We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay- romantic, relaxing, peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Dog Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lower Chittering
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Dog Farm
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great place to stay- romantic, relaxing, peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at The Merlot Chalet. It was such a lovely place to stay. Jo has thought of everything to make the stay special (candles, condiments, diff types of tea/coffee, books, CD's and more) Only an hour from Perth, it is a great place to go for the night or two. WDF makes lovely wine and champagne, perfect for sipping on the balcony and relaxing looking over the bush. Would definitely recommend. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CaRLyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedogfarm, Owner at White Dog Farm, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you.. Its good to know we provided that special time away . See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 860 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We has the Classic Suite - possibly slightly more private outdoor area than the Champagne Suite.

The furnishings were all very good and the room had a decadent feel.

The common dining room and lounge with fire was decorated in more modern fashion but still retained a cosy feel. Free port and sherry.

Lots of outdoor lounging space (including an outdoor spa) and a large property which you are free to wander around.

Jo likes a natter so will talk about anything you like!

Walking distance to Stringybark Restaurant and Winery and also another winery the other way.

TV has no less than 380 movies built-in to it!

All up, a great break from the city and I think we'll be back!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedogfarm, Owner at White Dog Farm, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

After searching a small resort for a getaway present for my partner I found white dog farm and was absolutely not disappointed.

After booking I send an email with a few request to supprise my partner. All of these were followed to the point. Jo and Peter were great in communicating and organising this special getaway.

We booked the champagne suit and the room was well fitted, modern and had a open plan with a spa in the bedroom.

We chose for the full package including dinner and breakfast and the food was lovely.

Both Jo and Peter are great hosts and I most definitely will return and recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedogfarm, Owner at White Dog Farm, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Nice of you to comment and we are happy yo know we made your stay special....and looking forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We wanted a relaxing three day break in the "country" - found a gem in White Dog Farm, booked the Merlot Studio and were just delighted with it! Very peaceful... (bordering on isolated though) nestled among the grape vines and olive groves of the large property which has its own brook. The accommodation was five star level, complete with designer matches to light the scented candles around the corner spa - A lovely property to walk around and see the occasional kangaroo. The kitchenette was beautifully fitted out and well stocked with all the utensils, crockery and cutlery needed to serve up and enjoy the local produce.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danusia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedogfarm, Owner at White Dog Farm, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment...It is great to hear we helped make your stay at White Dog Farm enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We were taken to White Dog Farm for a night with friends of ours as a surprise gift and what a wonderful day and night we all had . Starting with Jo answering the door with a friendly and welcoming smile and showing us our rooms that were presented beautifully with everything you could possibly want , Then off to meet Peter for a bit of wine tasting . These guys have done a fabulous job with everything they have done to perfection, We had our own drinks and , nibbles in the arvo in the outdoor spa and for tea just a short walk with touches supplied to Stringybark Winery , In the morning we woke up to a beautiful home cooked breakfast served by the two of them in the lovely entertainment room , We would recommend any body that wants to go somewhere special to go and enjoy . We will be back and will share this great find with our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannmbenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedogfarm, Owner at White Dog Farm, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
So many kind words..........thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have been traveling around the Chittering region for a few years now both by car and lately by Motorbike and just traveling to White Dog Farm is a joy. The scenery around Chittering Valley is so beautiful and well worth a trip even if you are not staying at this fabulous place.
We had originally booked an overnight stay for our youngest son and his partner but they were unable to go so we took their place.
We booked into the Cabernet Cottage and found it to be ideal. Everything and I mean everything is catered for. You want for nothing. Excellent music and film collection and everything you need should you wish to dine in. We chose to go to the Stringy bark restaurant for dinner which is just down the road from WDF. The food is excellent but be aware, the servings are huge!!
We have a spa at home near Perth but the views we got from our after dinner spa were amazing, just so many more stars
We had also included a breakfast which was waiting in our fridge along with fresh milk and a warm loaf of bread was delivered early the next morning before I lit the gas BBQ.
If you are thinking of a break where you can completely relax we can certainly recommend this excellent place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedogfarm, Owner at White Dog Farm, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you and see you next time you need that special getaway :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Merlot Studio and absolutely loved it. The environment is so peaceful and the studio itself has been really well kitted out. We did breakfast provisions for the first morning and it was enough to feed a small army! We thoroughly enjoyed the spa with an outlook to the trees and wandering around the property makes for a very pleasant start or end to the day. Having a winery/restaurant within walking distance is definitely a plus too. There is lots of information provided in the room and we went for a walk at the nearby 'Peace Be Still' property which affords fabulous views of the Chittering Valley and an opportunity to see a huge variety of wildflowers (we also spotted a couple of kangaroos). I would recommend White Dog Farm without reservation and have already booked a return trip!

Room Tip: The Merlot Studio is great accommodation for a couple, there is also a 2 bedroom cottage and 2 luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussytravellerwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lower Chittering
15.5 mi away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
6.6 mi away
Enderslie House
Enderslie House
#1 of 1 in Muchea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
18.3 mi away
Black Wattle Retreat
Black Wattle Retreat
#3 of 8 in Toodyay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Sandy Lake Farm Accommodation
Show Prices

Been to White Dog Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Dog Farm

Property: White Dog Farm
Address: 2035 Chittering Road, Lower Chittering, Western Australia 6084, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Lower Chittering
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Chittering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
White Dog Farm Lower Chittering, Western Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing