We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Ranked #4 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely breathtaking!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Our family has been to RiverRidge Retreat many times to 'get away' and to recharge. This is the most spectacular place we've been to, natures very own paradise! So tranquil & peaceful - plenty of open spaces for the kids, we love wandering around the Retreat just taking in the beauty of it all. The accommodation was perfect for our family, large, warm, clean and very comfortable. Gary & Adele are brilliant hosts - nothing is too much trouble and are very welcoming and friendly! We absolutely love it and will continue to enjoy it many times more!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamawolf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Te Anau New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed at the River Ridge Retreat a couple weeks ago whilst travelling the Southern Scenic Route. The place was spectacular. I loved the relaxing and scenic natural surroundings. The facilities were great. Although I travelled solo, the place also does things like weddings and conferences. The stay was magnificent and I will stay again when I’m in the area.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MarcK881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited the Catlins for a short weekend break and loved our stay at RiverRidge retreat. Adele and Gary were very hospitable and the studio room we stayed in was comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. They were even kind enough to send on some belongings we left behind. A perfect and beautiful place to stay when visiting the Catlins!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Me and my family stayed here just after Christmas 2012 and we all had a very enjoyable stay. We only had the one night but I would definately stay here again in a heartbeat if I venture back to the Catlins. Adele and Gary went above and beyond and they are such lovely people. It is so tranquil and peaceful and a great place to go to get away from it all. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed in the self contained Queen studio which had the most comfortable bed - an absolute luxury after travelling. The room was really warm and inviting and I loved that I could have make a cup of coffee in my room in the mornings. River Ridge is a great place to unwind and take in the Catlins scenery. Also Adele and Gary are great people that will do anything to make you feel welcome. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What a great place hidden in the middle of the Catlins - just a beautifully peaceful spot with views out onto the landscape from your room - lie in bed and watch nature at it's best. Cosy warm rooms, big open showers so great if you're in a wheelchair - everything is easy access. Big very very comfy bed and tv, kitchen in your room and free tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones facing woodstock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I have recently spent six enjoyable days at River Ridge Retreat. Prior to going there I had sore hips, which had persisted for two years. Where I stayed in one of the wheelchair accessible units
After two days of my six day stay the pain in my hips disappeared. My bed was so comfortable and the tranquillity of River Ridge Retreat was so therapeutic to for my body and my general well-being, that I can personally recommend it..
Adele and Gary, the hosts at River Ridge Retreat are so warm and welcoming that I felt ‘at home’ as soon as I met them.
There are so many short sight-seeing places to visit whilst I was there also.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRidgeRetreat, Owner at Catlins River Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much Peter, it was our pleasure having you come and stay with us, and show you around. We look forward to you coming back next year. Adele & Gary Dawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
4.9 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
53 reviews
13.0 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
1.7 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
11.9 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
7.4 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins River Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins River Ridge Retreat

Property: Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Address: 348 Catlins Valley Road, Owaka 9586, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top quality facility in a spacious natural setting in the Catlins. Located on beautifully groomed grounds beside the Catlins River, the RiverRidge Retreat resonates peace and tranquility. An ideal setting for your wedding, conference, festival, retreat, social event, or simply a great base to stay and explore the beautiful Catlins area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins River Ridge Retreat Owaka, Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing