We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Resort or a Jungle Lodge?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harihareshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar
Reviewed 8 January 2014

MTDC Harihareshwar resort is for those whose idea of a holiday is absolute calm. If you are looking for a "happening" place with lots of fun activities, then this is not the place for you. The first thing that you notice here is the woods. The bamboo exterior cottages amidst lots of trees give a feeling as if you are staying in a jungle lodge, while the fact is that my room was just about 100 meters from the sea. There are not too many people at the resort as there are only eight cottages at present. Some more wooden huts are under construction. Staff is friendly. One major issue at the moment is non availability of food as the cafeteria is under construction.
Harihareshwar village, which is about a kilometre from here has places to eat. We, essentially non-vegetarians, we're suggested Poornima, Pragati and Swayam restaurants. Besides these, we also tried the restaurant of 'Harihareshwar Resort'. Overall we were very much impressed with Poornima, which is not so much a restaurant as a family is feeding you inside there house. Others cater to local as well as so called North Indian food, however the quality of their local food also is not at par with Poornima.
Harihareshwar has a Shiva temple and a small beach next to it, which is not overly crowded. One can drive to other beaches like Shrivardhan and Diveagar, which are more populated.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank malliksatish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Harihareshwar is a very good location with a beautiful beach and an ancient Temple which gives this place its name. However, the MTDC resort is in very very bad shape. Though they have a huge property, only 7 Konkani cottages are currently operational. The ACs leak, the furniture is in dire state, Cable TV reception is very poor. The food quality is also very bad and there are no other decent restuarants in the vicinity. The beach adjaceent to te property is very rocky, but you can climb down from there to the beach. The water is clean and the place is pretty tranquil. There is not much to write about in terms of facilities. The resort is undergoing redvelopment with new cottages being constructed, however the pace of work is so slow, that it may take ages before its complete !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aryan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have stayed in many resorts of MTDC and for me this is their worst property. We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a nightmare.

Pros -
None

Cons-
1. location - It cannot be called as beach resort as there is no beach within half an hour of walking distance. It is just adjacent to a very rocky seashore. The water is very muddy and the seashore is filled with garbage.
2. Rooms are in very bad condition
3. Food was very average with lot of oil

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhavana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The property was under renovation when we went in December 2012. So only a few cottages and a temporary restaurant are available. We had liked the property from an earlier visit but this time it didn't meet our expectations. Hopefully, it will be much better once the renovation is complete.

Still we feel this is a better property compared to other options around. Beach is directly accessible from the property. It is nice for long walks or enjoying the sunrise and sunset, or even playing a game of football or cricket during low tide.

Staff was courteous and food was tasty. Room was clean. The wooded campus is perfect for a stroll or birding.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCouple_TWaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

The location of the resort is not at all good. I mean you don't have access to the swimming beach from the resort. It is a good 10min walk away (near the temple). You only have a view of the rocky sea shores, that too not from the rooms but from the viewpoint (whose picture is given above as the profile pic, sans those chairs etc. Presently the shade is not in very good condition). The Konkani huts nearer to the sea face are presently under renovation, so you only get the ones near the reception. In a nutshell it is better to avoid MTDC now, at least till the renovation work gets completed (i saw some new structures being made; the receptionist guy told that major renovation of the property and uplift of the facilities have been planned).

Room Tip: Avoid MTDC till the renovations are over. Try something near the temple or the temple beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bumba8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The resort was not clean at all with lots of insects around. The rooms are not cleaned from ages, I book the Kokan House AC with Rs 1600 per night with some Rs. 235 as taxes. why they take service taxes when there is no service at all in the hotel. It is like check in and you are at your own. The food at the restaurant near the beach has no food quality, At the eating area we had a scary incident with a 1 meter long visitor (a king Cobra) at the eating area.

There no room service, no intercom at the rooms............pathetic service not worth your money. Instead of staying at this place it is better to stay at Diveagar and come to harihareshwar for Darshan at the Mandir (36KM from Diveagar).

Room Tip: Dont stay here
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Prabhaskar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The road was quite rough around Pen compounded with a lot of truck traffic. After Pen, the road till Mangaon is quite good. There is a road from mangaon towards Mhasla but I took the road going further down 8 km from Mangoan via Goregoan. The road is rough in parts but large stretches is quite good. The final stretch to Harihareshwar is scenic and the road is quite good as well.
Coming to the resort, facilities are basic like most other MTDC resorts; maybe slightly better than the other ones I have visited. The resort location is fantastic; the beach though is rocky and there have been some reported tragic incidents; keep away from swimming. Service and food quality in the restaurant are acceptable.
The beach in Srivardhan is much more tranquil and devoid of rocks. The roads in Srivardhan town though are extremely narrow with many one-ways.

Room Tip: Deluxe tents have a better view than the Konkani huts. That is however relative; neither of them ha...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Madhu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harihareshwar
15.6 mi away
Lotus Beach Resort
Lotus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Murud
126 reviews
21.9 mi away
Exotic Home Stay
Exotic Home Stay
#2 of 8 in Dapoli
209 reviews
9.3 mi away
Whistling Waves Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Emerald
Comfort Inn Emerald
#1 of 8 in Dapoli
107 reviews
13.1 mi away
Exotica Beach Resort - Dive Agar
0.0 mi away
Tendulkar Beach Resort
Tendulkar Beach Resort
#19 of 25 in Diveagar
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Beach Resort Harihareshwar

Address: At Post Harihareshwar, Harihareshwar 410110, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Harihareshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Harihareshwar
Price Range: £15 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Mtdc Beach Resort Harihareshwar Hotel Harihareshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing