We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely pampered”
Review of Orquidea del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Completely pampered”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I plus our two daughters and their fiances went to Orquidea for three nights 2014 New Years and couldn't have picked a more beautiful and relaxing place. Robert, Joanna and the whole staff make you feel very special and cannot do enough to make your stay absolutely perfect. Their attention to detail is truly amazing. We enjoyed the pool, the beach and the unbelievably lush gardens - everything about this place is perfect. Go there ....

Room Tip: Every room is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian8231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parry Sound, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Immaculately kept, delicious food, friendly and accommodating staff, spectacular views, and we couldn't have asked for more. Robert was so welcoming and helpful. The surfing at Playa Yankee was some of the best we've found. A week to relive sometime soon. Thank you Robert for creating such a perfect paradise to unwind and surf.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Robert made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The location is magical overlooking the pacific ocean from the front deck and a stunning location to watch the sunset over the ocean with a drink in your hand. We had an amazing time. Would reccomend this incredible place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDonegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at Orquidea del Sur for 3 nights and couldn't have asked for a better place to relax and recharge our batteries. The place itself has very well maintained grounds with beautiful plants and has fantastic views over Playa Yankee (it's a 10min walk down the hill to the beach) and is located about 20min from San Juan.
The hosts Robert and Joanne went above and beyond to accommodate our every need and their staff were incredibly courteous and sweet. Thank you for a truly amazing stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ithaca2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 7 days over the holiday season and we loved it. Robert and Joanne were great and extremely accommodating hosts. They even had a gift for our 3 year old daughter under the tree on Christmas morning. Their staff is phenomenal, so kind and welcoming. They took our daughter under their wing and she had a blast. We had such holiday brains when we left that we forgot to check all the drawers in our room and we left much of our daughter's clothing there! As soon as the cleaning staff saw this they let Robert know. He sent someone on a motorbike with her clothing and met us en route to the Costa Rican border. AMAZING! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstenN256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Orquidea del Sur is located about a 20 minute car ride south of San Juan del Sur. The owners have a driver who can pick you up from town at no cost.

My girlfriend put me in charge of our accommodations for our trip to Nicaragua and I was incredibly proud (and kind of smug) when I sent her the link to their website and her jaw dropped. The pictures were so beautiful I just knew we had to stay there for a few days.

Little did we know that the pictures fall utterly short of conveying the beauty of this property. When you walk through the front gate and get to look out over the infinity pool into the Pacific ocean both of our jaws dropped and we just said "wwwwwoooooooowwwww" for a solid 5 seconds. The beauty of this property cannot be overstated.

Regarding our stay, the rooms are incredibly nice and better than anything else I've seen in Nicaragua. It's obvious a lot of money and care went into the planning and construction of this place. The bathrooms are out-of-control-gorgeous. Huge and spacious and incredibly romantic. We definitely spent a lot of time in there. The pool is stunning. It just is. There's no other way to really describe it.

The service is fantastic. I really like the fact that Robert and Joanna have hired a lot of local young men and women to come work on the property (it seems like a small army sometimes, they must have 20 staff for 5 rooms) It shows they really want to put something back into the community.

If you want a nice, relaxing and private day trip then go to Playa Yankee. Be aware that there is essentially nothing there except the beach.

For a more "fun" time you can go to Playa Hermosa which is a much bigger beach with more people and more amenities. There are surfing lessons and hammocks and huts for shade and a bar and restaurant.

Things to know about Orquidea that may not be immediately apparent when booking (and these are not criticisms):

1) Food is not included in the cost of your booking. Having said that, the food is excellent and breakfast is brought to your little balcony and is waiting for you when you wake up. Dinner essentially works as a flat price for a plate. It's $17USD per dinner plate and you just tell them when you want on that plate. We had steak & lobster the first night and fish & lobster the second night. Exceptionally well prepared.

2) WiFi doesn't reach inside the rooms as the walls are all concrete

3) You will have no other food options anywhere close by except for the aforementioned Playa Hermosa or going back into San Juan del Sur. This place is *very* remote - and frankly that's a large part of its undeniable charm.

4) Your jaw WILL hit the floor when you first walk on the property.

5) Brush up on your Spanish a little bit, the staff are locals and while they are genuinely helpful, attentive and very warm, the language barrier is obvious. In my opinion that's something you should expect for a truly exciting and authentic vacation but just keep it in mind.

Robert and Joanna were very gracious and hospitable Canadians (ok I'm Canadian so I'm probably biased) and my girlfriend and I plan on coming back to Nicaragua in a year or two and will definitely be making another stop at Orquidea.

Thank you Robert and Joanna! Sorry for accidentally bringing our room key all the way into San Juan del Sur when we checked out!

-Michael and Esi

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esoteric604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A wonderful place in the middle of beautiful plants to recharge the batteries, switching off from everyday life. The rooms are very nice and comfortable and every morning coffee or tea is served to your perch.
The cuisine is excellent, you can choose if you like to stay for lunch and supper and your food desire will be fulfilled.
Robert and Joanna are very cordial host, their driver Luis very charming; the whole crew is so kind and obliging in a familiar atmosphere.
You can just relax but also be active. You'll reach the beach within a 10 minutes walk. Enjoy beautiful sunsets or make an excursion, transport will be arranged.
I hope I can visit this oasis once more! Many thanks to Robert and Joanna and their Team.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#7 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
6.9 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 58 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Property: Orquidea del Sur
Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing