We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why can't others offer that high quality???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Our first stay in a South African 4- or 5-star-lodge was a weekend at Hitgeheim Lodge in July 2010. To make it short: it was the very best lodge we have ever stayed in since. The location is brilliant, the service is excellent, the staff is very well trained and committed, and the cuisine is simply fantastic (what obviously is not necessarily the case in South African lodges). Since then we stayed in a couple of other lodges and have experienced the differences and asked ourselfs several times: when Hitgeheim can offer that excellent service and value for money, why can't others do the same? I really don't know. Maybe it is magic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamnashida03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2010

We were only at Hitgeheim for two nights - which we felt wasn't nearly long enough! We really enjoyed our stay - for me the accommodation was really the highlight, with a bath big enough to swim in....The only minor detail that needed attention was the food - although good on the whole, there were a few basic mistakes (undercooked potatoes and too much balsamic vinegar on the salad for example) which meant we couldn't give that a five star rating. On the plus side, the breakfasts were huge and really good (in fact all the portion sizes seem to be aimed at those who have been training for the Olympic team...) However, the food is a minor quibble, and in every other aspect, I would highly recommend the Hitgeheim.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosalinda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I LOVE this place! The individual cottages are perfectly laid out and beautifully decorated. Extraordinarily comfortable beds with spacious bathrooms with both indoor and outdoor showers (plus indoor luxurious tubs). Room amenities were excellent (hot chocolate awaiting us upon return from all day safaris). The staff was amazing and super attentive. The food was spectaular and the views from the restaurant and other common areas are fantastic! I felt very well taken care of! I hope to return someday for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Four of us stayed at Hitgeheim Country Lodge for 2 nights - we wished we could stay forever. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this gem. The grounds and views are beautiful. The cottages are so simple yet luxurious and spacious with their own terrifiic views and porches. Even the shower had an awesome vista. The food was truly gourmet. But most of all we will remember the incredible service and hospitality we received from Archie and his staff. Be sure to book a trip to Addo with Peter - he is a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. We have stayed at many luxury resorts over the years - this one is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 days in a group of 8. The villas were delightful, very clean and comfortable, and extremely stylish. The meals were simply outstanding, this is not the place to diet. Combined with excellent service, this was one of the highlights of our 5 week journey from Capetown to J'Burg.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nor1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We were a group of 8 travelling on a golf and safari holiday for 5 weeks from Capetown to Johannesburg and our stay at Hitgeheim was a highlight. Archie and his staff went out of there way to make us welcome and made sure all the little things were done just right. The rooms, some with external showers were great and the food excellent. We would recommend this lodge to anyone planning to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

I found this hotel by sheer chance online and stayed at the end of a 10 day trip to South Africa. It is a fair distance from Port Elizabeth airport, but the directions were easy to follow and it was well worth the drive time. We were made to feel very welcome, the room was spotless and stunning, as was the location. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us, once leaving hot chocolate out for us in the evening when we came back from a safari trip late! We went on a few safaris / trips organised through the hotel and these were very enjoyable and easy, with the guides picking us up from the hotel and dropping us back.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a very relaxing, short stay. There are a lot of nice safari activities nearby and the hotel is very welcoming. If you are looking for nightlife and shopping near an airport, this may not be the place for you, but otherwise, definitely give it a look.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
4 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#7 of 22 in Addo
313 reviews
10.7 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
460 reviews
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: £150 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing