We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lodge on the Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lodge on the Hill”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed for two nights. Ronel, who goes out of her way to make guests feel comfortable, welcomed us warmly. Dinner was excellent, the room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. The next day we went on the Elephant safari and later on the Schotia Tooth & Claw safari. Particularly the latter one was spectacular, we saw lions from close up, including a giant male caring for his five cubs while mother was out shopping. Archie and his crew really made us feel welcome at this very special place. Archie even drove us out to see his Eland antilopes which usually hang out near the private airstrip. Breakfast on the veranda high above the village of Sunland is relaxing and at night you can almost touch the stars in the dark blue sky. We really loved our stay and can recommend Hitgeheim warmly if you are in the area. When we left, our car was washed and cleaned (though one of those giant Elephants later pissed on it in the park). Thanks Archie and everybody who made our stay wonderful and memorable. We'd love to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    81
    25
    16
    1
See reviews for
119
333
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Close your eyes and imagine a private thatched roof cottage with a romantic 4-poster bed that offers a little piece of heaven while "on safari" and you've pictured Hitgeheim. It was the highlight of our 3 week trip to South Africa. The property is stunning – private and secluded, beautiful landscaping, sweeping views out over a valley of cows grazing and lush citrus farms. The decks and patios are delightful – enjoy a drink, read one of the host’s magazines featuring the beauty of the region, or just take in the views. Gourmet breakfast on the deck off the formal dining room could not be better. I loved my croissant with smoked salmon, cream cheese, eggs and caviar so much I ordered it both mornings. The rooms (cottages) are luxurious. High-quality super-comfortable bedding, very spacious rooms with an inside sitting area to enjoy your complimentary glass of sherry, another lovely sitting area outside on your balcony. A bathroom to die for. It’s huge and it includes a deep claw-foot tub with a view looking out over the valley, an open shower, double sinks, and exquisite bath salts, soaps and lotions. Refrigerator and mini-bar in the room. Plenty of space to spread out and unpack. Dinner in the restaurant was very good and you can’t beat the wines of South Africa for quality and value. Your host, Archie, is warm and wonderful. Be sure to spend a moment talking with him. As a successful retired “gentleman farmer” he fulfilled a dream by developing this property and his love for it shines through in the guest experience. Staff was very helpful and anticipated our every need, but was not at all intrusive. We were too busy experiencing the game parks to have time to lounge at the pool on the property but it looked delightful. Guide service to Addo and to neighboring Schotia game parks was excellent (thanks Peter!). Note that Addo is a calm, quiet, beautiful and somehow private sort of experience (despite the fact that it’s a public park) while Schotia was crowded with tourists and a bit of a cattle-call, especially in December. However, they’re both well worth it. No elephants at Schotia, but they do have loads of other animals (giraffe, rhino, hippo and more) that you won’t see in Addo. If you’re considering a stay at Hitgeheim, go for it. Don’t hesitate another minute!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraInNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Our first stay in a South African 4- or 5-star-lodge was a weekend at Hitgeheim Lodge in July 2010. To make it short: it was the very best lodge we have ever stayed in since. The location is brilliant, the service is excellent, the staff is very well trained and committed, and the cuisine is simply fantastic (what obviously is not necessarily the case in South African lodges). Since then we stayed in a couple of other lodges and have experienced the differences and asked ourselfs several times: when Hitgeheim can offer that excellent service and value for money, why can't others do the same? I really don't know. Maybe it is magic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamnashida03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We were only at Hitgeheim for two nights - which we felt wasn't nearly long enough! We really enjoyed our stay - for me the accommodation was really the highlight, with a bath big enough to swim in....The only minor detail that needed attention was the food - although good on the whole, there were a few basic mistakes (undercooked potatoes and too much balsamic vinegar on the salad for example) which meant we couldn't give that a five star rating. On the plus side, the breakfasts were huge and really good (in fact all the portion sizes seem to be aimed at those who have been training for the Olympic team...) However, the food is a minor quibble, and in every other aspect, I would highly recommend the Hitgeheim.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalinda01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I LOVE this place! The individual cottages are perfectly laid out and beautifully decorated. Extraordinarily comfortable beds with spacious bathrooms with both indoor and outdoor showers (plus indoor luxurious tubs). Room amenities were excellent (hot chocolate awaiting us upon return from all day safaris). The staff was amazing and super attentive. The food was spectaular and the views from the restaurant and other common areas are fantastic! I felt very well taken care of! I hope to return someday for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Four of us stayed at Hitgeheim Country Lodge for 2 nights - we wished we could stay forever. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this gem. The grounds and views are beautiful. The cottages are so simple yet luxurious and spacious with their own terrifiic views and porches. Even the shower had an awesome vista. The food was truly gourmet. But most of all we will remember the incredible service and hospitality we received from Archie and his staff. Be sure to book a trip to Addo with Peter - he is a knowledgeable and entertaining guide. We have stayed at many luxury resorts over the years - this one is not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 days in a group of 8. The villas were delightful, very clean and comfortable, and extremely stylish. The meals were simply outstanding, this is not the place to diet. Combined with excellent service, this was one of the highlights of our 5 week journey from Capetown to J'Burg.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nor1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
4.6 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
3.5 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
2.5 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.1 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.1 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hitgeheim Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hitgeheim Country Lodge

Property: Hitgeheim Country Lodge
Address: off Route R336 Direction Addo Kirkwood 9 km | Outside the park, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6115, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hitgeheim Country Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hitgeheim Country Lodge and Eco Reserve is a 16 room owner managed, fully serviced, up market thatched lodge outside of Addo Elephant National Park. We pride ourselves in allowing our guests to enjoy the best elephant viewing and wildlife experience in the Malaria Free Eastern Cape, be spoiled with ultimate luxury, cuisine, wine and service. We are on a small eco-reserve and your drive to the lodge is like being on your own Safari. Spectacular views from the lodge and all the rooms with Addo Park in the distance. This lodge was built bit by bit as our home and form part of our lifestyle. Our rooms are 3 x Superior Rooms, 2 x Superior Family Rooms (each with a double size fold out leather couch, not good for adults, only for children up to the age of 14) 3 Luxury rooms, 4 x Family units each with two full in-suite rooms with an inter leading door. Three of the 4 family units can sleep 5, extra carry in bed in the twin bed side of the two rooms. We do safaris to Addo Elephant National Park in our own open and closed safari vehicles specially designed for your comfort. We also transfer you for your own safety to enjoy Schotia Private Game Reserve, their Tooth and Claw Safari, a perfect combination with Addo Elephant National Park. We arrange this for you. We have two pools, one on the family side for kids and one on the old side for seniors and couples only. We also do fetch and return you for a nominal fee from Port Elizabeth Airport or any nearby destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hitgeheim Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hitgeheim Country Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing