We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catlins Retreat Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our one night stay at Catlin's Retreat was lovely. Robbie and Noels are a great couple and we enjoyed a lovely dinner, chatting with them. They were very welcoming, making us feel at home, nothing too much trouble. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and there is a comfortable guest lounge to sit, read or just have a cuppa..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
It makes it easy when we get to meet and enjoy good company. Thanks Robbie and Noeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Our 3 night stay was made memorable by the wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble to ensure our comfort and enjoyment of the magnificent Catlins area of Southland Nz.
The room was huge, the beds extra comfy and the ambience of the house so welcoming every time we returned from an adventure.
Robbie tells the best stories and Noel's tomatoes are legendary.
WIll we return? Most definitely
Be sure not to miss the big seal lions at Cannibal Bay, Robbie gives great local info about the wildlife and what's not to miss.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thanks you guys,was great to have your company should make it to the Gold Coast come Winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We were fairly late arriving in Owaka with nowhere to stay, so it was lovely to receive such a warm welcome from Robbie at Catlins Retreat. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, warm and very clean and comfortable. Robbie's advice and help with booking a meal, and his knowledge of the area was also very welcome. I was careless enough to leave a favourite bracelet behind when we left, so emailed them when we got home, not really sure whether it was there or the place before, so was delighted when Robbie replied. It was duly posted to me in England for which I am very grateful. We shall long remember our trip to the Catlins area with pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thanks Eilleen for the nice review,and it was no trouble to forward on your bracelet that meant so much to you. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had been looking forward so much to our visit to the Catlins and to seeing the animals in their beautiful habitat, I was beginning to worry that we had set our sights too high and we would end up being so disappointed. We need not have worried our visit was fantastic. it got off to a great start when we met two wonderful people called Robbie and Noels They just give you a great big New Zealand welcome and you can only feel so at home. The house itself is an old house (very early 1900s) but so full of character. We had a very large room which had a king size double, which was oh so comfortable and a single bed yet was so spacious. It also had a large ensuite in spotless condition. There is a large guest lounge where we used to gather for our last drink of the day. We were always joined by Robbie and Noels There is nothing about the Catlins that they do not know and Robbie is a superb Raconteur and has wonderful tales of Otago and the Catlins. We were pointed in the way of excellent viewing places for seals, sea lions, yellow eyed penguins and hector dolphins. Robbie pointed us in the direction of the Lumberjack cafe which served excellent food. This was our best experience of our 10 week visit to New Zealand and was made by two wonderful people Robbie and Noels. Thanks to you both.

Room Tip: Both ensuite rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
It makes our job easier when nice people join us in our home and mother nature turns on the vista the wildlife and the wheather.
Thanks Robbie and Noeline [Noels]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

From the minute we arrived we welcomed so warmly into Robbie and Noel's beautiful villa. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated with a gorgeous mix of antiques and modern. Bathroom spotless and so well equipped. Noel booked us a restaurant and we walked the short walk to village. When we returned there was a real fire biscuits lovely coffee and beer if wanted.
Both Noel and Robbie advised us where to go and the next day we saw Hector's dolphins in the waves in shallow water. We saw a sea lion on beach and yellow eyed penguins on the evening. The Catlins are amazing for wildlife. We had lost our ipad at the previous motel in Wanaka and they helped us ring police and much more they even got their sister in law to bring it for us when it was found. I cannot recommend them enough - oh yes and surprise cake for my husbands birthday. Thank you so much. Oh and best bed ever!

Room Tip: Front bay double bed so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Great to have your company and that the saga of the missing !pad worked out fine in the end.
Cheers Robbie and Noeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed 3 nights in December and were thrilled at our lovely room and bathroom and all the facilities that wonderful host Robbie offered. He and Noels were so helpful and kind. This is a great home and a great place to explore the Catlins from.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thanks for the nice review,so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Robbie and Noeline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Spring, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Catlins Retreat is a large historic home. The spacious rooms are beautiful with high ceilings, comfortable beds and are very clean. Every need is taken care of from heated blankets to a cozy fire in the guest lounge to a great breakfast. Host Robbie, shows his passion for this beautiful area of New Zealand by providing detailed information on the must see places. We were sorry we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, 4 January 2013
Thanks for that.Glad you enjoyed the B&B and the area and what its got to offer.
Some times we get let down by the weather but the scenery never changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
6.6 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
7.3 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
7.2 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Catlins Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Retreat Guest House

Property: Catlins Retreat Guest House
Address: 27 Main Road | Catlins, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Bed&Breakfast in the Old Doctors Residance and Practise, built in the year 1900. Your host Robbie Hodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins Retreat Guest House Owaka, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing