We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Pooley Bridge, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Madgeyfad...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home”
Reviewed 3 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Decided to do the weekend away instead of Christmas gifts, was the best idea ever, there where 8 of us 3 couples and 2 teenagers, loads of room, very well equipped. It was in the middle of Poole Bridge. Did not get to use the table tennis in garden as a little early in the year but great idea for kids. Garden was great size and just a wee shout out to the nieghbours they where very welcoming. Very clean and warm, plenty of room for all. The village is beautiful and has lovely eateries as well as watering holes. Would defenitly go back. My only gripe would be no hand soap or washing up liquid left to use, this would be a nice touch. On picking up the keys told no one in after our departure so could take time when leaving, told if any changes would call and let us know. So it was a bit of a rush when call to say cleaners need in, we where almost ready but a bit is a rush at the end. There is no Wifi lots of people think this is a negiative I found it fab, they are having this installed soon, me I would prefer not to have it but I a dinosaur. All in a a fabulous weekend great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Elder Howe, Pooley Bridge. We are delighted you had a fabulous weekend - what a great idea instead of Christmas gifts! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippalil0...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very spacious”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a very spacious house on the edge of the village. Super location as very quiet but only a few minutes walk to village centre. The house comfortably accommodates 10 people with a huge lounge and separate dining room to seat 10 comfortably. The kitchen was well equipped and the utility with washer dryer and downstairs toilet were very useful. The teenagers enjoyed the air hockey in the garage but the tabletennis table was broken.
The downside to the big lounge was the tv could only be watched easily by half the group and there was only the one tv. The lighting is not very bright and as I have not good sight I found reading near impossible. This may just be my problem.
When we arrived Friday teatime the house was really cold and the heating was not working. We phoned the office and somebody came within the hour and fixed it but it took most of that night to warm the house. Once it was warm and with the woodburner the house is lovely and cosy.
The garden was spacious and in summer would be lovely to play or barbecue and it is very private.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Small niggles- extractor in ensuite did not work and missing light bulb in lounge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Elder Howe, Pooley Bridge. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the location of the house ideal. The property is owner managed and I shall pass on your comments to the owner.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kestrow
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not Luxury”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The house itself was very much as described but the attention to detail was sadly missing. First of all as the weather was beautiful and sunny we would have liked to take advantage of sitting out in the garden BUT alas no garden chairs in which to relax. Secondly there was just ONE dishcloth, ONE tea towel and no washing up liquid. Surely, basic necessities should be provided in a LUXURY house! The cupboards were totally bare, no salt, no pepper. Again, I would have expected previous tenants would have left items such as this so late in the season. So who took them? We were NOT camping! We were told about the no towel policy and consequently took our own. The management should say AND NOTHING else is provided
The next problem which we were unable to report because of the queues of people in reception at the end of our stay was the faulty smoke alarms which first woke us up at 2.00 am on our last night.. They went off intermittently for about 40 minutes and then again at breakfast the next morning. There was no smoke at all. None of us smoke and we were at a loss to understand the reason. This report is just to advise the management to check for faults. We would not blame anyone unless of course other people have reported it earlier!

Finally, we decided to play the ice hockey game in the garage only to find that there was no puck!!!

None of these things spoiled the overall holiday, the beds were very comfortable, the cooking utensils and pots and pans were fine.
I started this report by about the lack of attention to basic, cheap, necessities. If these were attended to then this place could certainly start to call the house as "Luxury" BUT not at the moment

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Elder Howe, Pooley Bridge. We are sorry to read that despite the house being as described you were disappointed with some aspects of it. The property is owner managed and we shall pass on your comments to the owner. The house, as you say, offers self catering which is why no salt, pepper or indeed any other food is allowed to be left in the property. As you are aware there is an emergency number provided on your booking documents which you could have used to inform us of the smoke alarm issue. Nevertheless we are delighted to hear that none of these things spoiled your holiday and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, big and perfect for a big family holiday!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here for May half term as a big family. We collected the keys from the park reception about 5 minutes away from the house (which is an amazing bonus to have access to all the fun facilities there... thoroughly recommend the tennis court!!) The staff were friendly and very helpful. We had Tesco deliver a food shop which went to reception at the park who helpfully directed the driver to the property.
The property itself is pretty huge, there were two adults and five children ranging from 15 years to 10 years in our party and all had lots of space to play or hang out. Outside in the outhouse is an air hockey table and a table tennis table, the garden was big enough to play football in (and the neighbours were very understanding and kind when the ball kept going over)
The property has a washing machine, dishwasher, cooker and microwave which made flying in and out after days out really easy (and we actually have no post holiday washing thanks to beautiful weather and a washing line!)
One thing the children struggled with was the lack of wifi. The property is adverstised as having that and with three teenagers at points going cold turkey was very fun to watch :) however after the initial shock and local hotspots there was far too many other fun things to do in the area.
We can thoroughly recommend Ullswater steamers (10 minute walk from the property) also the circular walk in Pooley bridge is beautiful and serves as a taster to walking in the lake district with some hills and amazing views. We also recommend Aira force (15 minute winding drive) a beautiful water fall walk. Take a towel and have a paddle!
We would definitely return to this place, the photos of the house give a good idea but don't do it justice. You won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Good morning

Thank you for your review following your stay at Elder Howe. We are delighted that the property was perfect for your family holiday and offered everything you needed and more! It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy all that there is to do in the area and with sunshine too! We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAC590113
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“wow”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Elder howe No fuss picking keys up. The property was perfect for a large group plenty of parking for 5 cars. The location was excellent the three pubs in pooley bridge were very good. Best thing I like about Elder howe the easy access to many golf Clubs in the area.The least thing the group did not like was no WI--FI

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Elder howe
Liked least: No wi-fi
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Elder Howe, Pooley Bridge. We are delighted that you found the property perfect and the location excellent. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants.
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform us or your feedback of your stay at Elder Howe, Pooley Bridge.

Thank you for recommending Elder Howe to others!

We are delighted you found the property spacious, well appointed and enjoyed the location.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Elder Howe soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nottingham
Reviewed 19 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Dec 2013
Thank you for feedback of your stay at Elder Howe, Pooley Bridge.

We are delighted you couldn't fault the accommodation and there was plenty of space for your party of ten.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Elder Howe or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property very soon.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing