We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Badger”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Foxt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rock House Farm Holiday Cottages
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Badger”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Excellent accommodation! Beautifully converted stable building on lovely farm complex! Whole complex is maintained and presented to a high standard. Accommodation is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Carol and Ken have ensured that the guests are provided with the highest level of service whilst maintaining a welcoming, homely feel. A credit to the hard work they put in to their business is the many positive reviews that they receive!
I can highly recommend this accommodation and would say that it is the best self catering cottage we have had the pleasure of staying in!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week in the Rock House Farm Cottages. where to start? These cottages are beautiful inside and out! Very clean and extremely comfortable. The owner Carol couldn't have been more helpful! The cottages were well equipped! This woman has thought of everything! I could have left half the stuff I packed at home If I had of known! Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, hair dryer etc. she couldn't have made it any better for couples staying with kids! Their rooms had boxes of toys under the beds, a large play area at the back of the house with a trampoline, swings, and large box of out door toys! They weren't board once!! A great selection of videos for the evening for when they were winding down after a hard days play! She even had rubber duckies for bath time!! There are tables and chairs outside each house to which the adults took great advantage of, sitting out in the evenings having a few relaxing drinks and as these were just outside the house knowing that the kids were safe just a couple of feet away we were able to really relax. The kitchens had all the cooking materials you would have in your own cupboards at home! You could cook a family meal and not be stuck for anything, she even had cook books if you fancied trying something different and when we arrived she had fresh bread, milk, butter tea coffee all waiting on us. Such a nice touch! There is not one bad thing I could say about these cottages! They were simply amazing! Carol is doing a great job and obviously works very hard to keep them at such high standards. I would highly recommend them. We will definitely be returning! Ciara xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyboobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed in Badger Cottage as a 'last minute booking' to attend the Alton Towers Live music event. It was a little further away from Alton Towers than I would normally consider staying, but I am SO glad I did.

The cottage was immaculate - superbly appointed and well deserving of its 4* status. Everything you could think of was provided, along with a welcome pack for the first night.

The host Carol (and not forgetting Max the dog!) was lovely, so welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Its this type of attitude and service that makes you want to return.

And to top it all, the weather was lovely. This meant that we got the very best from the cottage's exquisite location both days - glorious views, breathtaking sunsets, and perfect peace and tranquility.

What more could you want?

Oh yes - and the concert wasn't bad either!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dea49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We've stayed at Rock House Farm in spring 2011 and 2012 and just returned from our third visit in April 2013.
The cottages are beautiful and deserve their 4* rating in every way, but it's the owners (and their dog Max) that really make this set of cottages great to stay at - Carol goes out of her way to make us feel welcome and help us enjoy our stay, with a lovely welcome pack, access to their lovely garden (including swings, toys and a trampoline for the kids) and help and advice about the local area too.

Forget staying at the Alton Towers hotels - stay here instead!

Room Tip: "Badger" cottage is great for 2 families with kids - three bedrooms (2x double, 1 twin), o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting Alton Towers. We stayed in Badger Cottage which was lovely, with a real home from home feeling. Very clean and cosy with plenty room for all of us (6 Adults) Everything you needed was provided including a welcome pack of bread, tea, coffee, sugar and milk. Owners (and Max the dog) very friendly and helpful, Carol even offering to change our dates due to the heavy snow they'd had (great fun for sledging, snowball fights!) Foxt is a lovely peaceful location with very friendly locals. Would recommend The Fox and Goose (2min walk) for good food at a decent price. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Smith-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We booked a short break in one of the cottages so that we could visit Alton Towers for my eldest daughter's birthday. The cottages were excellent value and were beautifully decorated, very clean, cosy and welcoming. The owners and their lovely dog were very friendly and helpful, always around and about but not "in your face". Alton Towers was a short journey away and there are plenty of lovely local pubs and places to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolocomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at Rock House Farm in Dormouse cottage and have to say it was brilliant. The cottage was immaculate and everything was there that we needed even a play area at the back of the cottages for our youngest (although I think he preferred playing with Max the dog).

Very peaceful setting as well which was just what we needed after spending 2 very hectic days at Alton Towers.

Would definately recommend the cottages as a base for exploring the area. We will definately be back - maybe just the two of us this time as it is a perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxt
0.0 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Cloud House Holidays
Secret Cloud House Holidays
#1 of 2 in Cauldon Low
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shawgate Farm Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock House Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock House Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Rock House Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Rock House Farm Holiday Cottages, Foxt ST10 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Foxt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Foxt
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three beautifully converted and tastefully decorated stone barns with original oak beams set in over an acre of grounds in the picturesque and quiet village of Foxt. Recently renovated and beautifully furnished, these 4 star self catering cottages provide all the comforts of home and modern conveniences you would expect and more. Located in the Staffordshire Moorlands on the edge of the Peak District, and only ten minutes from Alton Towers, Rock House Farm provides the perfect base for sightseeing, walking, cycling and mountain biking, caving, fishing, rock climbing, hang gliding, canoeing, a family getaway from the stresses and strains of everyday life or just to come and enjoy our spectacular sunsets! On arrival, you are welcomed personally by the owners, who include a generous welcome pack including bread, milk, tea, coffee and sugar. Each cottage features a fully-fitted kitchen, and there’s a local pub only a two minute walk away. There is a large private car park, a substantial play area (including trampoline and swings) for kids young and old, and barbeque area. Young children are always welcome, high chair, booster seat and three sizes of cot are available on request. Badger Cottage sleeps six, Dormouse sleeps five and Hedgehog sleeps four. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rock House Farm Holiday Cottages Foxt, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing