We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pooley Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I booked a 2 night stay with dinner bed and breakfast on both days for our up and coming wedding anniversary.
our Room, Pinky, had a view to die for. can you imagine lying on such a huge bed and looking out over our balcony to the view of Ullswater and fells in the distance, Stunning!

On the Saturday evening the staff were attentive and very professional. the menu showed enough of a variety to suit a piscaterien. the food was very well presented and well cooked. No faults here.
Sundays Breakfast again couldn't be faulted.

Sunday evening, however was a different story. We were disappointed to find that the menu was the same as the previous evening, shame, but luckily there was enough choice for us to choose different dishes form the previous evening. Again I cannot fault the food. service lacked direction, no Maitre d to direct the waiters!
I arranged with the sommelier to match each course with a wine of his choice, no faults here! sadly after the wine was delivered to our table that was the last we saw of him. No expert advice on a sweet wine nor was there for a after dinner Port although the waitress did offer her advice.

would we stay again? yes i think we would but I have sent a email to the Hotel raising my concerns and have received a pleasing reply.

One other criticism, the widows need cleaning and ridding of spider webs!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view like ours ask for a room with a view. we stayed in Pinky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hi, our visit was a great trip back to respect, fine dining and great staff, on arrival we were asked we needed help with cases, we stayed in the cottage, a lovely warm relaxed home from home, very clean and excellent rooms. The view was amazing. The food was good if a little frugal, cannot fault the staff, all in all a great experience, wonderful gardens and great views. Would recommend this experience.

Room Tip: The cottage was cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vickilancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Sharrow Bay. Your feedback will of course be passed on to all members of staff at the hotel who take great pride in working for the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Afternoon tea was splendid - fresh, varied and plenty. Service could be more attentive and windows to spectacular views could be cleaner. Limited toilet facilities and if I were john major I would object to having my photo hung in the gents. Outside stairs should have handrails.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed afternoon tea with us at Sharrow Bay. We will of course take your views on-board as we feel it is always important to listen to our customers. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Only had lunch and did not stay overnight. The hotel has a wonderful location and the public rooms are fine - perhaps too much on the walls! Food quality was very good - not sure if the restaurant has a Michelin * but in my view there was insufficient complexity or originality in the lunch menu to justify one. The hotel is quite tight on space and we got the impression at lunchtime that with the offering of morning coffee, lunch, afternoon tea and then dinner - with non- residents filling up space - that the service operation was running on absolute maximum. Probably best to visit out of season.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Kirkmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that Sharrow Bay did not live up to your expectations on this occasion and would always want to provide all guest with the best level of service. Should you wish to discuss your review further please do not hesitate to contact me at info@sharrowbay.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have visited this hotel for 35 years and remember well Brian and Francis who were always available to meet and greet guests. Andrew Davies has worked wonders with the refurbishment and the food is excellent still served by Juan and Mark. However since the new manager was appointed we have visited at least on ten occasions and he was never to be seen! Gone is the charming Nico and a new restaurant manager is in place...unfortunately not dressed in Sharrow style......bare underarms and flat shoes and no panache! But it's saving grace is the trusty, attractive, attentive Miss Enid . Always there to meet and greet each visitor by name and always on hand to give that real personal touch. A hotel like this needs continuation with its staff and she provides just this. Visit Sharrow and she will provide the welcome that the Manager and non existent deputy just can't provide!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake.....stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank 75Foody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have done lots of afternoon tea sessions in London 5 star hotels . Can't beat the location / views of Sharrow Bay however was disappointed by the service we had to ask fir anything and go off to find someone to ask at that service was not as attentive as I would expect . Limited sandwiches and when I asked for more was meet with an obvious hesitant waitress ... Cake selection could be improved . Toasted tea cakes nice touch . Lovely walk around the gardens and by the lake afterwards . Would I do it again ? Probs not will still to the London options offered for afternoon tea

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are disappointed to hear that the Sharrow Bay's Afternoon Tea did not live up to your expectations and should you wish to discuss your review further please do not hesitate to contact us at info@sharrowbay.co.uk. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at Sharrow Bay for three nights on the way north from London to Edinburgh. Apparently this country hotel peaked in the 1980's. Some effort has been taken to restore it. The room we stayed in had been recently renovated (a few years?). It was quite large, but somewhat overstuffed with furniture. The bath was an odd mixture of finishes -- gold tone faucets at the sinks and tub, but cheap porcelain tile in the floor.

Around the hotel, there are a number of framed letters and notices commemorating the visits (many years ago) of various celebs. Perhaps this is an attraction for some visitors: Mr. & Mrs. XYZ slept here. This seemed to us like a sort of dreary nostalgia: too bad you weren't here 30 years ago, when it was really great.

We had three breakfasts (included) and two dinners at the restaurant. There was much fuss about the cuisine, but by today's standards it was not unusual, especially at £100+ apiece. There were also some odd affectations. For example, at dinner, you are led into a parlor where you are offered drinks and a menu. Your dinner order is taken in the parlor and then you are seated in the main dining room. Quirkiness masquerading as pomp? Still, on both nights, we were seated in front of the window and the view over the lake was very nice.

The staff in the hotel and the restaurant could not be nicer or more helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are convenient to the restaurant in the event of bad weather. There are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LandALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver S, General Manager at Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Many thanks for your review. We do hope that you enjoyed your visit to Sharrow Bay and will of course take your comments on-board. We are pleased to hear that the level of service has met your expectations and sad to hear that others have not, should you wish to discuss your review further please do not hesitate to contact us at info@sharrowbay.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
5.2 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
14.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel

Address: Howtown Road | Lake Ullswater, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: £173 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sharrow Bay is unique; the epitome of English country living in an unrivalled location surrounded by snow-topped mountains and fells, right on the shores of Lake Ullswater, widely regarded as the most beautiful lake in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharrow Bay Country Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country Penrith
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel Pooley Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing