We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Stayed at elm house as a last minute decision to come to ullswater for 1 nights stay before hogmanay, have been to lake ullswater on numerous occasions, but usually to log cabins or holiday homes with the family.

Even though this was a last minute booking with my fiance, sister and her boyfriend, elm house couldn't of helped us anymore and accommodate us with two double rooms, also giving us family annex at side of house with own entrance and hallway. Lovely mini apartment with sharing toilet and two king size beds (I want a king bed now).

Lovely picturesque location in pooley bridge and the pooley bridge inn was stunning at this time of year with gorgeous log fires and delicious food.

Guest house Host mark and Anne were lovely and very friendly, couldn't of asked for a nicer hosts on our stay.

Will be returning in the summer holidays again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBUllswater, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thanks for the great review, it was a pleasure to meet 2 lovely young couples.

Mark & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    43
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
205
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Never stayed in a B&B before but this was first class,comfortable room as large as some Hotel rooms we have stayed in,breakfasts were superb nothing was to much trouble we would certainly have no hesitation staying again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriawalker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBUllswater, Manager at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Glad you enjoyed your first stay in a b&b.

Best Regards

Mark & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

My parner & I have stayed at Elm House three times, we stayed in Autumn 2010, a very snowy December 2010 & Easter 2011. Every stay has been lovely & I'm sure we will visit many more times in the future. We have stayed in rooms 3, 4 & 8. Each room was an excellent standard, warm & cosy & spotlessley clean. Good selection on the tea tray, mini fridge in each room, towels fluffy & spotless. Each room had a gorgeous view & also free parking.
The breakfast selection is fantastic - my favourite is the creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, it's cooked to perfection.
Mark & Anne are very welcoming & will advise you on good places to visit on walks & where is best to eat out. They always take an interest in where you have visited & this to me is what makes them good hosts.
Elm House is in a good location, very close the the villages three pubs also only a few mins walk to the steamers. The Pooley Bridge Inn have an excellent menu, very large portions though so be aware! A few miles up the road is Aira Force which is beautiful & we always make time to have a walk around (even in December when covered in a foot of snow).

Room Tip: All rooms we stayed in were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBUllswater, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Thanks for all your visits and the lovely review, it's always nice to see familiar faces coming back, hope your both well.

Mark & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this Bed and Breakfast! My partner and I stayed here in early spring for 4 nights and were lucky enough to be offered a very reasonable upgrade on arrival.
The cooked breakfasts were great and had some really good hiking and pub recommendations from the owners. Very hospitable and would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This B&B was wonderful. We had booked only one night, as a stopover en route to Scotland but would have loved to stay longer. Mark is a keen cyclist and could advise on cycling routes and helped organise bicyles at short notice. His knowlege of local pubs was priceless. There was a room downstairs for the elderly member of our party. Breakfast was a highlight. Perfect stay.

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LCKS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed (as 2 couples) for 2 nights. The rooms were extremly comfortable and furnished to a very high standard, worthy of their 4 stars. There was lots of choice for breakfast, which was delicious, a great start to the day. Mark has lots of local knowledge regarding the cycling and walking routes. Brilliant location right on Ullswater. Great stay, thanks

Room Tip: We had a ground floor and an upper floor both really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeChatNoirLoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and did a combination of walking and cycling. Mark and Anne were very hospitable, looking after us and giving great advice of where to walk and bike. They have a lovely B&B with beautiful rooms and bathrooms. Breakfasts were very good with tasty homemade jams from the garden. Porridge was perfect. We hope to return again for another holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciclismo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
3.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
7.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
14.0 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Property: 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Pooley Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing