We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We were so pleased we booked to stay at Elm House - Anne and Mark are lovely people and, upon first meeting them, you feel welcomed into their home. Our room was clean and, although it overlooked the road, it was very quiet, just the odd tractor rumbled by. Our breakfasts were well presented and well cooked and, to add to our pleasure, the dining room overlooks the garden where Anne feeds all the birds within a 50 mile radius! We certainly hope to return at sometime in the future to enjoy Anne and Mark's hospitality again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    47
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
212
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The most helpful tip I can give about the Elm House is - stay there! Meant in the best way it is virtually like staying in a private home, as Mark & Anne are very friendly & helpful, their breakfast is truely amazing, home cooked (best to order the night before) & sets you up for the day's activity in the surrounding stunning countryside.
There are various sized rooms (well displayed on their website) & ok some of the bathrooms maybe could be termed intimate, but they are sparkling clean & the rooms have everthing you could possibly want, tv, tea & coffee, a fridge, right down to a cosy towelling bathrobe & a teddy for anyone feeling lonely!!
A good night's sleep is ensured as it is very quiet, the beds very comfortable & the sheets crispy clean (changed every 3 days for those on longer stays). If you like more space, book one of the larger rooms, if you like large bathrooms & are on a budget then it's Room 1 - not ensuite, but private across the hall.
Many top hotels could learn a thing or two from the Elm House - so stay there, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AMasterCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. We were welcomed very warmly and guided to our well appointed room on arrival. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly which included a lovely breakfast! Location was perfect to get to all amenities in pooley bridge. Nothing was too much for our hosts. We will be recommending elm house to our friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Me and my other half stayed at elm house for 2 nights from the 10th of may, and from start to finish it was an enjoyable stay! On the arrival we was shown to our room by mark who was very welcoming and it definitely out shone any pictures I had seen on here as it was simply beautiful....the location is perfect also as it has lovely country walks & landmarks to see, which the hosts happily helped us with directions too. The room we stayed in was room 4 which was equipt with small details that showed us that the hosts wanted to help with every need e.g. mini fridge, radio/iPod dock, earbuds, cotton face pads, shower cap etc.. another bonus of attending elm house was the hearty breakfast we recieved each morning which was delicious with lots of choice, i stuck with the full cumbrian breakfast which was cooked beautifully, whereas my other half had the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs which he stated was cooked perfectly & tasted great. As we decided on eating out for our tea each night, pooley bridge wasnt short of public houses that were very welcoming, with also lots of choice for meals, they were also very good value for money and had a great atmosphere although we did have to book for the sun inn as it was very busy! The only problem I found was in our room we would hear from time to time a gush of water which sounded like a water fall, we put it down to a water pipe however it didn't put a dampener on our stay and we would happily recommend elm house to anyone who is planning on a lake district trip! Elm house is locationed beautifully, reasonably priced and has excellent service, couldnt of asked for anything more! All in all thank you very much to Mark and Anne for making our stay so enjoyable, being very attentive and welcoming throughout! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collette18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed for one night and received a very warm welcome. Elm house is a very nice place place to stay our room was great and furnished to a fantastic standard. The staff were very helpful, polite and assisted us in every way possible. Mark even kept us right with a few routes to try on the road bikes which was a great help. Really good location to visit all areas of the Lake District and Pooley Bridge/Ullswater. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good B&B in the Lakes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights from Sunday 14th - Wed 17th April at Elm House, Pooley Bridge and we were really impressed with all aspects of our stay. Mark and Anne were very friendly and helpful and offered to help us in with our bags. They have got an outstanding guest house in a lovely and tranquil setting.
From the really tasty choice of breakfasts to the comfy rooms and little homely touches such as the 'teddy bear' which you place outside your room if you do not want your room cleaned that day, Elm House is a lovely place to lay your head for a mini break in Penrith.
It is centrally placed to enjoy a multitude of activities including walking, cycling, etc and thoroughly enjoyed visiting Rookin House for pony trekking, archery and go-karting which was only approx 25 minutes away!
Elm House was spotlessly clean and our room was decorated/furnished to a high standard. As we were leaving, we mentioned to Mark we were going to visit the Rheged Centre for abit of shopping, etc and he kindly gave us some vouchers to use which was really kind of him.
If you are ever in the area and need somewhere to stay, Elm House has everything you could want!

Room Tip: We were in Room 8 which is a ground floor room. This room is very nice but it is close to the main d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWhitham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Warm welcome, helpful attention from hosts, wonderful and generous breakfast cooked to choice and served in a pleasant breakfast room overlooking a pretty garden, all amenities, attention to detail, parking by the house, a few minutes walk to the lake Ullswater. Cosy warm room with very comfortable beds.

Room Tip: standard double number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenaTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
379 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,625 reviews
5.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
0.1 mi away
Ullswater Guest House
Ullswater Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Property: 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Pooley Bridge, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing