We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent lunch and delightful garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monkton Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Monkton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I stopped here for lunch to break up a long car drive and it was delightful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced and the garden is beautiful. We shared a ploughman's lunch (which contained beautifully rare beef and ham as well as cheese) and the staff divided it between two plates for us without us even asking. Perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Me and my partner attended this hotel for a wedding nearby. When we arrived 4 hours early we were told we were very welcome to check in early. We asked were to go for our room but the receptionist wasn't sure. She said she had only been there for 3 weeks and apologised. Then offered to go up stairs with us and help us find it (very kind) We were both amazed by the cleanliness of the room, lounge and bar area. Not a single bit of dust to find. We had a very comfortable bed and both in the room and troughout the hotel you could see everything was very well taken care off. The only down side i could find was some mould on the outside of the shower in our bedroom bathroom, everything else was spotless! Would I recommend this hotel? Yes and I will definatly return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niels118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This hotel has great potential.
The owners are working hard to renovate this hotel.
We sat with a mag in a quiet lounge for a couple of hours and relaxed fully.
Some areas need better cleaning and you could see into the kitchen on the way up the stairs where things were left out dying the whole of our stay.
Could do better but will go back.

Room Tip: Go for the back it is a busy road at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

What an lovely place, stayed here twice now, 1st for 2 days and am now on a 2nd visit of 6 days.
Well where do I start.....lovely welcoming hosts from the time you arrive, rooms are beautiful and food (breakfast & dinner) is out if this world, the chef does a grand job, staff are lovely people too.
Would certainly recommend to anyone and would most definitely use again when next down this way.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoveTractorboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed there recently over a weekend whilst attending friends' wedding. Jenny and Colin, and their staff were most hospitable from arrival to departure. As others have mentioned, this is located on an 'A' road, therefore a room at the rear of the hotel is a distinct advantage (we had no.7) which overlooks woods and fields. It was attractively furnished with a comfortable bed (but heavy duvet for the time of year). I would have liked more surface space in the bedroom and bathroom to place toiletries and other essentials. Some small things about this room now - no bedside clock/alarm provided; the position of the plug sockets in relation to the mirror (for use of the hair drier etc) proved difficult. Clearer instruction regarding how to operate the shower would have been appreciated, as we had unfortunately had a small power cut the previous night and I didn't know if it had affected the shower. I was unsure how hard to press the On/Off button as this did need quite a hard push (but I didn't like to do this in case I broke it). There were also no decaffeinated drinks in the rooms, but these were readily available within the hotel. These things however did NOT affect our overall stay which was extremely enjoyable, enhanced by the quality of the food.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebbiefromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

When we arrived we were shown to the cottage which wasn't part of the main hotel as soon as we opened the door the smell of damp hit us ! The room was dull and not very clean the bathroom was the only good thing about it ! Plus we were on a main road so very noisy !! The hotel staff were friendly but couldn't tell us what time breaskfast was and didn't show us the facilities so we didn't spend anytime there apart from to sleep ! When we sat down for breakfast my children were horrified to be served one piece of bacon and one egg so had to bulk up on toast and cereals !! Very overpriced !! We have stayed in various hotels and bed and breakfasts but would sadly not visit this one again !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank billaandanffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 for a wedding reception. Our friends were married locally and booked out the hotel for their reception.

We all had a wonderful time. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble. Food was exquisite.

Would like to extend my thanks to owners and staff and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Perculators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Monkton Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkton Court Hotel

Address: A30 | Monkton near Honiton, Monkton EX14 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Monkton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton
Price Range: £86 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Monkton Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkton Court Hotel, Honiton - Restaurant with rooms - bed and breakfast - fine dining gourmet meals - bar snacks - 3 acre family beer garden - alongside A30 - large car park - open 7 days a week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Monkton Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkton Court Hotel Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing