We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial elegance, African hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Woodall Country House and Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A warm welcome, meticulous attention to detail and friendly service make a stay in this 5 star lodge an experience which resonates with the soul long after your return to the mundane.
This is hospitality at its best; genteel and efficient. The table at both the set dinner menu and sumptuous breakfast provide adventures for the palate, and guests are addressed by name and preferences noted.
Our rooms were top notch and well serviced, and personal little touches like handwritten notes, bedtime turndown and chocolates all added up to a magical respite from the ordinary.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lammienor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

The rooms & attention to detail , were 5*! The welcoming on arrival was really special .They even switched our heaters on for us in the rooms, so that when we arrived it was warm & cosy.The Bathrooms were beautiful & spacious.
We were initially put off the set menu for Dinner , but I would strongly recommend it - Must try the tomato soup & Kudu Salad!The dining/lounge area is great overlooking the pond- Feels like you are in the bush.I will definately recommend Woodall to travellers wanting to go through the Addo park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The rooms are very large with double showers inside and outside, the breakfast is great and the many courses dinner is magnificent and satisfying. The nights are peaceful and it is located near the Addo Elephant Park. The staff is friendly and accommodative and the Victorian style king- size bed in the room is to die for, It can be heavenly for couples.

Room Tip: All the rooms are exquisite and very big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sello K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The location next to the Addo park (8km to nearest gate) and within the citrus farm is great. The pond in front of the restaurant also is quite nice with lots of bird life.
The rooms were rustic and a bit old fashioned, but with a romantic charme (in hotter months a mosquito net could be helpful which was not there - we used repellent which worked perfeclty fine, though). The bathroom and the room itself were very clean.
Dinner and breakfast was amazing...but especially dinner also amazingly expensive (ca. 320 rand, most expensive along the garde route for us). We never took the full 6 course dinner, but only realized upon checkout that the deductions for leaving out a course were ridiculous...so I would recommend to take the full dinner or no dinner at all. But overall quality, presentation, and ideas of food was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here in March 14. The hotel is down a very bumpy drive, through a security gate and about 7 km from the main gate of Addo game reserve. Staff very welcoming. Rooms large with all usual facilities and air con. Room 6 has a very large bathroom with showers inside and outside. Very quiet at night apart from sound of lions roaring ! Lovely dining room and communal areas on deck overlooking a small lake with swans and ducks. Very few mosquitoes. Nice breakfast. Lunch available but we didn't bother. 6-7 course set dinner available for 330 rand if memory serves me correctly. This was reasonable value we thought. The game reserve is well worth a visit but self drive is best and late afternoon is by far the best time. Don't bother with early morning and sunset drives. It's much cheaper to do it yourself. 800 rand for an all day permit for 4 people and car. This hotel served as a great base for Addo reserve and was a very relaxing, comfortable place to stay before our flight home from Port Elizabeth airport which is 70-90 minutes away by car. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 7 are nice adjacent rooms - very large with excellent bathrooms. Showers inside and outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a beautiful and very tranquil Guesthouse that really goes beyond, and also the extra mile to make guests feel special.

Service is absolutely fantastic and the breakfast is amazing- One can't ask for anything else...!

The six course dinner is fantastic-really made with love and very delicious.

The rooms are really great and one has everything that one possibly needs.

Thank you Debbie and James :-)

We would love to come back anytime.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandrazaderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is closely located to Addo parc. The people were very friendly, helpful and extra wishes were not a problem. Every day the car was cleaned, the breakfast was a dream and the 7 course dinner a gourmet experience. Unfortunately we only stayed 2 nights and had not enough time to use the spa facilities. Next time!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerstin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
8.6 mi away
Camp Figtree
Camp Figtree
#2 of 11 in Addo
439 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
6.6 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
24.4 mi away
Kuzuko Lodge
Kuzuko Lodge
#1 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
344 reviews
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodall Country House and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodall Country House and Spa

Address: Jan Smuts Ave | Woodall Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Addo
Price Range: £110 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodall Country House and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodall is a beautiful property, situated on a peaceful citrus farm, 65km from Port Elizabeth and adjacent to the Addo Elephant Park. It is ideally suited for nature lovers, food and wine connoisseurs, as well as those seeking time out in the spa. Accommodation is private with exceptionally large rooms, especially the suites which have their own pools. There is a wide choice of relaxation areas, including indoor and outdoor sitting areas, library, sundowner deck and chill room. This award winning boutique hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the adjacent Addo Elephant Park, and nearby game reserves such as Schotia, Amakhala, Pumba, Kwantu and Elephant Back Safaris. Honeymooners are specially pampered in an environment of peace and privacy. Stylish, regional cuisine is served in the thatched dining room with views of resident herons, cormorants and rare waterbirds. The cuisine is inspired by the flavours of local ingredients and freshly picked herbs and vegetables. Complementing the menu is the Diner's Club Diamond award winning cellar, boasting a unique and comprehensive collection of fine South African wines, personally selected by the owner. The Citrus Spa offers a unique range of treatments, inspired by the surrounding orchards, and includes a sauna, hydrobath, steam room, Vichy shower and couple's therapy room and gym. Safaris to Addo Park depart daily Experience game at close quarters from Woodall's open Landcruiser. Five Star Country House (TGCSA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodall Country House and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodall Country House Hotel Addo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing