We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monkton Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Home Farm Hotel(Wilmington)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Honiton(Honiton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeview Manor(Honiton)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deer Park Country House Hotel(Buckerell)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$184
US$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tumbling Weir Hotel(Ottery St. Mary)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
131
42
14
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
42
14
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedroll top bathslipper bathwarm welcomecompliments to the chefstretch their legsrare beefcomfortable sofasevening buffethuge bathroomfantastic mealopen firewest countrythis wonderful hotelthe en suite bathroomlast minute bookingfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel with friends overnight and had a fabulous time. We were met with a warm welcome from the staff and shown to our room.
As a family staying here, we were accommodated in the family room which compromised of two rooms, with en suite. The main bedroom overlooks the back with extensive grounds. On a lovely sunny day, it will be picturesque and would really give a feel of what living in the countryside would be like. The thing I loved most was how quiet the room was considering the hotel is situated on the A303. In actual fact, our friends staying at the front of the hotel, also commented on how quiet it was and how relaxing this makes the stay. The bedroom was beautifully decorated with a fantastic antique four poster bed, wardrobe, dressing table, tv and tea/coffee facilities which were plentiful. The adjoining room has two single beds and gives access to the en suite. The rooms were very clean and welcoming.
In the evening we dined at the hotels restaurant. We were given a personal presentation of the menu by the head chef who even adapted the menu to our tastes. The food was all freshly prepared and presented so well, we even took pictures to show friends at home!! The waitressing staff were all very friendly and accommodating and couldn't do enough for us, offering drinks when necessary etc.
The following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant area. We were able to adapt the menu again to what we wanted. I had the scrambled eggs with salmon which was to die for and I wouldn't hesitate in having again! We then retired to the sitting room area where we were not rushed, to enjoy a final farewell with our friends.
What I would say about this hotel is that it emits a lovely, warm and homely feel. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, and owners, and I wouldn't hesitate in staying again.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We spent one night in this hotel recently together with some friends. We would not stay here again. It is simply not worth £120 per night.

The exterior of the hotel is very scruffy and unappealing looking and it took us a while to find any staff when we arrived! Eventually we found someone and did receive a warm welcome. We were shown our room and given good advice on getting a taxi. The bar area is nicely furnished with a fire burning in the grate.

The room was large, but not really warm enough. We were told it had just been "rearranged" which is possibly why the pictures were hung rather strangely and a VERY small TV was sitting on a shelf over the radiator where it could not have been watched from either the bed or the sofa! The saving grace was the glorious bed! It had lovely linen, was king-sized and had an incredibly comfortable mattress. The room was clean with the exception of black mould as a result of condensation, at the base of the window panes. We were sorry to find the UHT milk cartons on the hospitality tray were out of date and therefore curdled and the lead on the kettle was too short to reach the plug! A notice on the bedroom door informed us that an iron and ironing board were available in the staff toilet....!

The shower room was tiny with the wash basin half over-hanging the toilet. It had one very small shelf over the basin and nowhere to put your wash bag, etc. There was no towel rail so the towels were inconveniently left on a stool in the bedroom, behind the door into the bathroom. There was a hole on the inside of the bathroom door where presumably there had once been a hook! Strangely the pull-cord light and electric shower switches were in the bedroom.

The cooked English breakfast and the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs option were both good. What a shame the marmalade and jams were those really horrid tiny plastic containers full of tasteless, cheap marmalade/jam substitutes! The service was adequate, but I felt the owners were uninterested in us as customers and we were surprised when they sat down by the fire to eat their own breakfasts in front of us.

With more care and attention to detail this hotel could be very good, at the moment it is very over-priced for the product offered.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room overlooking the rear garden as the hotel is located on a busy road.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

For our wedding anniversary we like to mark the occasion with  a special dinner out, probably at a hotel or restaurant new to us.  We had not been to the Monkton Court Hotel before so we thought we would try it as it has an excellent local reputation.  We were certainly not disappointed.
It is easy to find as it lies on the busy A30 East of Honiton.  Access and car parking were also easy.  Colin and Jenny the owners personally, cheerfully, welcomed us and as we sat, sipping, before the roaring fire we soon felt at home.
The food, prepared by the talented and creative Joe the Chef, was sumptuous and exactly what we were hoping for.  The ‘A la Carte’ menu had five or six choices for each course, the price for two courses being a very fair, but not ‘budget’, £28 and £36 for three courses.  We chose a cheese soufflé starter then and fillet steak and ‘Three Porks’, followed by an exotic lemon cheesecake with sorbet… mmm delicious !
Décor and ambiance is stylish giving a warm feeling of genteel, country elegance without being pretentious.  We even chose our own music.  How’s that for service ?
We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and are hoping to take some friends to this excellent venue in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed for one night and thought it was fine but not worth the money. On the positive side the bed was extremely comfortable and looked lovely (room 2). We both had a very good night's sleep. The staff were also very pleasant and attentive. Breakfast was pretty tasty and again we were looked after well by the staff. However although the bedroom looked very nice it did lack attention to detail in its decor as did most of the hotel. The interior updates downstairs seemed to be at odds with its exterior. The upstairs corridors smelt a bit of lingering cooked food - maybe it was damp being an old building but our room didn't smell so that didn't particularly matter. Our room was very cold and the radiator had not been turned on prior to our arrival (the car showed 2 degrees so heating would be normal). In fact the whole place was very cold. Even with the radiator on from just gone midnight when we returned to our cold room and turned the radiator on, it was still not very warm in the morning. The shower was awful. It was a weak electric shower that was unpleasant to use in such a cold room. It was like all electric showers - dismal and not what you expect in a £120 per night hotel. Basically, if it had been half the price we'd have overlooked the things we've commented on but for the price we expected a lot more and were disappointed. This place is marketed as a boutique B&B and doesn't live up to that.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJandOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

fabulous food just doesn't do justice to the food served up by "Joe " the master chef behind the top quality foods served in the hotels restaurant , we entrusted our wedding meal to Joe with no worries at all having eaten here on a few occasions now ,
if you love food then you have to come here and taste the creations that come from the kitchens , just simply divine , the flavours and textures excite every mouthful , every item is great on its own or when combined with anything else , its just magic to me , the surroundings are smart and modern but not to in your face , tastefully done and very enjoyable ,
A BIG thankyou to all the staff and to |Jenny & Joe for making our day even more special ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gshockxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews