We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place - close to Addo Elephant Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Elephant House
Ranked #8 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place - close to Addo Elephant Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

A lovely place to stay with an old colonial feel atmosphere. We had a room in the main house which was spacious but we did notice some noise at night from the irrigation channel which runs nearby (Mon - Fri). Champagne breakfast was excellent as was dinner.
Easy driving distance to the elephant park which cost about R160 per person. Great value considering you can take a picnic and spend all day there. Secure picnic area is lovely with shaded tables and very nice facilities. A morning jeep game drive costs approx. R750 per person and you will drive the same roads.

Room Tip: If staying midweek, ask for a room away from the irrigation channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynK6012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    70
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
67
162
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed two nights, in what should have been Stable Cottages across the road. We however got given an update to the Weir Room on arrival, which was a nice surprise. Massive bathroom, indoor and outdoor shower, free standing bath, double sinks and a huge bedroom. It was lovely.

The only thing at loses Elephant House are a few small touches. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, and we often struggled to find someone who worked there to ask about food or trips, or just a glass of water.

Dinner in the evening is also a fixed menu, and in a different place each night, leading you to wander around like a numpty trying to find where you are eating. Once we found it we were sat down and brought out a nice three course meal, but without any idea what to expect. I would be nice if menus were displayed somewhere.

Game drives are good, and long, and leave from the reception. The driver is knowledgable, but make sure you sit near the front because he doesn't speak very loudly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

If you are looking for old colonial elegance and charm, the Elephant House will not disappoint. We stayed in one of the handful of cottages near the horses. The bedroom was extremely spacious with a very comfortable bed and lovely crisp, white cotton linens and duvet. The bathroom is large with a good shower.
It was an unusually cold September, but the room heater/AC worked well and kept us cozy at the end of the day.
The breakfasts were enjoyable and were served rather than buffet style. We opted to have dinners here, firstly for convenience and thereafter because the food was surprisingly tasty.
The owner does keep an eye over the entire operation, stopping by at meal times to ensure everyone is having a good time.
The cost of the rooms for our stay was reasonable as was the price of the dinners. I would highly recommend The Elephant House if you plan on being in the area or visiting Addo Elephant Park which is only a few miles away.

Room Tip: The cottages near the horses have a secluded private home feel. There are only a few of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We liked this place a lot, note for details, a bit colonial, not expensive, very nice dinner (which you have to pay for separately), friendly owners and a very relaxed atmosphere. Very good break fast, swimming pool and personal cottages, we liked it a lot and it is very close to the park. Very good option to stay if not in the park.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joukje J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We had 2 wonderful nights in Elephant House & Clive's recommendation that we start the trip with the Tooth & Claw safari at Schotia was perfect. Loved the cottage, especially the huge 'shippen-style' shower, grounds, food & how wonderful everyone was in greeting us...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I really cannot believe some of the reviews written about the Elephant house and Stables! As another reviewer writes, I think some folks just don't get it! We booked into the Stable cottages for three nights as Addo was full and out of Season the Stable cottages are cheaper than Addo Park itself, and breakfast is included. Arriving at the Elephant house is like going back 70 years, but in a good way. A true" out of Africa Experience" Wide welcoming verandah's decked with sumptuous couches and glorious fabrics welcomed us. Walkways are lit by lanterns and the whole feeling is of opulence, but in a homely and understated way, the Ritz it is not, but you can curl up on a couch and just be in the most evocative surroundings.

The stable cottages are not in the main house, so for those who prefer to be alone these were great, should you have children who want to run around on the lawns, then the stables are even better. Cottages are huge and well appointed,but do not have the same opulence as the main house, but are just that; old stables; which have been converted in a sympathetic and artistic way. You want for nothing..... We so enjoyed an impromptu self made cheese and wine on our patio, and then curled up on the comfy couches to drink wine on a warm winters evening, superb!

Breakfasts at the Elephant house are NOT a buffet, but we thought it better, nobody digging around in the toast and fruit or old cereal that has been in and out of containers twenty seven times. Breakfast consisted of a great fruit salad or similar starter, with the choice of yoghurt and muesli as an addition, after this; a treat each morning (we were there for 3) and then your choice of cooked breakfast with tea/ coffee. Nobody can leave hungry; all of this served with style and sophistication.
The dinners are also great, and yes the choice is small, but this is a small guesthouse, not a chain hotel. The dinner was well cooked and presented, and so much better than having to drive elsewhere. we were offered pre- dinner snacks whilst relaxing on one of the many patios......... just great!

Staff are great! Charlene and Clive's bubbly personalities, make you feel like you have known them for years.

Not one pool was cloudy when we were there and the gardens are simple, elegant and homely. We would not hesitate to go back to the Elephant house, and have already recommended it to our friends; a home away from home! Classy, quite, sophisticated. Great stay in a farm-like surround.

Go ahead and treat yourself to this stunning piece of Africa....... take it slow, live, laugh!

Room Tip: The main house does not face the road and so is a little quiter. The stables have large open spaces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
233 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I booked two nights’ accommodation at this beautiful guesthouse. There are two types of accommodation, one is in the stables that is situated a few meters from the main house, the units are quite big, have a double bed, white linin, big bathroom, kettle and fridge, the price is a bit cheaper than the main house. The other accommodation is the old main house, build around stoeps and verandas, very African Colonial/Safari look. Big swimming pool and very nice area around pool to relax. When I phone to make the reservation I told Christelle we have stayed several times before but only in the stable units. She told me she will book a stable room but if they are quiet she will upgrade me to the main house. When we got there the room was ready and she called Phindile to show us to our room. She upgrade us to the main house and we were given a tour by Phindile. We had a lovely 4 Poster Queen size bed with a big couch, and a huge bathroom with bath and open shower. Very comfortable. We were offered coffee and tea and we enjoyed it on one of the many stoeps. We booked dinner for the two nights and had a pre drink sherry in the lounge in front of a crackling fire. We were quit surprise when Phindile came with hot snacks freshly baked for us to enjoy with our pre drinks. The atmosphere was very romantic with the fire place and dimmed lights in the library room. We were taken to the map room for dinner were we had a 3 course meal. The starter was a hot beetroot salad and I informed them my wife does not eat beetroot, it was no effort for them to change her starter to salmon that she loved. We each had steak that was cooked to perfection and ended the meal with Malva pudding. We asked Phindile whether we can have our coffee in the room and it was no effort for them to do so. It was very cold that evening although the room had a air-conditioner we asked for a heater, it was promptly plugged in while we had dinner. The next evening we were served by Vuyo. We had butternut soup for starter, chicken for mains and pear in red wine. What can I say, it was delicious. Compliments to the chef Linda and her staff. We enjoyed our stay, we were treated as the most important people by the bubbly Charlene. She is the one that makes sure everything goes well. We could not find anything to complain about, suburb food, excellence service, value for money, beautiful surroundings and the most romantic bedroom, what more could you asked for? All we can say is thank you to you all for making the two day stay a memorable one. We will be back and we can highly recommend Elephant House. Accommodation 7 km from Addo main gate.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
0.9 mi away
Woodall Country House and Spa
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
2.7 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
4.7 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
2.4 mi away
Chrislin African Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant House

Property: The Elephant House
Address: P.O Box 82, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elephant House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Elephant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing