We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and friendly”
Review of Owaka Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Owaka Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owaka
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and friendly”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stopped here for a night during a motorcycle road trip. Owaka isn't the most exciting location but our motel room was comfy, clean and well equipped. Gaynor does a great job in providing a warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at the Owaka Motor Lodge in February 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. The motel is in a quiet location and the room was cosy and clean. Good supermarket nearby. Very helpful and welcoming owner. Enjoyed the excellent rhubarb muffins. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Our reservation had been misplaced; not a problem since we were traveling in the shoulder season of October. The owner was out of town so were just lucky that a neighbor was there so we could get a room. That being said, everything worked out fine. The room felt crowded but it was warm and dry, good internet service , and a good jumping off point to attractions in the Owaka area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redstart3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2012

It was a surprise stay for my friend and I at Gaynor's motel under a heavy downpour of rain. I join the reviews to praise the place, the host and the surprise muffins!
Our studio could seem rather small as packed with furniture, probably one armchair too many, hence we had everything we needed!
I would definitely recommend this place whenever travelling the Catlins.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pascale_delos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Greeted on arrival with homemade muffins by a very freindly and helpful owner. Room was quite old fashioned but clean and comfortable. Owaka's 3 eating establishments are all within walking distance. The owner was great in tracking me down to arrange return of 2 small items I left in the room, this was terrific service. Overall a great place to stay while you explore the many attractions of the Catlins region.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Owaka is in the middle of nowhere in NZ, and was a good stop for us on the way to Invercargil.
The Owaka Lodge served us well on this stop. The staff was very friendly, discounting our room since they were booked, and the last they had was the largest. The room is quite "old school" compared to other places we stayed. Single bright light buld on the ceiling. Separate hot and cold taps on the bathroom sink, which made washing your hands interesting, as they were not mixed, so it was either HOT or COLD. Old school paneling and green carpet to boot.

But so what... we slept great. The room was very clean and the bed nice and soft. The shower is a new install unit with plenty of pressure. Our host was so friendly, she even gave us fruit preserves she had been making for herself. Very nice. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Ask the host if she is making "fruit leathers". They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixelPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Used as a base to travel around the Catlins. Host very friendly and made us yummy muffins on arrival. She even lent us a set of binoculars for a few days so we could observe the amazing wildlife better. Clean comfortable and laid back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
7.3 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
17.5 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0.2 mi away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
3.1 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
6.4 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owaka Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owaka Lodge Motel

Property: Owaka Lodge Motel
Address: 12 Ryley Street, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four light and airy units set in a country garden setting. These motels are situated 50 metres from the local supermarket, three restaurants, an Inn, and across the road from Owaka's famous museum and information centre.This is the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the natural wonders of the Catlins...from the sealions and penguins on the beaches, to the superb waterfalls and the bush walks and birdlife to delight any travelling photographer.Breakfast is available to be served in your room and Gaynor is the only staff member so personal service is the order of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Owaka Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owaka Lodge Motel Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing