We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turnagain View Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ski Inn(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
US$183
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dimond Center Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$122
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anchorage Midtown(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$122
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$130
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$189
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
69
0
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
0
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold minelog homebed and breakfastreindeer sausagefresh eggsb bplace to stayfantastic cookwonderful hostshost and hostesstop flooralaskan adventurenext morningseward highwayturnagain viewrock roomroger
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is an amazing place to stay while in Anchorage. The views are stunning and the accommodations are overly comfortable and beautiful. It is so clean! Roger and Arlene are so friendly, they make you feel as if you're staying with family. The price is much more affordable than one of the downtown hotels that are not nearly as nice. It is a little drive out of town, only about 10-15 minutes, but the scenic drive along the way make every minute worth it. We have already booked another stay for when we go back to Anchorage. You will not be sorry that you stayed at the Turnagain View!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

In August, my husband and I went to Alaska for ten days to scatter my mother's ashes. How lucky we were to find the Turnagain Bed and Breakfast as well as Roger and Arlene. We spent our first night in the beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean three story log home, and then we changed our reservations for our last night to finish our trip there. The breakfasts were delicious, and the view was amazing! The owners made our visit even more special with their stories and kind hospitality. Both nights we were the only ones in the home, so we enjoyed curling up on the sofa in front of the gas stove while reading about Alaska. It is just a short drive outside of Anchorage and well worth it! For the price, you cannot beat it compared to the prices in Anchorage. I would definitely recommend this for anyone wanting to enjoy the beauty of Alaska while still needing access to a city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebstheOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We only stayed one night, but wished for more! Our room was very clean and nicely appointed, but what really made it special was the awesome view of theTurnagain Arm and surrounding mountains thru large open pane windows -at any time of day or night! Arlene and Roger are fabulous hosts whose down- to- earth style was both so welcoming and interesting. Their children assist with the animals and they all ride unicycles -so cool! They gave a great tour of the on-location gold mine and gave so much of themselves to make sure that we had a good time! While enjoying an awesome view and breakfast (featuring fresh eggs from their chickens and wonderful sourdough pancakes) on the deck, we were alerted by the resident dog that a bear had wandered into the yard behind the cabin, sure enough she was right! There amongst the wildflowers was a black bear! We would go back in a heartbeat! It truly was spectacular!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Paper room which allowed us a full floor including kitchen and living area.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim and Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Turnagain View Bed and Breakfast. The beautiful 3-story cabin with a glorious view of Turnagain Arm was a welcome change from the previous three nights in a rustic cabin in the woods near Denali. Arlene served us 3 wonderful breakfasts and told amazing stories about her experiences in Alaska. She and her husband, Roger, own the Indian Valley Mine, a historic gold mine at the end of the driveway where visitors can learn how to pan for gold.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ngagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Went to alaska for a wedding outside of Anchorage and stayed with friends at the nearby Turnagain View. Wow. The house/building was solid and gorgeous and the views spectacular. We actually did not use it as a breakfast place as we had the whole house and made then our own, which was fine. Had full access to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animalloverseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews