We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Owaka
Reviewed 7 February 2013

This youth hostel is not a reflection of the other youth hostels in new zealand luckily, however a very disappointing stay. The place is covered in dog hair as the hostel dog is aloud to roam free over all the sofas and chairs, the place is cluttered with bits and bobs, dead fly's are all over all the window sills, we even found a dead moth in the sugar pot in the kitchen. The ladies toilets and bathroom were disgusting, dried skid marks in the pan and months worth of hair down the shower drains, we cleaned the showers sinks and toilets before we used them as they were repulsive. The pictures on the website were obviously taken a long time ago, and as you enter the building you are greeted by a hand made sign that says ' close the door FFS'! amazing unprofessional.
The whole building needs a cleaner and a make over, so until then i would not advise staying there! however the Catlins area is beautiful and all the other hostels we stayed in in new zealand were lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryony33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

The manager is very friendly and knowledgeable of the local area. The building itself has character not like these modern ones you generally get today. Plenty of space inside and out to find a sunny quiet corner to spend the day reading or just chilling.

I could rabbit on but the place speaks for itself.

Truly was a top stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BicycleJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This was our first stop when we started travelling again after 4 months of working. There was no one to greet us when we arrived, the owner had gone to town to get his dinner and left the place all unlocked. We let ourselves in, took a look around and made some food before he finally arrived. We had our pick of the rooms. Literally. He told us to find one we liked and put out stuff in. In all fairness the place is extremely clean, quiet and has all the facilities EXCEPT hot water. This is controlled by a coal boiler that only operates once a day and both my partner and myself had ice cold showers. At the end of the day there was a bed and a roof (albeit a leaky one in the hall) over our heads.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Three friends and I, travelling independantly, stayed here.
We loved it.
Great facilities - Kitchen; set up to cater a hospital, Reading /sunroom, Pool room, etc.
Scooters brought some smiles.
Plenty of interaction with other guests - World travellers.
So much nicer than being stuck in a box as in a motel.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We went in to buy credit for the internet station. Manager's answer (exact quote): "I don't like people using my internet".

Well, we don't like being treated as beggars when we actually want to purchase something. We left quickly and took our business somewere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LukasZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Situated in the old hospital this hostel has everything you need on a holiday.
It is central but has a rural outlook, the rooms are clean with modern bathrooms,
there are many areas to have cosy read or breakfast or hang out with the fellow guests.
Craig is welcoming and has plenty of tips to share about where to go in the area.
We will certainly makes Thomas' our place to stay in the catlins

Room Tip: AN ensuite in teh surat wing has its own kitchentte area with tea and coffee supplied as well as its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 17 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
0.2 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
64 reviews
3 mi away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
66 reviews
7.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catlins Gateway Motel
3.7 mi away
Hill View Camp Site
Hill View Camp Site
#3 of 3 in Balclutha
23 reviews
17.6 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground

Address: Corner Ryley and Clark Streets, Owaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Owaka
Price Range: £30 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground Owaka, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing