We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a fabulous guest house. Individual little cottages - ours had a bath and two showers, one indoor and one outdoor one. Also a great little splash pool with a truly stunning view. Helpful staff. A really peaceful, beautiful stay. Close to Addo Elephant National Park, which is great. This is somewhere to get away from it all.
My only negative comment would be that dinner in the restaurant wasn't the best - and we felt it was a little overpriced. It wasn't bad, just average. Breakfast was lovely however.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Zeb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The whole stay was very nice. Everything perfect, friendly staff and very good Food and whine. The Location is very close to Addo park which is just 20 min away. Very nice view to the valley from rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GerhardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Make sure your stay long enough to visit Addo and still enjoy this very nice lodge with its splendid views and really good kitchen! The rooms are spacious with an individual balcony. The kitchen is small but superb. The lodge itself is not too large, so no danger of being overcrowded.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Highly recommend the Hitgeheim Country Lodge! It is absolutely gorgeous, and Archie took such good care of us during our recent stay. We felt so pampered. The Lodge and entire reserve is incredible. In addition to the view, the gardens, patios, and decks were beautiful. The rooms were luxurious and comfortable, and the food was amazing!! I can't imagine staying anywhere else should we visit the Addo area again. Absolutely loved the Hitgeheim!

Room Tip: No such thing as a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHaef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We loved it to stay there - thanks a lot for all the efforts provided by the team. It was a unbelivbale stay - Special thank you to Archie regarding the perfect directions back to CPT.
Please ask Archie for the game drives before you arrive - our tip: evening drive and Addo drive

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JMK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a stunning place! Tranquil, peaceful and the view! Just magnificcent.
From arrival to departure always been looked after at its best. The whole team was fantastic! Thank you very much again. Also thank you to Peter for his excellent game drive, extremely informative and enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HansMaritaPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

A very warm and attentive hospitality every day by Archie and his Crew
Special rooms with a wonderful view
excellent roomservice
helpful planning support for excursions
highly trained guides for excursions







  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ruth & Bernhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
4 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 22 in Addo
313 reviews
10.7 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: £150 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing