We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day excursion from BA.”
Review of Barco Bruma

Barco Bruma
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bruma is a typical wooden boat which used to carry timber from the islands. We refurbished it to do private tours for 2 up to 25 pax. Bruma has a large roofed area on the stern for 8 pax seated. There is a comfortable solarium area. We offer barbeque lunch or dinner on board with Argentine typical specialties and a Malbec to top it all. Run by its owners.
Oakland, California, United States
2 reviews
“Wonderful day excursion from BA.”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a really special, relaxed way to spend a day in the Delta. We called the day before and got lucky, and Chuck picked us up at the train station in Tigre and took us to the docks, where his beautiful old school boat the Bruma was. We spent the whole day on the private boat, cruising through the gorgeous delta, with Chuck and his assistant/chef. They gave us wine and snacks, and then grilled a perfect steak off of the side of the boat for a beautiful lunch. We read, sunbathed, anchored and swam, and just had a super relaxing day. Chuck is very funny and attentive. It was $150 USD per person, and felt totally worth it to us.

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vamosviendo, Propietario at Barco Bruma, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
We are very happy that you enjoyed your private outing with us on Bruma. It was a pleasure to have you both on board!
Chuck and Rosana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Buena Onda!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have been quite a few times with varios groups of people. Always fun and chuck and his first mate are great!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank candiclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vamosviendo, Owner at Barco Bruma, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Candice we are happy you chose us to celebrate. Always a pleasure to have you on board Bruma!
Rosana Martelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great day on the Delta”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

An interesting day trip while in Buenos Aires. A very relaxing day cruising along the many canals of the Delta. A day exposed to nature is a great way to spend the day. The Bruma is large and comfortable. Great service.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TMM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Do not miss it!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

You do not leave Paris without seeing the Eiffel Tower .... You cannot leave Buenos Aires without seeing the fabulous estuary of Rio de la Plata!
This was a private cruise composed of 13 friends of all nationalities.
When we discovered the boat, we all got in a good mood and joy lasted all day.
What a good idea to discover Buenos Aires delta aboard a true and authentic riverboat fully restored by Carlos (The Captain ) ! ! . Listen the melody of the brand new slow motion engine and quietly navigate through the beautiful DELTA of Rio de la Plata.
Carlos and his crew (the cook and his assistant) were waiting us at 11:30 sharp aboard of his "Chata" (Delta typical boat), he explained intended trip through streams and settled perfectly to our wishes. We were treated like in a 5 stars, welcoming us on board with a rich aperitif with all kinds of drinks (wine, beer, soda, coffee, tea, water) all included in the price of the arrangement. We anchored near a quiet coast for a delicious barbecue on board (The best filete argentino… do not miss!!) followed by a homemade dessert (arrollado de "dulce de leche"… nothing left…), and coffee, also included in price of arrangement. Carlos offers a standard menu but also will fix (as in our case) a personal meal at no extra charge. I advise doing this fantastic cruise on a weekday to take advantage of quiet site and natural landscapes.
Surely be back next year with much enthusiasm.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A Day in the Delta”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

If you are want to spend a lazy day escaping from all the hustle and bustle of BA, this is the trip. With no pre-planned iten we spent 5 wonderful hours (or so) winding our way down the various tribuataries of the Delta, simply taking in the views, nature and gliding past the homes and the way of life for the people that live in this area. We were a small group of 6 with the Bruma to ourselves. The boat seemingly from a bygone ear, has been full-restored, large, comfortable and fit perfectly with laid-back atmosphere of the delta. Cooked from a small grill off the side of the boat, lunch included BBQ steak , peppers, additional sides and copious amounts of an incredible Malbec. It was truly relaxing, and none of us really wanted to leave the peacefulness of the afternoon.. Practicalities: We were staying in Downtown BA and this is about 30KM (20miles) outside of town- they arranged transportation for us to and from the pier, most helpful. Having the boat to ourselves was such a treat and cost us $125USD per person - but well worth it for the length of the trip and a wonderful meal I'd do this again..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terrill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barco Bruma also viewed

San Fernando, Province of Buenos Aires
San Fernando, Province of Buenos Aires
 
San Fernando, Province of Buenos Aires
Tigre, Province of Buenos Aires
 

Been to Barco Bruma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing