We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Granny Dowbekin's

Granny Dowbekin's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Granny Dowbekin's is a traditional English tearoom and tea garden at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. Breakfast, main meals and homemade cakes and scones are served all day. We always offer a selection of vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free options as part of the menu as well as smaller portions for children and those with smaller appetites. For our full menu and prices please have a look at our website. We welcome walkers, cyclists and well behaved dogs. Bookings for groups of up to 40 persons are welcome. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed to serve alcohol from 12pm when accompanied by food. Free wifi is available.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Myself and my partner visited here on a holiday in the lakes. We had an afternoon off from walking and found this beautiful tearoom with wonderful friendly staff. We sat in the garden which has lovely views of the river and bridge, and has enough tress and plants to block a lot of the road traffic. We had the afternoon tea which was amazing! Choice of sandwiches and cake from the entire menu, not just set ones. There was enough to satisfy one sweet tooth and one giant appetite! We visit the lake district frequently and will make sure this place is on our list on every visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks so much for sharing about your good time. You're right the Afternoon Tea for Two is tremendous value as it saves over £4 if the items were purchased separately.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    182
    31
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Tea Garden”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited the tea garden with my husband and 2 children (5,1). Getting a pram around in the Lake District can be very tricky but the Tea Garden entrance is on a flat and there is a ramp down into the garden.
We had cream tea and dairy free carrot cake which was great as my son could try it as he has a dairy allergy.
All in all a lovely place and would recommend it to friends.

Helpful?
Thank Beebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We are delighted you had a good time with us. I'm pleased you could get your pram in, prams and wheelchairs can also access inside without steps by the rear entrance.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent tearooms”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a lovely place, in a great location, with wonderful friendly staff serving great food. Can't wait to go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northwesterner197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, we really appreciate you taking time out to write it.
Best wishes
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Stick to lunches”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Dinner was awful they should stick to bring a tearoom. Poor quality tough food , avoid! Burnt chips, and reheated beef in jacket potato, lasagne looked like supermarket food.


  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mackeyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I'm really disappointed that we didn't do justice to our normal standards with you. I wish you'd given me the opportunity to make amends with you as I remember your order and serving you.
Our Lasagne is cooked from scratch. Our Roast beef is slow cooked for 5 hours to tenderise it but it wasn't right for you. If you contact me through the messaging system I would appreciate the opportunity to resolve this with you as you are obviously unhappy.
Thanks for your feedback I really appreciate it as we learn from and analyse every bad review and try to improve.
Thanks
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Cream Tea - Devonshire Tea”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

How wonderful it is to back in the UK. Nothing beats the Tea and scones but most important is the clotted cream where I can only find in the UK. The pot of Tea served to perfection with extra water and plenty of it tasted perfect - tick. The scones had sultanas in it - tick. The strawberry jam was in a mini new jar of a top quality manufacturer with cute sayings in the under lid - tick. The clotted cream is to die for and not found in Australia. They have tried in Oz but is NOTHING like the real thing. The note on the door "people with muddy boots and obedient dogs are welcome" proves that they understand there clientele. Put it all together with the wonderful service and warm hospitality it is exactly the perfect place to go to.

Helpful?
1 Thank SirRichardofBayview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for your great review, your right about Clotted Cream, ours comes from Dorset, trying to find a Cumbrian version but no success yet.
Best wishes.
Colin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granny Dowbekin's also viewed

Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Granny Dowbekin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing