We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely NOT a "Boutique" hotel and overpriced!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monkton Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Monkton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent one night in this hotel recently together with some friends. We would not stay here again. It is simply not worth £120 per night.

The exterior of the hotel is very scruffy and unappealing looking and it took us a while to find any staff when we arrived! Eventually we found someone and did receive a warm welcome. We were shown our room and given good advice on getting a taxi. The bar area is nicely furnished with a fire burning in the grate.

The room was large, but not really warm enough. We were told it had just been "rearranged" which is possibly why the pictures were hung rather strangely and a VERY small TV was sitting on a shelf over the radiator where it could not have been watched from either the bed or the sofa! The saving grace was the glorious bed! It had lovely linen, was king-sized and had an incredibly comfortable mattress. The room was clean with the exception of black mould as a result of condensation, at the base of the window panes. We were sorry to find the UHT milk cartons on the hospitality tray were out of date and therefore curdled and the lead on the kettle was too short to reach the plug! A notice on the bedroom door informed us that an iron and ironing board were available in the staff toilet....!

The shower room was tiny with the wash basin half over-hanging the toilet. It had one very small shelf over the basin and nowhere to put your wash bag, etc. There was no towel rail so the towels were inconveniently left on a stool in the bedroom, behind the door into the bathroom. There was a hole on the inside of the bathroom door where presumably there had once been a hook! Strangely the pull-cord light and electric shower switches were in the bedroom.

The cooked English breakfast and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs option were both good. What a shame the marmalade and jams were those really horrid tiny plastic containers full of tasteless, cheap marmalade/jam substitutes! The service was adequate, but I felt the owners were uninterested in us as customers and we were surprised when they sat down by the fire to eat their own breakfasts in front of us.

With more care and attention to detail this hotel could be very good, at the moment it is very over-priced for the product offered.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room overlooking the rear garden as the hotel is located on a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

For our wedding anniversary we like to mark the occasion with  a special dinner out, probably at a hotel or restaurant new to us.  We had not been to the Monkton Court Hotel before so we thought we would try it as it has an excellent local reputation.  We were certainly not disappointed.
It is easy to find as it lies on the busy A30 East of Honiton.  Access and car parking were also easy.  Colin and Jenny the owners personally, cheerfully, welcomed us and as we sat, sipping, before the roaring fire we soon felt at home.
The food, prepared by the talented and creative Joe the Chef, was sumptuous and exactly what we were hoping for.  The ‘A la Carte’ menu had five or six choices for each course, the price for two courses being a very fair, but not ‘budget’, £28 and £36 for three courses.  We chose a cheese soufflé starter then and fillet steak and ‘Three Porks’, followed by an exotic lemon cheesecake with sorbet… mmm delicious !
Décor and ambiance is stylish giving a warm feeling of genteel, country elegance without being pretentious.  We even chose our own music.  How’s that for service ?
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and are hoping to take some friends to this excellent venue in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed for one night and thought it was fine but not worth the money. On the positive side the bed was extremely comfortable and looked lovely (room 2). We both had a very good night's sleep. The staff were also very pleasant and attentive. Breakfast was pretty tasty and again we were looked after well by the staff. However although the bedroom looked very nice it did lack attention to detail in its decor as did most of the hotel. The interior updates downstairs seemed to be at odds with its exterior. The upstairs corridors smelt a bit of lingering cooked food - maybe it was damp being an old building but our room didn't smell so that didn't particularly matter. Our room was very cold and the radiator had not been turned on prior to our arrival (the car showed 2 degrees so heating would be normal). In fact the whole place was very cold. Even with the radiator on from just gone midnight when we returned to our cold room and turned the radiator on, it was still not very warm in the morning. The shower was awful. It was a weak electric shower that was unpleasant to use in such a cold room. It was like all electric showers - dismal and not what you expect in a £120 per night hotel. Basically, if it had been half the price we'd have overlooked the things we've commented on but for the price we expected a lot more and were disappointed. This place is marketed as a boutique B&B and doesn't live up to that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJandOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

fabulous food just doesn't do justice to the food served up by "Joe " the master chef behind the top quality foods served in the hotels restaurant , we entrusted our wedding meal to Joe with no worries at all having eaten here on a few occasions now ,
if you love food then you have to come here and taste the creations that come from the kitchens , just simply divine , the flavours and textures excite every mouthful , every item is great on its own or when combined with anything else , its just magic to me , the surroundings are smart and modern but not to in your face , tastefully done and very enjoyable ,
A BIG thankyou to all the staff and to |Jenny & Joe for making our day even more special ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gshockxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I only stayed here for one night, but it seems like a nice little hotel. Conveniently located on the A30, and amazing bedrooms - the most massive four poster beds you've ever seen! I saw 4 rooms, as I was staying with a group of friends, and all the rooms were different, but with equally amazing beds. Breakfast the next day was also great - full english, with a continental selection of cereals and fruit etc as well.

The staff were also extremely helpful and kind. I was there for the night before my wedding with the rest of the bridal party, and they very helpfully allowed us to use the room next to my one to give us extra space while getting ready, completely free of charge. (The rooms are fairly large anyway, but the extra space was certainly useful!).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireGre873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I am so puzzled about this place, We were driving home down the A30 and I looked on Trip advisor for somewhere for us to stop for lunch, I saw this place was just a few miles further on, read the reviews and thought it looked like just our sort of place... how wrong could I be?? I have checked and checked that I was in the same pace as the previous reviews refer to, but it was and I just can't work it out. It is a complete mystery to us both.

The outside looks drab and needs a tidy up, but then it was a cold & wet day and it is out of season for passing holiday trade. Inside reception and bar areas, again a bit drab and unwelcoming. Through to the restaurant, a bit better, but looks uncared for and just looks like it could do with finishing off properly, blotchy patched paint on the walls etc etc.

When we sat down we were told there was only one copy of the menu for everyone as the printer had broken down so we would have to wait... What a joke. Why not send someone to a neighbour or a convenience store and get some copies done, or pop home and use a home printer, or write it out on note paper, Use a blackboard, get a 30quid printer from tesco's to get over the problem. Its only a small menu, say about 5 choices for each course, there were loads of possible solutions to this problem, but they decided to let customers wait for ONE menu. We waited well over 15mins to see it.

While we waited a friendly young waitress came and took a drinks order. I ordered a coke & my husband ordered a large bottle of sparkling water. Coke was fine, but my husband was given a glass of fizzy water, & the glass wasn't clean. He asked the waitress if he could have a large bottle of sparkling water as he had ordered. She apologised and came back with a large bottle of water, but it was still not sparkling and wasn't sealed. Another waitress brought a small bottle of sparkling water saying they didnt have any large ones after all. Ok, so not the end of the world, just a bit disorganised.

While still waiting for the one copy of the menu, I felt cold and decided to order a hot drink while we waited, so I asked for a drinks menu. The waitress gave me a drinks menu, which I looked through thinking there might be a section with the hot drinks but there was not. I asked if I could see the menu with the hot drinks in, She said it was in the menu I already had, I said I couldn't find them, she took the menu to show me to find that they wern't there at all. Perhaps she was new and was unfamiliar with the menus?? Anyway, she hurried away and brought the coffee menu and I ordered a Mocha, which arrived promptly and was nice.

We finally got a look at the menu, there were five or so choices for each course and there were at least three mains that really appealed to me. I chose the burger and my husband chose the belly pork. Then we waited... and waited... and waited... and eventually the younger of the two waitresses apologised for the wait and told us our meals were being plated as we spoke. Then we waited some more, and the older of the two waitresses came over and apologised for the wait and said our food would only be another five minutes, I thought they were being plated 10 minutes previously, but anyway.... About 10 minutes later our food arrived, and we were told the veg to accompany my husbands meal ws just coming, so we waited again. Eventually, My husband told me to start eating as my food would be going cold, then finally his veg turned up and he also started eating... an hour after we had ordered.

Ok, So the food... I really dont know where to start, it was dire. My husbands belly pork was desperately overcooked and incredibly dry, belly pork is a really fatty cut and pretty hard to dry out, I don't understand what they had done to it to ruin it so royally. His veg and roast potatoes were ok.

My burger was served piled high with onion rings that were on a wooden skewer which went down through the burger. The onion rings were good but sadly thats the only positive thing about my meal. The burger bun was a cheap supermarket style bread roll, that had been under a grill until it was black - at this price point I would expect a nicely toasted roll, ciabatta or similar. There was plenty of cheese but unfortunately a dry, burnt, black burger, hid underneath. I can't even tell you if it was a good quality burger, it was that badly burnt I couldnt tell... The portion of chips was a decent size, but way overcooked to the extent that some of the chips shattered or pinged of the plate when i tried to push my fork in to them. The side salad had been sitting somewhere with dressing on it for so long it was soggy and inedible. Complete disater, I really cant understand how anyone can get a burger and chips so wrong - surely this is fairly easy to get right?

When the younger of the two waitresses came over to ask if our food was ok, I just said 'actually no, not really' and showed her my blackened, ruined burger and my husband showed her his dryed out belly pork. She apologised and offered to get us something else, but having just waited an hour for for the first lot, we declined her offer as we really did not have another spare hour. A few minutes later she came back and said that the chef sent his apologies and would be adjusting the bill accordingly.

We finished what we could of our meals and asked for the bill. We had had two soft drinks, a coffee and two ruined meals and we were given a bill for £17. Which wasn't itemised in any way. I asked the older waitress who had come over with the card machine how they had come to the figure of £17 and was told abruptly "well you can see what he's done" I said I didnt understand and she snapped again "well its half, he has halved your bill, even the drinks". I'm not sure how I was supposed to have drawn that conclusion from the bill she had given me.. I think halving the bill was the bare minimum they could have done really, we eat out a lot, and in all types of restaurants and I really don't mind paying good money for good food, but it kind of stings to part with even £8.50 per head for really awful food that you waited an hour for, let alone if you're also going to get your head bitten off if you ask how the one line bill had been worked out.

If I had ruined a meal this badly at home I would have thrown it away! I cannot understand how anyone can imagine it was acceptable to serve food this bad in a restaurant. We were not the only dissapointed diners, I overheard people on two other tables say that their food was poor.

Disaster from start to finish. I havent been anywhere this bad for a very long time - maybe never.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I dined at the Monkton Court recently with my husband, daughter, son-in-law and three grandaughters. It was fabulous! The food, service, presentation and ambiance was lovely. My youngest grand-daughter (6) has a gluten intolerance, but they coped with her needs well, giving her a very enjoyable meal, which she ate all of! Nothing was too much trouble for them. A very enjoyable evening all round. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DevonMosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monkton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkton Court Hotel

Address: A30 | Monkton near Honiton, Monkton EX14 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkton Court Hotel, Honiton - Restaurant with rooms - bed and breakfast - fine dining gourmet meals - bar snacks - 3 acre family beer garden - alongside A30 - large car park - open 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Monkton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkton Court Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing