We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Hotel, Amazing Views, Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel, Amazing Views, Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

The hotel is truly amazing. The first thing you see when you arrive is the view. The grounds, rooms, food, staff, views, wildlife and service is by far the best we had in South Africa. The owner Archie is brilliant, he is so helpful and makes sure he meets each and everyone of his guests and helps them have the best experience possible. We went on the morning safari with Peter, who is full of up to date interesting information and on the second evening we went to Schotia game reserve which again was fab. Just for an extra experience Archie encouraged us to go on a short plane ride to the game reserve which was an amazing experience. All in all I can't complain about this place and anyone visiting will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The all have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciana90Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
119
333
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent two nights at Hitgeheim Country Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner, Archie, was a wonderful, indispensable resource as we planned our routes and time during the rest of our trip being our "go to" contact by phone once we had booked these nights at the Lodge. We booked one of the superior accommodations and it was terrific. We took our meals there, as Archie pretty much insists, and in addition to the game drive in Addo Elephant NP, also did the "Tooth and Claw" drive at Schotia Game Reserve (really, like a wild animal park in the US). All told, we looked at this as a two night stay with meals and game drives for about the cost of one night in a luxury safari lodge near Kruger NP (i.e., $1000 for two nights vs $1000 for one night near Kruger). We felt we got our money's worth. But we also felt that including the game drive in Schotia Game Reserve was, for us, a bit too much. As we have done safaris in East Africa and seen the "big five" and more, we were just bushed and a bit cold by the time we returned to the Lodge. If doing it again, we would end our game drives after seeing Addo Elephant NP (which was very good) and just relax and enjoy the great cooking at the Lodge.

Room Tip: Our superior room was terrific, in its own structure. But the standard rooms are also very nice if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hitgeheim has a spectacular location with great views from the rooms and public areas. The staff were prompt in dealing with problems in the room. We were disappointed on check-out to find that we had to pay for our welcome drinks. We have never had to pay for a welcome drink in any other lodge in South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FriendsofApie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Hitgeheim is a very luxurious country lodge outside the Addo Elephant Park. It's located in the middle of nowhere which makes the approach quite interesting. The lodge itself is in a game area so while slowly driving over gravel roads to the reception Springboks and Gnus cross your way. The suites are very spacious and offer a great view over the village. The service is more than perfect and dinner and breakfast are delicious. From Hitgeheim it's a ca. 20 min drive to the Addo Elephant Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tknuewerHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Hitgheim,the food was brilliant.the staff were lovely helpful people,our host,Archie, treated us like kings.Our room had a brilliant view.aour breakfasts were so big we didn't have to eat for the rest of the day



  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eifion & Delyth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hitgeheim was the first stop on our first visit to South Africa, and we were highly impressed with the accommodation, the meals and the friendly service we received from all the staff. The Lodge is in a superb location, high on a hill overlooking orange groves, and we enjoyed being able to wander freely around the extensive estate, viewing the animal and bird life.
The many small touches were greatly appreciated, especially the electric blankets on cold nights and the hot chocolate waiting in our room when we arrived back from the Scotia safari.
A big thank you to Kaye, Richard and Peter, amongst others, and of course to Archie. If we ever get back to South Africa we would like to stay here again, but in the meantime we shall certainly be recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0tmade0fm0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The bird life is fantastic and while (because of snakes etc) it maybe necessary to remove nests from eaves and thatch the removal of nests from trees just because they are around the houses is, to me (and the others in our party) cruel and unnecessary. Birding is one of the most popular, if not the most popular, recreation activities in the world and the birds at Hitgeheim and around the buildings is attractive and a highlight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing