We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best self catering house we have rented - just...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jent3664
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best self catering house we have rented - just excellent!”
Reviewed 20 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We rented this house for the weekend for our friend's wedding - they got married at Alloway church / Brig a doon which is just around the corner from this house. The owner Shirley was brilliant - she let us come round to view the house before the wedding and looked after us so well while we were there. Shirley accommodated an early arrival on the Friday and also brought us home made bread - amazing!

The house is totally kitted out with robes, slippers, towels, all kitchen appliances, soap, shampoo ect - it's just like a private 5 star hotel! There is also a great garden area and a BBQ, we hosted a post-wedding BBQ on the Saturday - the wedding party loved it, it's a great house for a social gathering! There are also kids toys at the house which went down well with our friends who had children.

Everyone loved the house and we are definitely going to go back. I would highly recommend renting this house, it's great value for money and would win over any hotel hands down!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The amazing kitchen space and the free wifi
Liked least: No negatives
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
I'm so glad that you all had a wonderful stay. You were all a great bunch and full of fun. Thank you for the great review and I look forward to seeing you again in the future. It was a pleasure.

Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything was just perfect, perhaps the finishing touches
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for this great review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay at Alloway Retreat. I knew that this was a special Christmas for you all and I'm glad that I was able to help fulfill this. Hope to see you all again soon.

Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HettiSimp...
South Creake, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully done, like a five star hotel suite - only better!”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I own a holiday cottage agency in Norfolk with a portfolio of 200 cottages and am very very impressed with Alloway Retreat. The booking process was handled in a friendly and efficient manner by the owner, Shirley Brown, who is a charming lady with great taste.
She has put a huge amount of effort making Alloway Retreat a very special place to stay. We are just leaving after a half term holiday with my two small children aged 3 & 6 and our niece aged 11 and whilst the Ayrshire weather has not been too kind (it is late October after all) we have had a very memorable holiday, in no small part down to the lovely accommodation. Shirley has tried to think of everything, right down to providing a box of toys and a proper cot (should you need it). The house feels large for a three bed, the kitchen is fantastic and with two sitting rooms, the children can watch TV in one and we can relax with a glass of something delicious in the other. We walked to the stunning Ayr coastline in a few minutes and there is tonnes to do within a ten minute drive.
We have family living up here and had them all round for a big supper, everyone wanted to move in!
Needless to say we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall design and furnishings - felt like a five star hotel suite
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for you're kind words. I'm so glad that you and your family had lovely stay. It would be a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us again. Just let me know.

Kindest regards

Shirley Brown
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
m1pel
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“absolutly fantastic”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My wife and four children had a wonderful week in this beautiful house. Apart from the fact it was close to amenities and the beach, the house was the best equiped and most comfortable holiday home we have ever used. We would recommend very highly. We all look forward to visiting this wonderful house again.

Mike and Sue

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2012
It was a pleasure having you and your family stay and getting to know you all, you are all very welcome to come visit again. Thank you too for your kind words in your review and in the guest book.

Kindest regards

Shirley Brown
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing