We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, relaxing, warm & cozy”
other travellers have booked this property
Gibson Cottage, Stainton -cosy character cottage perfect for a romantic getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gibson Cottage, Stainton -cosy character cottage perfect for a romantic getaway
Kitchen Dual aspect fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Gibson Cottage, Stainton -cosy character cottage perfect for a romantic getaway
Kitchen
Dual aspect fireplace
Lounge with dual aspect fireplace
Lounge
Gallery bedroom
Gallery bedroom
Gibson Lane
Stainton village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pooley Bridge, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vicky a
1 review
“Perfect, relaxing, warm & cozy”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We booked the cottage as a base to visit with relatives, and didn't envisage spending much time there. However, the cottage was so warm and cozy, with its real fire, that we ended up spending more time in than out just enjoying each other's company and a bottle or two! A perfect little tonic!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicky A
1 review
“OMG....Fantastic....”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Just got back from the most amazing stay in this beautiful picturesque cottage....clean...cosy warm comfortable....giant comfy bed slept really well after all the fresh air....central for everything....didnt even bother going out of an evening because we had all we needed in the cottage so relaxing didnt want to leave.... thankyou Suzanne I will definatly be back......xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the open fire
Liked least: cooker needed a wipe
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay Nicky and thankyou for the lovely review. Do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnnydav...
London
1 review
“Perfect location, characterful cottage”
Reviewed 5 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We loved our stay at Gibson Cottage, it's in a great place for exploring The Lake District and was very well equipped, comfortable and just what you need from a holiday cottage. The best feature is of course the duel aspect fire and wood and firelighters were all provided. We enjoyed our meal at the next door Brownswood hotel so much on our first night that we ate there every night of our stay, which also meant we didn't have to drive. All in all highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire
Liked least: At first the lack of WiFi but in the end we liked this the most as it gave us a true break
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Great that you enjoyed your break up here -I will let the hotel know too. Thankyou for staying with us and all the best for 2107.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mister-te...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cosy cottage in the Lakes”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Thanks Suzanne for letting us stay in your cottage. It was cozy, clean and in a good location for exploring the northern lakes.

We went on the Ullswater Steamer from Glenridding to Howtown then walked up Hallin Fell in through sunshine and blizzard. We also went to Ambleside and explored Pooley Bridge.

Kings arms was a great place for food within easy walking distance. However we can't recommend highly enough 1863 in Pooley Bridge - best restaurant we've been to, ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Thanks very much David and I will certainly give 1863 a go!
Best wishes Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon K
2 reviews
“Perfect base for exploring”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Access to Gibson Cottage couldn't be easier. It is nearby major connecting roads while still retaining a lovely rural feel. The house was perfect - clean, warm and cosy, even in the snow thanks to the heating and the double aspect log fire. The shower room is small but clean and functional and the house itself is perfectly located to explore nearby Ullswater. I can recommend the fell walk/run from Watermillock Church to Aira Force, which is beautiful. Penrith is a few miles away and Keswick is 17 miles. Cat Bells is well worth the climb to see the amazing scenery of the lake district. The nearby Kings Arms is small and friendly, though the Sun Inn in Pooley Bridge has more on the menu and is also welcoming.
Thank you, Suzanne for the welcome and for the use of your lovely cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Thanks Simon, very kind of you. Its always good to hear our guests have had a good time (regardless of weather and I know there was snow!). Best wishes Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Deborabi6”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cosy cottage, really well equipped, great base to relax and explore lakes and the bedrooms .... well... wow !! Thanks so much !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing