We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chrislin African Lodge
Ranked #4 of 21 Addo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We booked with Chrislin after reading reviews of Tripadvisor. The cottages they offer are beautifully set in a large garden. They are spacious, clean and they give you a great feeling as they are made of clay. There is a small but pleasant pool. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We stayed for 2 nights with our 3 year old who loved running freely around the garden. And their adventure trips are great fun. Strongly recommend it for any age.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ploticu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    123
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
206
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meckenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent a day at Chrislin this February. To make it short: It is a great lodge to stay at. The location is beautiful; the swimming pool refreshing and everything else simply perfect. The friendliness and the smile of the 2 ladies at the reception was unique.They were very helpful and made us feel at home.
Chrislin is definitely a place we can hichly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrislinafricanlodge, Manager at Chrislin African Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We so appreciate your kind words! We are always delighted when our guests have had a wonderful stay in Addo. We will welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent two nights at Chrislin African Lodge and we were very sad that we didn't spent more time there. It is very easy to find either if you come from north or from south. There signs so that you can miss it. The last meters are on a dirty road so don't be scared you will reach Chrislin after 2 minutes. When we arrived they the nice and helpful staff showed us our room and afterwards we went to the 3 course dinner which was very tasty.

The rooms are different, a bit dark, some spiders are around but if you keep the doors closed you should not have any bugs in your room. We liked it, but if you scared of these "small" animals you may look for something else. In the night it was a bit hotter than in other guesthouse, but you have an almost silent ventilator. In room you can find a fridge, towels, wine glasses, tea and hot water.

Right in the middle of this area is a pool, where you can swim - and it was not green and dirty, as some people wrote earlier - Around the pool the people sit in sun-chairs, enjoying the sun or just use the free WIFI which is available around pool area. You can also order drinks or ice cream and the staff brings it right to the pool.

The dining and breakfast area is also a kind of house, build in a kind of half circle, with an open space in the middle. In the morning it is very nice, because it stays a bit cool from night but in the evening you need something for the mosquitos. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, you will find toast, marmalade, orange juice and you will get a sorts of eggs and a fruit salad.

I can recommend this guesthouse if you want to make a unique experience in clay houses in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khe7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Chrislin Lodge and had a perfect stay. The Lodge is affordable and situated close to the Addo Elephant Park. The cabins are called Rondavels and are small huts with everything you need (simple but very nice!) You just are out there in nature but still enjoying luxury of your private hut+bathroom. We enjoyed sleeping there and on the premise they have very nice facilities, like a swimming pool, wifi and resting area which are very pleasant to be. We loved playing with their German shephard, named Jack. He is so nice and playful! The breakfast was good enough but only possible from 8am which was too late for us because we went into Addo before that time. But you can take a simple breakfast with you if you leave early, next day we had full and this was of course better. The dinner we enjoyed much, Elvis can cook! The also started singing and dancing for all of us which was very nice. Our visit at Chrislin Lodge will not be forgotten, thanks to the staff and the beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Extremely friendly staff, great rooms, best homemade food by Elvis, the chef!
An excellent example of true South African hospitality and a great place to stay and round up the game drives at Addo Elephant Park.
One of our party is a vegetarian and amazingly enough that did not pose a problem for Elvis, whom we actually only informed 10 minutes before dinner!
And to all our surprise, the whole staff remembered the following days.
That is truly outstanding service! Thank you!

Room Tip: All the huts at Chrislin provide the same excellent comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaHobein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wonderfull place to stay! An african experience with the luxery of à real hotel inside the cottages. Good beds and through the clay building very cool inside. Besides close to Addo NP. Lovely breakfast and very kind staff. And very nearby (max. 5km) à excellent restaurant 'Haizels' .
NexT time we will visit Chrislin again, We sure about that!

Room Tip: And very nearby (max. 4 km) à excellent eco restaurant 'Haizels' :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmendorfer Strand, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Excellent place, very very Nice and friendly People, Great breakfast, Nice rooms. We enjoyed it a Lot. If we make it to addo again, That is the Place to stay. Big hug to Jack, the 2nd best dog in the World

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachilaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Addo
2.4 mi away
De Old Drift Guest Farm
1.4 mi away
Africanos Country Estate
6.3 mi away
Addo Dung Beetle Guest Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain Village
#1 of 2 in Addo Elephant National Park
301 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Elephant House
The Elephant House
#6 of 21 in Addo
285 reviews
9.0 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrislin African Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrislin African Lodge

Property: Chrislin African Lodge
Address: Off Valentine Road | Hermiston Farm, Addo, Sundays River Valley 6105, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Sundays River Valley > Addo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chrislin African Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true African accommodation when staying at Chrislin African Lodge in traditionally built mud huts located on an eco-friendly farm, just 12km from the main gate of the Addo Elephant National Park.The tranquil setting is described as paradise by nature and bird lovers. If not exploring one of the nearby game reserves, time can be spent relaxing along side the pool or in the lounging lapa. Being a family run lodge, emphasis is placed on friendly service, comfort and delicious South African food. Meals can be served on request during season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chrislin African Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing