We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast”
Review of Cheriton House

Cheriton House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cheriton House
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at Cheriton House for the first time in September. It was a lovely bed and breakfast. We had a spacious room with a thick pile carpet and lovely décor. The bed was comfortable too. The breakfast was superb with a lot of choice. The owners are a vey genuine warm and friendly couple, We didn't hesitate to book a second time in early November when we wanted a few days away and I am sure we will visit again. I would recommend Cheriton House to anyone and will certainly be staying there again myself.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Pat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Cheriton House on our way to north Devon and was very impressed with the house and service we received.
Good location for Weymouth, Lulworth cove and Monkey World which was well worth the visit.
Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TELBOY45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent three nights at Cheriton House and can definately recommend to fellow travellers. Our room was spacious, clean and with a big comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was superb, with a choice of cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad, toast or cooked - we had a bit of everything and did not need much lunch if any. In the evening there is a pub a short walk away which serves decent pub grub, or you can drive into Lulworth or the next village for more decent food. The location is perfect for Bovington, Monkey World, Durdle Door, Corfe etc. Our hosts were very welcoming, unobtrusive and ready to help if needed. Thank you to Andy & Tara for our stay and for sharing your lovely home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexWillowisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cheriton House for a couple of nights last month and had such a relaxing stay that we came back with our daughter and her 2 girls last week for 4 nights. Andy and Tara couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating, putting an extra bed in one of the spacious bedrooms so the girls could stay together. The house is ideally situated for visits to Lulworth Cove/Durdle Door, and a short drive takes you to Weymouth. The rooms and bathroom facilities were excellent, and a delicious breakfast was enjoyed by all. We're so pleased we found this bed & breakfast and will definitely be returning. The girls loved it, and so did we!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Andy and Tara made us feel right at home from the second we walked in. The room was big and clean with a nice en-suite and one of the comfiest beds I've slept in. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! This is somewhere where we will be staying again if we are in the area, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHandSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Andy and Tara make us welcome from the moment we arrived till the time we left(Stayed Fri/Sat and back home Sun).The house is amazing and seems to cuddle you as soon as you walk in.Breakfast is first class.The place is situated approx. three miles from Lulworth Cove and ideal for the must do hill climb to Durdle Door.We shall return again to enjoy both the area and the hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Andy a fantastic host - we arrived late - abolutely no bother. Despite being a short visit (one night) Andy was very acommodating even taking us to the station the following morning. The house itself is beautiful, very spacious room, extremely comfortable bed and very spacious private bathroom. The hostess tray was full of choice for beverages and breakfast provided plenty of choice. Nice touch was the home made marmalade, honey etc., and proper butter - not these silly little foil pack ones. Cereals again huge amount of choice - not just the usual mini cornflakes but full sized boxes. Rooms beautifully furnished, quality carpet and spotlessly clean. Would definitely return. Well recommended.

Room Tip: only two rooms available - can only say the one we stayed in was perfect. Would suggest that the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ldjones186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cheriton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheriton House

Address: Water Ln, Winfrith Newburgh DT2 8JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Winfrith Newburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Winfrith Newburgh
Price Range: £86 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cheriton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheriton House Winfrith Newburgh, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing