We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch”
Review of The Lagg Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lagg Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilmory B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Back to the Lagg Hotel. Always a fixture when we are in Arran. This time we had lunch and it didn't disappoint. Sensible lunchtime portions, freshly made and obviously home made. Quiche excellent and vegetables beautifully cooked. Friendly service from a very efficient waitress. Olde world charm in a picturesque setting.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesandrewmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    85
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
50
127
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel and loved it.
Truely a trip back in time,old style furnishings et but felt very comfortable and at home.

Service was outstanding and food wonderful
No phone signal which maybe a problem for some people but a great relief for us, but the hotel has wifi.
Great location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppetjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Visited Lagg Hotel again -such a lovely peaceful spot . We had tea and scones last Sunday in front of roaring log fire in the bar area - great scones and owner very friendly . Highly recommend you stop and sample the friendly atmosphere , home baking and beautifully tended gardens when in Arran !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

What a great hotel. This was our second visit in 12 months and it has not changed. Peaceful, excellent food, lovely atmosphere and wonderful hosts. The staff are warm and friendly and always have time to talk. The bar is well stocked and a whiskey in front of the log fire is a must.
Highly recommended if you want an hotel away from the hustle and bustle of Brodick. Arran is so beautiful and away from it all. Minimal traffic although the roads, in places, leave much to be desired......... but who cares! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try a room overlooking the burn. The water bubbling is peaceful and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Four of us and two dogs had dinner and stayed over at the Lagg Hotel. We were welcomed and shown to our warm and cosy rooms with delightful views over the garden and river. A brisk walk with the dogs down to the beautiful beach allowed sight of an ancient burial place on the way! The bar staff were friendly and accommodating, the dinner excellent, and then coffee in the lounge with a log fire blazing was a great way to end the day. Breakfast in the morning was very tasty and as extensive as you could wish, and I particularly appreciated the fresh fruit salad- delicious. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Lagg Hotel for two nights with our two children and our dog in a family room. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom ( bath & shower). Breakfast was in a beautiful dining room overlooking the garden and service was first class. The hotel is a lovely short walk from the beach. We had dinner on the second night and again service was second to none and food was great. After dinner we were able to enjoy the open fire in the lounge and the children enjoyed the Wifi! We would highly recommend the Lagg - excellent value for money, in a beautiful location, with that "just right" touch that makes your stay truly enjoyable. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaCampb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending a couple on nights at the Lagg hotel on Arran. Having stayed on Arran many time this hotel is by far the best hotel experience we have had. A warm and personal welcome followed by first class service with attention to detail were very obvious. My wife and I can honestly say that the two nights spent at the Lagg were good from the point of view that we don't usually stay at the same hotel twice but our next trip to Arran will be certainly be at the Lagg. The room we had was very nice and comfortable and the food was first class and served by staff who made the personal touch appreciated. I would thoroughly recommend anyone checks out the Lagg hotel, they won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lovely gardens and river were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmory
9.5 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,158 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
566 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
747 reviews
6.4 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#3 of 6 in Whiting Bay
74 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lamlash Bay Hotel
Lamlash Bay Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lamlash
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagg Hotel

Property: The Lagg Hotel
Address: Lagg, Kilmory KA27 8PQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Isle of Arran > Kilmory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lagg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lagg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lagg Hotel Isle Of Arran/Kilmory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing