We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate facilities, great position”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pounawea Motor Camp
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Owaka
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Good little camping ground near the estuary, nice bush walk. Facilities clean & adequate,
We stayed in the cabins which were pretty small & cramped, but did the job.
Small shop selling the bare basics in the office.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

I was under impression you could choose your site but we couldn't but then it was packed straight after Xmas! Got a lovely site under trees at the back. My complaint would be to far from kitchen toilet who wants to be walking ages to go toilet n the middle of the night! That said really clean kitchen ect love the old stove
Very cheap camping we are thinking of coming back in winter hopefully wouldn't b as busy then!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgmummyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We booked via the phone and explained that we had two adults 3 children plus a baby and no camping gear. We were told that the old school house would suit us best as it sleeps 6 and has seating and dining table. We arrived to find a two room cabin with dble bed one set of bunks jammed in one and the couch kitchen and table in the other. It was not what we expected as school house implys "roomy" to me. My partner arrived sometime after us and queried the lady as to why it was named school house as it's very small and she laughed it off informing him it was in 1918! When he asked for linen for the pull out couch she said you've got all your getting as it's not included. I had rung that morning to enquire about linen and was told duvets and sheets were included. 5 people 4 beds one pull out couch. I then went and asked for it and was informed that Glenn would be back soon and he will sort it. He came over later with it when my partner said he needed to change his advertising as it was very misleading. Glenn said he didn't want to discuss this and began to get rather sort and rude. Proceeded to say we need to leave and then called the police. (shortened argument) I waited half an hour very upset then went to the office to claim a refund as we were going to go and was told he would refund the second night but not the first and mail me a cheque and I can talk to the cops. They pulled up at this time so I did. The impression from them is this wasn't the first time they had to deal with this irrational man. We were booked into a motel 800m down the road and shown off the property at 10pm. We went for a family holiday and ended up spending twice the amount intended due to this rude man. We can however recommend the christian camp as Jean was most accommodating in our stressful time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Hello we have called police twice in 5 years .The man had threatened a staff member so was asked to leave.Due to him being asked to leave we refuned them and found them a place down the road .This is a kitchen cabin not self contained

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Everything was truly average here including the surroundings and up to surat bay. I had expected more from catlins area having travelled from te anau all the way for that special bit in the south. Was greeted well at first but didn't know why the owner didn't seem very keen to attend to my queries thereafter. More like eager to get his job done and good riddance. Seemed very busy preparing the place for future customers but he forgot that I was also a customer at that time. Cheap canoe though despite strong winds and waves. Was not warned about this and was not told that I'd get stuck in low tide. Being a tourist, it's hard to tell these things so u'd expect the owner to warn ya of the low tide n stuff. asked about the weather forecast, he didn't know and didn't bother to check, by contrast, another operator would say, hang on, i'll let you know later or sth like that. DVD hire very expensive compared to all the other places i've been. Toilet not too bad though. campervan sites on uneven ground or might be soggy on some and layout pretty messy. Water points not on all units and look hard to find em. Beware the many trees and branches if your vehicle is large. laundry room old and like a shed. playground - boring. Price I paid is dearer than those in Wanaka, Te anau or Nelson city to start with. I believe service starts with a smile and follows through. I have been travelling quite a lot and naturally make comparisons. sorry if this didn't sound good and probably there are underlying reasons but still there has to be improvements in the service, the park and the surrounding area. I have been to similar not so beautiful sites as well but for cheaper and genuine service. Why rate average? Cos he was really busy and i am sure future customers will have a more pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hello i dont know what to say to call the catlins area adverage i am stunned .The veiw from the motor camp is beautiful the bush around the camp one of the best reserves DOC has got especialy the native bird life.The motor camp has been voted the best in the catlins many years in a row the sea view is stunning even in the rain.
I am sorry if you found me busy we dont hire staff on till labour weekend as camp is very quite over winter and you stayed the week before labour weekend .We charge $35 a night for 2 adults on a powered site $28 unpowered and give a discount for gold card holders and our price is below the four parks around us as we are a family camp.the play ground is 100m down the road and we as a community have just put in a skate ramp for the kids.We are casual and you can choose your own site except kiwi holiday weekends when they are booked in advance but even then you get a choice.It is one of the most beautifull areas in NZ the catlins is a great forgotten area that is why we moved here from nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Visited here in Sept so avoided the overcrowding that others have commented on and to be honest most campgrounds have at that time of the year. Facilities here have been modernised and were nice, bright & clean - we were very impressed with them. Stayed in a cabin & had been forewarned when booked that was small for 5 as we intended - this wasn't really a problem altho the sofa bed was half broken which we didn't find out til late at night. Tried to let them know before we left but no-one around. Delighted to find both Kereru & Tuis in the trees at the campsite - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallystours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Hello guys glad you enjoyed your stay wow sorry about the broken slat in sofa i did not know,cabin has plenty of room for a family we only mentioned it to you guys as you were all singles hope the rest of your trip went well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here Dec/Jan and it felt like cattleyards, less than a meter between us and our neighbours..you can imagine the pressure on facilities. such a lovely place such a shame to be squashed in. No local info available and abrupt answers to questions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Hello guys sorry that you found your site small all our sites are 53 square metres as set by the local council .We are opening a new area in the bush this year so there is more room for every body ,we have a set occupancy and will not be increasing it at this stage so more room for the cricket games for the kids We have gas hot water so everybody gets a hot shower .At off peak times you can choose your own site in the bush or beside the sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I quote from an article here on Trip Advisor "Pounawea Camping Ground owner Glenn Maxwell said the facility was fully booked over New Year, but there was always room for another tent"

Indeed there is always room for another tent at this camping ground so be warned, these guys like to cram people in, we stayed New Year 2011/2012 and they had put so many people in the camping ground we had 1m on 3 sides between other caravans. It was a disaster, cramped and the facilities were simply insufficient for the number of people.

The camping ground is actually very nice and in one of the most idyllic spots in New Zealand so you will enjoy your stay I am sure if you avoid peak times and the obvious "cram them in policy" the owner has gone public with.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Hey guys glad that you liked our idyllic spot all our sites are min 53m2 some even bigger and with 3 toilet blocks we have enough toilets showers etc for 200 people and that new year period we were under that .The comment i made to the news paper was always room for a tent at low tide was a joke with reporter that has been taken the wrong way.This year we open the new area in the native bush so people can have more space ,Normally you can turn up and choose your own site either by the water or beside the native bush .thank you for your comment i will be more carefull when joking with reporters.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
1.1 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
66 reviews
17.9 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
64 reviews
2.3 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
2.3 mi away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounawea Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounawea Motor Camp

Address: Park Lane, Owaka, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Owaka
Also Known As:
Pounawea Motor Camp Owaka, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing