We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A HIT at HITGEHEIM!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A HIT at HITGEHEIM!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hitgeheim,it is an excellent base to visit both Addo Elephant Park & Schotia Game Reserve.The standard of the accommodation is first class & whilst the pool is somewaht small it is adequate to cool off in after a hot day touring the parks.What really makes the place such a success are the staff who are very attentive & keen to attend to any request.Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
119
333
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our daughter found this lodge on line last year and treated us to join her and her family (two small girls) last year. We loved it so much that we decided to visit as a couple this year. Game drives and other activities can be organized as required, but one can equally well enjoy the lodge itself with its beautiful views or have a day trip to the coast. Archie and his staff will make you most welcome. We highly recommend Hitgeheim.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BCVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Beautiful lodge located on a hill.
View is fanstastic, rooms are well decorated and very comfortable.
The location is great for having safaris at a decent distance.
Service is first class.
Best moment : having a breakfast on the terasse with the view on the valley!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elau2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We made an e mail enquiry to Archie the owner of Hitgeheim Country Lodge intending to stay for 2 nights. Archie came back and suggested a 3 night stay as there was to much to fit in in 2 nights. We are so pleased we took his advice as everything was just perfect. The staff are so friendly & helpful, the food is excellent. The trips we did by involved 2 light aeroplane flights which were great fun.
We rode Elephants at the private reserve & then flew to Scotia game park which was again a lovely experience. All in all the whole package surpassed our expectation. We cannot think of how it could be improved.
Eric & Ann Kennedy from the UK.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eric & Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Wonderful Lodge and Location, excellent Service, family atmosphare. We booked all of the three offered Safari tours. The Addo Elephant safari with Peter was very exciting. You coult do this one at your own, but don`t hear and learn about the animals. The elephant back Safari was very plesent. I wonder which was more exciting riding the elephant or flying with the bush plane. At last at Schotia Safari we have seen all big five. Great like Archie used to say.
CU Barbara and Hubert

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara & Hube... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We experienced a great welcome. Room was luxurious and generous. We slept well in our beds and enjoyed our own terrace with fabulous view. Minibar was well stocked and could not resist a superb complimentary Sherry. Loved a real English breakfast with South African touch and dinner in style from a great chef with friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbara & Hube... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but were made very welcome. We weren't able to go on a proper game drive, but Archie nevertheless gave us excellent advice about visiting Addo as a self-drive, and we were amazed what we saw there in the restricted time we had. Hitgeheim is in the middle of nowhere and is accessed via a long unmade-up road, so allow time for slow driving !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rickytivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing