We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The house was perfect and so was the location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Destinati...
1 review
“The house was perfect and so was the location.”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The location of the house was perfect for our party. It is 5 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes to a lovely restaurant bar .The house was very well equipped especially in the kitchen.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for this great review! It was a pleasure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house was well stock clean and very comfortable
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you for taking the time to do this great review! I'm so glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that Alloway Retreat catered for all your needs. It was a pleasure having you.
Kindest regards
Shirley xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cr61gyt
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“5* Accommodation in a lovely area”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fantastic property kept to an impeccably high standard. From the warm welcome with freshly baked loaf to the neatly presented towels and robes, this really is a 5* property. Local amenities are just a short walk away with the beach not much further, if the weather permits. Sitting enjoying the sun in the garden or relaxing in the comforts of indoors, Alloway Retreat gives you a real feeling of home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2016
Thank you for this wonderful review and for choosing Alloway Retreat for your stay! It was a pleasure! Hope to see you all again sometime in the near future!
Kindest regards
Shirley xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious and spotless in an ideal location”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family stayed for 2 nights at Alloway Retreat for our niece's wedding at the Brig o Doon. What a wonderful surprise on arrival when Shirley greeted us with warm homemade bread and had left wine, chocolates and more for us during our stay.
The furnishings were of the highest standard and every amenity catered for. It was so comfortable that we would have liked to stay much longer. Excellent value for money and we hope to be back at some future date.
We would highly recommend this beautiful accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Thank you so much for this fabulous review! It would be a pleasure to have you all back sometime in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robertQ36...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class from the moment we arrived!”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

From the moment we were greeted by Shirley (owner) to the day we left we all absolutely loved our time at the Alloway Retreat!
Shirley had baked bread and left some wine and other provisions and it was such a classy touch. My grandson loved the smell of the house (think the freshly baked bread got him!)
The quality throughout the home was fantastic, and the robes and slippers in each room was another classy touch.
Quality of furnishings and fittings was top quality and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this to anyone who is looking for a bit of quality in Burn's country.
Would definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality throughout the home was fantastic, and there was plenty of room for adults and kids
Liked least: Couldn't find a fault with any aspect of our stay - would only be bettered if they could control the weather!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
Thank you so much for this fantastic review! I'm so delighted that you all enjoyed you're stay and it would be a pleasure to have you all back some day soon. Thank you again and hope to see you all soon. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C
elgin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Five Stars for Five Star Accommodation”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

By far the best equipped and most luxurious place we have stayed. Everything you could wish for and more is provided to a high standard and it was like a home from home. The kitchen in particular is superb. Oh and the bed in the master bedroom is so comfortable. Call shotgun on that when you arrive!

The proprietors are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Communications and arrangements in the run up to the holiday were spot on too.

Overall, this is a great base for exploring Ayr and the surrounding area. From children to grandparents, we all had a great time. It exceeded expectations and easily rates 5+ stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxurious standard of the accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this wonderful review! I'm glad that you all enjoyed your stay and hope that you may someday return. It was a pleasure to meet you all. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curlyshir...
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful luxurious Bungalow.”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I booked this house for my daughter's wedding day preparations and last night with family as she now lives in Scotland and had decided to marry there instead of Lancashire. It was everything anyone would have wanted for their daughter to depart from on her wedding day. The proprietor was on hand and very helpful with checking in/out times which really helped us, also, she very kindly provided some wine and goodies along with a congrats card which was a nice touch. The house itself is very well appointed, thankfully lots of bathrooms, in fact, we could have moved in there and then! It has everything anyone could want and more, I cannot recommend it highly enough. It is very central for anyone visiting the area, Burns fans, golf fans, racing fans, close to Ayr and Brig 'o Doon wedding venues, not far from Culzean Castle. Thank-you so much for helping to make our daughter's wedding day so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your fabulous review of your stay, here at Alloway Retreat! Your daughter was a beautiful bride and I'm pleased that Alloway Retreat helped make her day and wedding preparations get off to a good start. It was lovely meeting you all and an honour to have your daughter leave for her special day from Alloway Retreat. Hope to meet you all again sometime in the future. Take care and thank you again for choosing us.
Kindest regards
Shirley xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing