We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i tried a place i always wanted to go inside when passing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monkton Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Monkton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“i tried a place i always wanted to go inside when passing”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

when ever i went to Cornwall i wanted to call at this place for coffee but due to cicumstances never did but always said one day i would.
time passed and i found myself yet again on my way to Cornwall with my new husband and i told him about this place i wanted to go inside . this time i stopped for coffee and so glad i did,
i imagined it to be an expensive coffee but it was not the people were so friendly and welcoming.
the whole place was spotless and i felt so comfortable, we have booked to go and stay in one of their fabulous 4 poster rooms for our annaversary and we are so looking farward to our stay in july and to try a dinner and breakfast there, and to visit Lymm Regis as i have never been.
will write my review later.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila_bentley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    39
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
87
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night with a group of colleagues. From the oment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, batman friendly and welcoming.

Beds were so comfortable and everyone who came down for breakfast made comment to them.

Rooms were huge and well appointed clean and tidy. Breakfast was lovely and fresh too.Overall you got the impression they really wanted you to be there and keen for comments and return visits.

So often you can go to a big chain and customer service doesn't feature - well done you deserve success, as clearly you have put the effort in.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Abally99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed at the Monkton Court for just one night but wished it was for longer! Our room was fabulous with a huge bathroom & roll top bath & frankly the best bed ever! It was so comfy. Breakfast was great too, especially the coffee, and the owners were fab too! Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to all the staff for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel as I had a wedding in Honiton. It was luxurious and the couple running it couldn't do enough to help. I was allowed to check in late as I came straight from the wedding, there were no taxis in the morning so they gave me a lift to the station and all in all did all they could to make my stay perfect. The views and gardens are spectacular. I've stayed in posh chains (like Hilton etc) but because of the personal touch this far exceeded anywhere else I've stayed. Would definitely recommend a stay at Monkton Court.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandsworthTraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My friends and I stopped to break our journey from Sennen Cove back to Hampshire. We got much more than we expected including a tour of some of the rooms which contained amazing antique beds and heavy 'quality' drapes. The enthusiasm with which we were shown round the hotel was second to none. The snacks we chose were wonderful and the chef took the time to speak to us at our table. I would highly recommend a stay or pit stop at this place if only because the staff are so friendly and attentive. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was excellent and we all felt very well looked after - big thanks to Michael for the tour, to Jo for the food and to Colin and Jenny ( the tweaker) for their hospitality.'

Room Tip: Ask to see the amazing selection of beds! Probably need to ask for a room facing to the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A really delightful 1 night stay. Made very welcome, fires in the lounge (a cold May night!) and delicious food. Room beautiful and mattress very comfortable! Shower room plenty big enough.
Room at the front by the main road but you would never have known as adequate sound proofing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonesss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have dropped in for coffee or lunch on our way to the South West in the past and always enjoyed the break. This time we stayed for a couple of nights while we attended a family wedding in Devon. It was an excellent stay. A big comfortable room with a big comfortable bed. Everything spotlessly clean and everyone extremely friendly. It's a very quiet spot at night and we slept really well. Dinner and breakfast were both of very high quality and served very attentively. We'll go back and we'll recommend it to our own children as a great place to break the long journey to Cornwall and exercise their children in the huge and safe back garden. A very high class small Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton
4.0 mi away
Deer Park Country House Hotel
2.5 mi away
Home Farm Hotel
Home Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wilmington
34 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lakeview Manor
Lakeview Manor
#4 of 5 in Honiton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Masons Arms
Masons Arms
#1 of 2 in Branscombe
615 reviews
5.6 mi away
Greyhound Country Inn
Greyhound Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fenny Bridges
177 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wellington Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkton Court Hotel

Property: Monkton Court Hotel
Address: A30 | Monkton near Honiton, Monkton EX14 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkton Court Hotel, Honiton - Restaurant with rooms - bed and breakfast - fine dining gourmet meals - bar snacks - 3 acre family beer garden - alongside A30 - large car park - open 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monkton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkton Court Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing