We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely campsite and lovely family who own it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterside House Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waterside House Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite and lovely family who own it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from Waterside House Campsite, where we have returned year after year for the last 21 and it is the most friendly, beautiful place to camp in The Lakes. The facilities are excellent and very clean, with free showers, toilets and a washing up area. The views around the lake are magnificent and you can walk at the waters edge from the campsite. There is a shop on the site which sells everything you might run out of.
You can walk into Pooley Bridge along the lakeside in less than half an hour, where there are quite a few pretty pubs to sit outside in the sunshine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzyrowe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    45
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
76
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We just had a recent stay here in our Vw split screen campervan. We really enjoyed our lakeside location By the tipi's. We took our dogs along who enjoyed the lake side walk into pooley bridge. Only thing was the collies who lived on site wandered around and our dogs got all worked up barking when they came near our set up. All in all it was a wonderful stay we will return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Definitely Glamping the way to go for me...just spent 2 nights at Waterside House in a Tipi with absolutely magnificent lakeside views across Ullswater...an excellent campsite. Really good facilities including lovely showers, toilets, covered washing up area, shop, laundry and even a proper coffee machine (bonus). Tipi was spacious and well kitted out (futon a good idea but ours was uncomfortable as it sloped down on one side) Fire pit was provided and was a lovely touch as we all sat round watching a glorious sunset across the lake...brandy definitely tastes better with the warm glow of a camp fire!

Room Tip: Tipi's have Lakeside position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PColumbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

A lovely idyllic campsite with good facilities in a fantastic location. We've stayed here a number of times but on each occasion the evenings have been spoiled by someone playing a radio. The one family who enjoy the radio then spoil the place for another 20 or so! To be fair, we complained, and the owners must have asked them to turn the radio off, but why allow radios at all that can be heard by even the next tent?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ledinghams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Waterside house is a hidden gem....I don't really want to share it, they may get too full for a return visit!
If you want quiet beauty, this is the place for you.
It's a family site.
If you want noise go to the other campsite down the road.

Loved waterside, we booked a tipi for 2 nights. It was great! Inside the tipi we were welcomed with a little vase of flowers, cute! Double burner cooker with grill, butane gas, all kitchen equipment, cups etc. As well as a washing up bowl/box, where you can leave the washing up for the farm to do (we didn't, seemed too precious for us down to earth peeps, all part of the fun anyway!) You also get a cool box, lantern, futon (a god send for sleeping!)
Camping chairs, fire pit, logs, picnic table.

Inside the tipi are rugs on the floor, so you tootsies stay warm.

The campsite itself is on ullswater, at the north end at pooley bridge.

There are lovely clean showers & toilets (turn off the lights at night to avoid insects).the showers have hairdryers-all free!
There's an onsite shop, selling all kinds of supplies if you forget anything (they stocked magnum ice cream-winner!)

The campsite is a short 20 min walk by the lake to the pooley bridge 3 pubs. Take a torch in case you enjoy the jars a bit too much!

You can hire canoes from the campsite to venture onto the lake, or walk up to the steamers that run through the day across ullswater.

There are lots of places to venture too from this campsite, or just sit back + enjoy the beauty of ullswater surroundings! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hellskels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a amazing weekend, couldn't fault this campsite. Fantastic location, lakeside couldn't get better, the best camping facilities we have encountered...clean, hot free showers, shop and snack van, ample covered washing up facilities, regularly cleaned toilets, childrens play area and lots to do around and about, lovely walks, canoeing and paddling. The customer service was 5*, brilliant hosts, so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, a great find...we will be back, THANK YOU!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 78Clarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

The site is well placed by the lake and a short walk from Pooley Bridge. The showers and toilets are clean. There is a good shop, laundry facilties, hot food from a van and a drinks machine in the laundry area. You can hire bikes and boats from the shop. The views are great from the site. Visited with 2young kids and it felt safe for lots for them to do.

We stayed in a campsite on the family field.

Problem was the noise from fellow campers who were playing music loudly to near on 12. The campsite should make it clear to campers on arrival that noise is not permitted after 10pm. Someone walking the site around this time and a number to call in case of problems would be useful. I complained in the morning and they said they would look into it however I wasn't clear were the noise was exactly from. The campsite should prevent or deal with problems at the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMCGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
0.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
0.7 mi away
Another Place, The Lake
Another Place, The Lake
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside House Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside House Campsite

Property: Waterside House Campsite
Address: Waterside House Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Pooley Bridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterside House is a beautifully situated family run Lake District campsite situated right on the northern shores of Ullswater. Perfectly positioned at the foot of Barton Fell, it is an ideal base for mountain biking, walking, sailing, fishing, and pony trekking or simply relaxing. Services available include: •Camping •Glamping Tipi Hire •Rowing Boat and Canadian Canoe Hire •Mountain Bike Hire The pretty village of Pooley Bridge is one mile from the campsite and can be easily reached by road or the lakeshore footpath. Here you will find local shops and cafes as well as a few inns serving excellent bar food and traditional real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waterside House Campsite Pooley Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing