going to Schotia trust Archie when he advises you not to drive yourself, it is very dark when you return and the roads quite tricky.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leswor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lovely accommodation, very friendly staff & excellent service. Very helpful with tips for the area and onward travel recommendations. Did two game drives (addo and schotia) which we really enjoyed, especially night driving in schotia (close encounters with a lion!). Slightly formal "dining", especially for kids though staff were great (it was out of season with no other families)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul & Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Thank you for a wonderful experience. The room and meal choices were exceptional. The ease of planning the all day safari was beneficial to our trip planning. Staff was wonderful especially Kaye, she was always there to help, provided the best service and made our stay enjoyable. The little extras made the stay that much enjoyable - sherry upon check-in, hot chocolate and cookies waiting for us upon our return from an all day safari, and returning from dinner to warm beds that were heated on a cold winter night. We would defiantly stay here if we return to Addo area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Friendly and proffessional staff and very nice food.5star rooms with view,even from the bath.The highlight for us was our trip to Addo Park.We had an exceptional guide,Peter who has a remarkable knowledge of the fauna and flora.I was able to take very good photos of a wide variety of animals and birds including a Jackal Buzzard in flight. I strongly recommend Hitgeheim to everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Verschuur2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
24.0 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
340 reviews
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
429 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
300 reviews
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: £147 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing