We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Gibson Cottage, Stainton -cosy character cottage perfect for a romantic getaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gibson Cottage, Stainton -cosy character cottage perfect for a romantic getaway
Kitchen Dual aspect fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Gibson Cottage, Stainton -cosy character cottage perfect for a romantic getaway
Kitchen
Dual aspect fireplace
Lounge with dual aspect fireplace
Lounge
Gallery bedroom
Gallery bedroom
Gibson Lane
Stainton village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pooley Bridge, Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs jani...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It was really cosy and comfortable and everything we needed pub a few steps away hotel on the corner what more did we need brilliant deffinitly go back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandyhubb
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was comfortable and cosy. Good based for exploring the lakes. Enjoyed lighting the fire. A little disappointed that the local pub didn't allow dogs but the food was lovely. The shower was very compact and need to be careful as water gets really hot and it's easy to knock switch and make hotter.
Just a note to be careful where you park as we were left a rather curt note on our car from a resident requesting us not to park even though there were no signs stating no parking. Also be careful of turning in Lane,although narrow the owner of the property next door was unhappy about turning even though again no signs saying private property.9 this was only done once on departure) Overall lovely cottage and amenities but would not return to Stainton as felt very unwelcome by locals.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Hi Mandy,
Many thanks for your review and kind words about the cottage. I am really sorry that you felt unwelcome in the village itself and personally upset that the note conveying completely incorrect information was left on your car. I have now with the assistance of the Council planning office resolved the parking issue and there will I hope be no further issues. Many guests have commented on the pub and its no dogs policy. As a dog owner we will continue to campaign! Thankyou again for coming and words of advice about the shower!
Suzanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jon D
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The cottage was great! Well appointed, cozy, a bit funky in a good way. Suzanne was helpful and kind and we highly recommend Gibson Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
nickib2
united kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Cosy Cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Loved the Cottage which is approx 4 miles from Pooley Bridge. Enough logs kindling to get fire going on first night. Comfortable and everything you could need available.
Downside is local pub doesn't allow dogs but Pooley Bridge Inn does lovely food and dog friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thankyou for your kind review Nicki and very glad you had a good time although I know you experienced every kind of weather. I agree shame about the local pub having two of our own -I will campaign!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
em2610
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a fabulous long weekend in the cottage, which is very cosy. The beds were very comfortable. It is in a great location - local amenities on the doorstep and a great, dog-friendly base for exploring the Lake District

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing