We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chrislin African Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We and our 3 children stayed at Chrislin Lodge for 2 nights just before Christmas. We had a wonderful stay and we felt so relaxed being there. The accomodation was perfect, traditional yet comfortable. The arrangement of the mudhuts around the pool was very well done with a central covered area overlooking the pool with wifi and soft sofas to spend a lazy afternoon watching the children play. The food was wonderful. Dinner superb and the chef prepared a gorgeous cake for one of our son's to celebrate his birthday. A very special memory. Breakfast is a favourite meal of ours and after an early morning canoe safari on the river we were not dissappointed. In terms of location, you are only 10/15 minutes drive to the main gate at Addo National Park which is perfect. I can highly recommend Chrislin to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret P, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Deverell's,
It warmed our heart's to read your lovely message. We loved having you at Chrislin, we just wish it could have been for even longer! From birthday celebrations, river safari's and impressive afternoon runs and swims, it was great to show you parts of the Sunday's River Valley! It would be lovely to see you again one day... Only the very best for 2014! Sending you warm regards and luck for the beginning of the school year, boys (and parents!), from all at Chrislin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    120
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
91
203
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The road from the R335 pretty rough with more potholes than tar. They have a beautiful setting, we booked the " luxury" Orchard hut for two nights I was extremely disappointed with what was inside, as I expected much more. The hut had a tertible musty smell, and in need of a good clean. Cockroaches came out after we turned down the lights in bathroom and the kitchen area. One pillow was minus a cover, I called to inform them , i was asked, if I wanted one. The Orchard hut is in need of a bright paint including the floors, to be able to see the crawling insects. The lighting should be brighter, with a dimmer to be used at the occupants discretion. This wasn't value for money especially if you are a S.A citizen

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret P, Owner at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It’s with great concern that we’ve read your negative review. We are really sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at Chrislin. Just to address a few of your points:

We agree that the road to Addo isn’t the best, but unfortunately that’s out of our control, although our tourism committee does put pressure on the local municipality to fill the pot holes, which they do from time to time, but fortunately the road is still absolutely fine for a normal car.

We really do apologise for the absence of a pillow case on one of your pillows. This really was a genuine mistake, which we addressed with our staff, when it occurred. I believe that our manageress did provide you with a pillow case promptly even though it was late at night and pouring with rain.

We were surprised to read that you felt that cleanliness was an issue, because our huts are thoroughly cleaned, daily and inspected by management regularly.
We weren’t aware of a cockroach problem, as we haven’t seen any ourselves, but being in the bush, we do have a few other types of insects, which have been a bit more plentiful than usual due to the recent intense heat and rain that we have experienced. We do our utmost to keep the insects at bay, especially in the huts, but it can be difficult at times, especially if windows are left open and lights on, as many of the flying insects are attracted to the light.

We aren’t in favour of painting our huts in bright colours as we prefer to blend into the environment and not stand out.

We wish that we’d known that you were experiencing problems with our lighting. While we do use energy efficient bulbs as part of our responsibility to being eco-friendly, our main lights are operated by a dimmer switch, and perhaps your lights were set on dim. I apologise that you weren’t shown how it works, and we have made a note to show future guests.

It’s with great sadness that we received such a poor rating for service, as we put a lot of effort into ensuring that each of our guests are made to feel happy and welcome. We sensed that you weren’t happy, and therefore tried extra hard and even helped call a locksmith for you when you locked your keys in your car.

It’s tough for us to realise, that as hard as we try, we can’t always please everyone, and perhaps our type of accommodation, just wasn’t to your taste, but we will take what you’ve said on board and continue to try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed a couple of nights ay Chrislin lodge including christmas
Accommodation is very authentic - nice rooms in mudhut and good value for the price!
The food is really very nice - great chef ! every evening there is a different dish proposed and also a buffet choice.
The swimming pool area and lounge is so relaxing - very quiet in the middle of the bush and nicely decorated
all the personnel is very friendly and helpful ! we really enjoyed our stay there and we spent a wonderful Christmas. You really feel at home !
the only thing to note is that there is no late bar after dinner - so you need to foresee upfront any drinks or cocktails for the rest of the evening but beside that great experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ophelia07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent just two nights just before Christmas.
The 'mud huts' were excellent. Very luxurious but still retained true to their origin.
The food was also very good and the staff could not have been more helpful.
The wifi zone was one of the best spots overlooking the warm pool and was a great place to chat to other guests.
We included a visit to Addo elephant park & Scotia game reserve and thoroughly enjoyed these experiences too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

What a lovely place! We stayed in a mudhut with our family of 5 for 3 nights and had a great time. The breakfast is great with all home made goodies, especially the fresh orange juices from the orange-trees in the garden is delicious! The service is very personal, they do all to make your stay the best. In our case they served a special kiddies meal at an earlier time because our kids were exhausted from the sandboarding. I would highly recommend this place and make sure you reserve some time to also enjoy the activities outside the game park and explore the beauty of the Eastern cape.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret P, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We were sad to see you leave this morning! We hope the drive is going well and the kids are happy while meandering along to your next destination. It was such a pleasure to have you all and we are delighted you enjoyed the various Addo delights, especially the sandboarding by Crisscross Adventures. Next time we'll ensure you get your massage at Casa Mia!! All the very best for 2014, from all at Chrislin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
münchen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The setting is beautiful, the huts are spacy, it's nice to sit outside in the garden and enjoy the upcoming evening with a glas of wine. There is a nice pool, the restaurant is a fine place and dinner as well as breakfast are good.
It is a great experiance to go to Addo Elephant Park, and you can well do it on your own. Coming back from an exciting day we loved to relax at the pool area.
We would certainly choose Chrislin's again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_nM_nchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret P, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we really do hope you come again! We are delighted you enjoyed your Chrislin experience, especially the glass of wine at the pool after an exciting day out…that's what holidays are all about. We hope 2014 is a fabulous year! Kindest regards from all at Chrislin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Lovely huts in beautiful setting. A very relaxing place to be. We also did the river trip and game drive with CrissCross Adventures - both were experiences not to be missed. Dinner in the evening exceeded our expectations and was great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJJ602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrislinafricanlodge, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review yesterday, we so appreciate your contribution! We are having a braai tonight and will be thinking of you in Addo as Elvis treats us to more culinary delights! Come back soon, from all at Chrislin African Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
1.0 mi away
Homestead B&B
Homestead B&B
#11 of 21 in Addo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hitgeheim Country Lodge
9.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 11 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.3 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrislin African Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrislin African Lodge

Property: Chrislin African Lodge
Address: Off Valentine Road | Hermiston Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrislin African Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true African accommodation when staying at Chrislin African Lodge in traditionally built mud huts located on an eco-friendly farm, just 12km from the main gate of the Addo Elephant National Park.The tranquil setting is described as paradise by nature and bird lovers. If not exploring one of the nearby game reserves, time can be spent relaxing along side the pool or in the lounging lapa. Being a family run lodge, emphasis is placed on friendly service, comfort and delicious South African food. Meals can be served on request during season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chrislin African Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing