We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
13
15
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
15
3
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We decided to visit the Lord Shiva Temple at Harihareshwar on a weekday towards the end of August 2015, so we were quite confident that we would get a room after reaching the beach and temple town on the Konkan coast. Rooms were available for the asking in any of the B&B and Inns listed on Trip Advisor. Green Gate Resort was at the top of our shortlist as it was offering aircon rooms at very reasonable rates. We just called Mrs. Jain while we were en route from Pune and asked her to keep lunch ready for us.

Green Gate Resort has a very nice ambience of a Konkani seaside cottage with a small plantation of coconut, banana, and betel nut trees. There’s a small playground for kids and sufficient parking space for about 8 to 10 cars. The Jain family, who own and manage the resort, stay in the adjoining building and have a common kitchen for themselves and their guests. We enjoyed the Maharashtrian thali dinners served up by Mrs. Jain in the separate dining area for the guests, next to her kitchen.

The aircon rooms were very comfortable. There are six rooms but the two corner rooms seemed more spacious. Power supply was erratic but they had an inverter which powered the fans and lights during short outages. Hot water for bathing was available from 7 am to 9.30 am.

The resort is located very close to the southern part of Harihareshwar beach, and the MTDC Resort. A 5 minute walk will bring you to the very beautiful and isolated beach, and I was told by the some local fishermen that one can observe dolphins from the nearby hill early in the morning, during high tides. The Shiva Temple and the northern part of the beach is about 2 km from Green Gate.

We decided to stay another night at Green Gate, and visited the beautiful beaches and temples at Shrivardhan and Diveagar the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EkMusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Had been on a trip to Harihareshwar and Shriwardhan. After browsing through the list of hotels available on travel portal came across Green Gate. Did not book it immediately and continued browsing through other options.As all others were sold out or were not too my liking opted for Green Gate as found it to be decent enough. After a long drive from Mumbai reached the resort in the evening (check in time was 11 am).As I drove through the gate noticed few families which had already checked in enjoying in the small garden. Went to the reception (actually there is no such thing as a reception, it was an area where tables and chairs were set and people could have their lunch,brkfast or dinner). The owner Mrs Jain was very courteous. We first had tea and then proceeded to our rooms. We had booked two rooms as there were 4 of us,These were AC rooms and had amenities like LCD TV, AC,attached bathroom with geyser. Outside the room was a mini garden with cocnut trees, tulsi plant, flower plants and also swings and slides for children. There is parking space for around 10 cars.In all there were 6 rooms.

The owner takes care of the entire property and has domestic help as well. Lucnh , dinner or breakfast can be had at the resort but proior intimation needs to be provided.Beware it is fully veg cuisine, Near to the resort on a 5 min walking distance is the beach and another 2 kms away is the Harihareshwar Temple.

Stay was comfortable. Enjoyed it. Only hitch was that the water through the taps is from a well.

Room Tip: All rooms are on ground floor
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TheDoctor14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

A perfect place to enjoy solitude and natural beauty in close vicinity of a clean beach. The resort is run by a doctor family who have maintained it really well. The rates are fairly economic, the resort is hardly 5 minutes drive from the Harihareshwar temple, and 2 minutes walk from the beach. Don't expect a very wide variety of food since this is unlike the usual commercial hotels or restaurants, but the home made food prepared by Mrs. Jain is simply fabulous. Even within the limited variety, guests are offered choices on what kind of food they would prefer, which is what we liked very much. The owners are very helpful and pleasant, which made us feel really comfortable.

Overall, our experience with this place was the best, and this will be my first choice if I visit Harihareshwar again!

Room Tip: If possible, try rooms 1 and 6, since these are the ones facing the beautiful garden and kids play area.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank SantoshShringarpure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Surprisingly, Google reviews having more reviews for Greengate than Tripadvisor. So, I thought to put my review here first.

Greengate a decent and economic resort at Harihareshwar managed/run by a Doctor family. This should be the second best available option in Harihareshwar after MTDC (ofcourse if you are in Maharashtra, where Govt has location privilage).

GreenGate Pros

1) Excellent home made food, freshly cooked. If you are looking for authentice and pure local food then this is the only place.
2) Decent room facilities, I didnt ask for more in the room price. All basic aminities are available.
3) Enough parking place and kids playing area.
4) Sea shore at walking distance.
5) Hospitality was at it best.
6) Little away from temple crowd/chaos/traffic.
7) On the highway.

Cons (I didnt found any) but for an information.

1) Temple around 1 km away from the resort.
2) NO non veg food, if you want, you may require to vist near by MTDC. (I had no prob as I am veggy)
3) No food a la carte menu, only fix menu (Thali in lunch/dinner) and 1-2 options from breakfast. (This is more of an info and not a con)

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PriyankBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

The stay here was nice and comfortable. Clean big rooms... Nice location... Very friendly owners... They made whatever we wanted to eat... Excellent value for money... It can't get cheaper than this... I highly recommend this place if you are at Harihareshwar...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mihir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews