We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of Happy Lands B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Happy Lands B&B
Ranked #7 of 22 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Happy Lands. The location is great for a day trip at Addo Elephant Park. We had a delicious breakfast with homemade marmalade and preserves. Thank you for you warm hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed one night after visiting Addo Elephant Park. The room was clean and the hosts were so friendly and welcoming. The dinner and breakfasts were excellent. The only concern I had was that the room was a bit cooler than expected at night. Well--it was winter!

Room Tip: This guesthouse was not easy to find. Make sure you understand how to get there. I noted few signs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This proved to be an excellent place to stay with our family and the children were made very welcome. Nita and Mike were very hospitable and helpful. Dining on the verandah overlooking the lovely garden was very special. It made an excellent base for visiting nearby Addo and Schotia Safari Parks. Happy Lands is a citrus farm and being able to see round the farm was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesMac031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We're so glad that we included a night at Happy Lands in our trip and definitely hope to return. Nita and Mike were amazing hosts and although our stay was short, we felt like part of the family. Our room was comfortable and included an outdoor shower. We had dinner and breakfast on the veranda which overlooks the gorgeous garden. After breakfast we took a walk around the garden and into the citrus farm, accompanied by Buttons, one of the friendly dogs. A very special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaynaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My 4th stay at Happy Lands with Nita a Mike was as perfect as the 3 previous ones.... Happy Lands will always be my paradies... - perfect and frienndliest host Nita and Mike you can think of, doing all to make our stay unforgettable.
Orange Blossom - our room - is wonderfully suitable for me as a wheelchair user. Breakfasts and homemade Dinners lovely as ever... Will be back again for sure!!

Room Tip: Orange Blossom - a new room Valencia with a beautiful outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreaLennefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Such a great place to stay Nita and Mike are amazing hosts nothing is too much trouble.We were initially in a small cottage with SC which we were going to do but we moved to cara Cara room as it was larger and had a delightful garden of its own and a terrace.The new SC units looked very nice and Nita showed us the other B&B rooms in the house which were spacious and well furnished.We loved the welcome by the family labradours it made us miss our dog!they even came with us when ever we had a walk around the lovely gardens with citrus trees and avocados( not yet ripe)and wonderful trees.Try and stay for Nitas wonderful dinner one evening we had the best bobotie ever,its was all delicious and so well presented.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at Happy Lands in December 2012. There are 3 self catering rooms and 3 b&b rooms. We were a rather large group so we booked all the rooms. We felt at home from the first moment on. Each room is different and has it's own character. There is one room with an added feature of an outdoor shower - lovely to shower under the Addo star-filled skies. The rooms were clean and neat and had the necessary conveniences. The swimming pool and braai area were great - we used these extensively. Happy Lands has a beautifully maintained large garden area. One certainly has the feeling of being on holiday within these beautiful surroundings. We were thoroughly spoilt! The service is very good and nothing is too much trouble for Mike, Nita or the ladies who work for them - they certainly went the extra mile.

Having made the booking from abroad, I appreciate that Mike and Nita always responded promptly to my emails.

We would certainly recommend Happy Lands!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Addo hotels
6.9 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#12 of 22 in Addo
116 reviews
5.6 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
3.8 mi away
Gerald's Gift Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Addo African Home
Addo African Home
#4 of 11 in Addo
161 reviews
4.9 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
5.9 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 22 in Addo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Lands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Lands B&B

Address: Prospect Road | PO Summerville, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6107, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range: £47 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Lands B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight rooms each with en-suite bathroom: Home-cooked meals on request Kiddies Play area View the stars of the southern hemisphere Swimming pool Beautiful garden setting Breakfast served on the verandah Malaria free area ! 20 min drive to Addo Elephant Park 30 min drive to Schotia Safaris 50 min drive to Port Elizabeth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Happy Lands B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing