We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kick out your shoes...the "Geheim" (secret) of Addo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George, South Africa
1 review
“Kick out your shoes...the "Geheim" (secret) of Addo”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Archie and his team is friendly, well mannered and humble. Always helpful and willing to go the extra mile. The facility is of a high standard and to see the sun sets whilst taking a shower outdoors was just magic. The food was excellent value for money and the small surprises at dinner will be dearly missed. If you like value for money which includes well trained staff (Michael, Donald, Herman etc) a great view and good food then Hitgeheim is highly recommended.
Would love to visit you again.
The only reason for the 4/5 rating....nobody is perfect :-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Troots2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
119
333
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Accomodation, service and friendliness was excellent. The only suggestion we have is for them to build a boma / fire pit where the guests could solicalise with other guests over a drink after dinner. We look forward to seeing Archie, Peter, Donald, Micheal and Herman in the near future....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rozana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Hitgeheim is truly the secret of Addo and we enjoyed a great stay.

We particularly liked:
1. The friendly professionalism of the owners and staff - if you want stiff, cold support, this is not the place for you. Most hospitality establishments would kill for staff of this caliber and longevity.
2. The game drive and ranger personnel are excellent. We know the bush quite well and still learnt a lot from Peter and enjoyed magnificent sightings.
3. The view across the Valley towards Addo - excellent sunrise photo opportunities.
4. The menu - though small as it caters to the generally shorter stays of the clientele, the food, presentation and taste were always up to expectation and the little "chef surprises" were simply sensational!
5. It was hot enough to swim and the pool was super clean and with a magnificent view.

Visitors should be aware that it is a little drive to Addo Elephant Park itself; however this is a GOOD thing as things get a little busy and overcrowded closer to the park. Escape to this private gem and feel well looked after.

We simply have nothing to complain about!

Just book.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_forest_fairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wonderful place, so relaxing and peaceful, thatched cottages high up on a ridge,views stunning, rooms stunning, food delicous, great choice of wines in the cellar. Archie and all his staff were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Great safari drive with Peter who was an excellent guide around Addo national park. Thankyou all for making our 40th anniversary so special.

Room Tip: All the cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deni7441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were at Hitgeheim for 4 days and loved every minute of our visit. The staff is wonderful, smiling and helpful 100% of the time....Michael & Donald made our stay very special in every way. (A surprise private dinner in front of the fireplace was a highlight for us.)
Chalets are extremely clean, roomy and very comfortable. The views are gorgeous. We enjoyed sitting on our private veranda just relaxing. (A little too cool to use the outdoor shower though.)
The game drives Archie arranged at Addo, Schotia and Amakhala were all superb, with very knowledgeable guides (especially Peter and Felix). We saw an incredible number of animals and had some very memorable moments. We are already planning a return trip there!
Our recommendation is GO THERE!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank rickerhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were invited to have dinner with friends who were staying at the Lodge. It was an outstanding experience from our arrival till the end of the evening. The staff were very friendly and nothing was to much for them. The food was well presented and out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Staaelstein
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is an excellent place to stay for business or vacation. Please do not miss the safari with the excellent guide Peter.
It is an place to relax, to calm down, to enjoy the nature and get the chance to visit such a nice park like Addo Park

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bernd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing