We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly & Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shawgate Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Foxt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed following a trip to Alton Towers. NIna was welcoming and friendly. Advised us on local places to eat. Beautiful views from the house.Breakfast was delicious too. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

We booked Shawgate due its central UK location - a pre-Christmas family get-together where we were all travelling from different parts of the UK. It was so much better than expected (the Shawgate website does not do it justice) and was perfect for such a gathering. There are just 5 bedrooms - all a good size and able to sleep various combinations of family/couples. We booked 4 rooms and they were all perfectly clean, spacious, well equipped and warm. The decor will not be to everyone's taste, but is fine. The owners Nina and husband could not have done anymore to make our stay enjoyable - from booking us into the local pub for a delicious meal, through to letting us use the communal bar area for family games (and use of pool table). Plus the cooked breakfast was yummy. All in all we thoroughly recommend Shawgate and we hope to go back there again for our next family gathering. Thanks.

Room Tip: There is a 4-poster room, plus various family rooms to sleep up to 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McSpoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A lovely, small and quiet B&B - exactly what is needed after a very hectic, long day at Alton Towers (not to mention the drive from Scotland!)

Nina was a fantastic host, checked us in to our room straight away and advised us of nearby places to eat and things to do!

The room was bright, warm and comfortable and really clean and tidy!

Alton Towers was a very short 5-10 minute drive away and there was absolutely no traffic.

The local pub in Foxt was lovely, everyone was chatty and friendly and the food was very good value for money and HUGE portions!

Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: We paid an extra £10 for a four-poster room! Totally worth it! What a luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_QueenB_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here in July and it was fab great welcome and overall five star off Jill and ken. Returned on 20/10/12 and again a great welcome off the new owners James and nina. We just love the whole feel of the area and shawgate we will defo be back. Nina was great when I needed some advice and sourced the info I needed all round five stars from us family of five who love bedroom 2 thanks u 2 xx

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meggy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Stayed last night at Shawgate farm with my partner after a day at Alton Towers. The drive from the park was easy and we found it easily too, it only took about 10 mins. Our greeting from Nina was warm and friendly and our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Very quiet at night which made for a very good nights sleep.

The breakfast was also very good, a well stocked dining room left us wanting for nothing and the Full English was well cooked and very tasty. The next time we visit the area we will definitely be staying here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed here for one night in a party of eight, found Shawcross Farm to be very welcoming, comfortable & relaxed. New owners are now in charge, nothing is too much trouble/effort, Breakfast was first class. All our party would recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milnesy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Finding rooms big enough to take our large family can be a challenge and at Shawgate all 6 of us were able to have a proper bed in the 1 room! RESULT! Very happy and friendly hosts and an excellent stay all round. Very happy :) Would definitely stay again (and this time would not be so worried we had taken a wrong turn down a narrow lane). Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Shawgate Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawgate Farm Guest House

Address: Shay Lane, Foxt ST10 2HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Foxt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foxt
Price Range: £75 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shawgate Farm Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shawgate Farm is a rural B&B located in North Staffordshire with fantastic views overlooking the picturesque Churnet Valley. Located on the edge of the Peak District and close to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shawgate Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawgate Farm Guest House Foxt, Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing