We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food mixed with great accomodation and wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food mixed with great accomodation and wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed at the Hitgeheim for 2 nights in June 2010 with my 18 year old daughter. All in all it was a wonderful stay for both of us. The food and wine were fantastic. The service could not be faulted. The accomodation was excellent. The owners were fantastic hosts. Nothing was too much trouble. Perfect location for Addo elephant park. I will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARNERMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
120
334
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Just stayed at Hitgeheim for five nights during world cup (Brazil vs Holland) and just loved this place. Had my own personal chalet. Nice touches like an outdoor shower, complimentary tasty sherry and electric blanket in the bed which was turned on when I came home from the game on a cold night. The six course gourmet meals were super and included local game like Kudu and we alwasy looked forward to the breakfasts. The staff are very friendly and ready to help. Also enjoyed the sundowner drinks and snacks in the lodge while we wacthed the other games on TV by the fireplace. Enjoyed the sun with an awesome view of orange orchards and mountains. Hitgeheim is close to Addo park, Cheetah rehab place and about an hour from Port Elizabeth.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swords_Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My family had come to South Africa to visit old friends and watch as many World Cup soccer matches as possible, so in our minds our trip to Addo Elephant National Park was merely a side bar, until we arrived at Hitgeheim. We were a tired group of road warriors when we arrived late at the Lodge to find bright friendly staff waiting to greet us, beautiful chalets to house us and warm comfortable beds for our weary bones. Everything - I mean every need and every detail was covered by the staff. We needed directions to the stadium in Port Elizabeth, they knew the best route. We were to take a safari and go for an elephant ride, they had all the arrangements covered and everything went like clock work even though mother nature unexpectedly threw some low clouds and moisture into the mix just for fun. Our host, Archie, was so well connected and respected by all the other folks we dealt with in the Addo area it provided us with a wonderful sense of community that put us at ease to really relax and take in all the beauty that surrounded us as we explored the areas around Hitgeheim. Our only regret is that we live so far away from this beautiful lodge and these warm friendly people. If you are ever in the Eastern Cape I would definitely recommend a stay at the Hitgeheim Country Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wright_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Quiet place to stay. Nice landscape. The owners are extremly friendly and have a personnal attention on guests needs. Nearby Addo Elephant National Park, unfortunately did not have the time to visit it. The food in the restaurant was really good. We were there in June, and the rooms were cold in the evening, so probably they would just need a heater on that part of the year. If you drive by car during rainny season you might be carefull on the access roads. No TV on the rooms. Otherwise the stay was excellente and I would advise it to someone who wants to rest from the stress of the city.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MovimentoX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My sister and me spent overall 3 days with Archie and his team - and, in summary, it was a perfect place to spend some time between the WC football matches.

The views are magnificent, calm, the wide landscape being just awesome. The lodges are great, the breakfast extensive and well prepared (and even better presented!), the dinner opulent and tasty. And a walk in the "eco reserve" surrounding the lodge happened to be a real experience: no predators being in the huge, fenced area, we just walked around for some hours, discovering zebras, gnus, ostriches ...

Archie also took us on a trip through Addo National Park - it was fun and we were extremely lucky to find ourselves in midst of some elephant herds, without mentioning all the other animals, including the very rare black rhino and all sorts of antelopes, etc. that we were lucky to see.

In summary: We would not doubt a second to return to this place! Archie has built up something there that really deserves to be visited.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas196605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Where do I start? While I agree that the rooms/chalets are beautiful and Archie is quite a character they were not enough to overcome the stuffy and pretentious vibe of this place. We stayed at other lodges before but this was by far the most pushy and stuffy one. Everybody besides Archie wears a uniform and is nauseatingly polite without being able to accomplish much. It appeared to us that the friendliness was just geared towards guests signing up for their tours and dinner. We were constantly asked whether we wanted anything else or whether we wanted to eat their dinner. This made it very awkward. If they are so proud of the dinner why don't they just include it in the package and price? The neverending questions create an unpleasant atmosphere. So if you decide to stay there - be ready to be bothered. Speaking of dinner and the kitchen. We did no try their dinner based on an underwhelming breakfast experience. Breakfast included a nice fruit salad and an at least 30 minute wait for some eggs and so called french toast that anybody could equally well whip up in at most 10 minutes. Well it turned out our hunch was right. On the last day we both received undercooked omelets for breakfast. After some extra cooking the waitress returned them to us. To my wifes shock an insect crawled out of the garnish on her omelet. Not something you like to see in any proper restaurant. We complained and were told that the garnish came from the garden and we were welcome to take a tour of that garden! I am still wondering how that could excuse not properly rinsing the garnish?

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank independent_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

This is a "5 Archie" resort. Yes, my wife and I now rate using the "Archie" standard; there is nothing higher. Absolute top notch rooms and amenities. FANTASITIC FOOD and wine!!! Absolutely top notch service and care. None better in 20 years and a dozen countries of traveling. Oh, and Addo and the surrounding areas? Definately worth the trip. We would never have guessed that we would be planning a second trip back to South Africa. Wonderful country, with some of the most amazing and most wonderful people. Thank you Archie, Thank you South Africa.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
10.7 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
427 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing