We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We want to go back! Pure luxuary!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We want to go back! Pure luxuary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed at the Country Lodge for 4 nights - we were originally supposed to be staying for 2 nights however we ended up without accommodation for 2 nights and turned up hoping they could accommodate us early. The owner; Archie was lovely about it and took us to a room immediately without any fuss.
The accommodation was out of this world! We had a beautiful romantic room with beautiful views to match. We loved our own outdoor shower!
The food in their restaurant was amazing - infact it is some of the best food I have tasted. It was beautifully presented, original and sophisticated. Every night the food was different. The menu was a set 5 course menu however if you didn't like any of the options the chef was happy to chat with you and adjust the menu for your requirements. The views whilst eating were breath-taking. The restaurant is all open plan so you have the option to move out on the veranda after your dessert.
All the staff were very friendly, attentive and helpful throughout. Our main waiter was Donald who was most pleasant and just lovely!
We had our car washed on 2 occasions free of charge and without knowing which was a nice surprise. There is plenty of free parking also.
The lodge is set within a game reserve with entrance through a security gate. It is well signposted from the main road and they offer day trips to Addo elephant park and safaris days.

The whole experience was relaxing, peaceful and something we will never forget.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tappers1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
118
327
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lovely place. We really enjoyed the lodge. excellent staff. Highly recommend the flight and elephant safari. We stayed 2 nights and probably could have done with an extra 2 to do all the activities. Rooms clean and well designed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris & Mary An... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent 1 night at Hitgeheim for our anniversary and it was just what we were looking for, peace, privacy and exquisite nature all around us. Our chalet was huge and the views from the balcony, bedroom and bathroom breathtaking! We took our mountain bikes along and had a wonderful early morning cycle around the estate amongst the Eland and Wildebeest. Absolute bliss! A big thank you to Michael for his outstanding service throughout our stay. The dining experience was wonderfully cosy and the food delicious. Breakfast is served ovelooking magnificent farmlands with a variety of birdlife and birdsong all around. We LOVED it all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Loved it here. Guest experience was excellent and accommodation, luxurious. The food was delicious and fresh. The manageress was attentive and helpful. I would've liked help with our luggage, though, to and from our car.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a fabulous guest house. Individual little cottages - ours had a bath and two showers, one indoor and one outdoor one. Also a great little splash pool with a truly stunning view. Helpful staff. A really peaceful, beautiful stay. Close to Addo Elephant National Park, which is great. This is somewhere to get away from it all.
My only negative comment would be that dinner in the restaurant wasn't the best - and we felt it was a little overpriced. It wasn't bad, just average. Breakfast was lovely however.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Zeb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruchköbel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The whole stay was very nice. Everything perfect, friendly staff and very good Food and whine. The Location is very close to Addo park which is just 20 min away. Very nice view to the valley from rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GerhardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Make sure your stay long enough to visit Addo and still enjoy this very nice lodge with its splendid views and really good kitchen! The rooms are spacious with an individual balcony. The kitchen is small but superb. The lodge itself is not too large, so no danger of being overcrowded.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing