We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, History, Gastronomy”
Review of Castel Pergine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pergine Valsugana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castel Pergine
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
311 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,227 helpful votes
“Character, History, Gastronomy”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

What can be said, what hasn't been said already in these reviews? A fortress, rather than castle, perched high above the Val Sugana with stunning views over the Dolomiti mountains that offers rustic accommodation, but still the modern amenities (new bathrooms, this year, for example), that has an excellent restaurant with one of the best local wine-selections of any restaurant in the area? - I won't even try. But having come back now for 15 years must speak volumes...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    39
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
28
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

5* in my book but only 1* in the guide book. Anyone who will not miss a mini bar, TV, fitness centre or pool, but prefers a medieval castle overlooking the Valsugana with fabulous views of the Dolomites, stunning surroundings & reasonably comfortable rooms should head here. Stayed for 4 days at the end of the season and had a great time. Food was excellent and staff friendly and helpful. (Closes early in November for the winter)

Perhaps not great for those who do not like steps. It is after all built on a summit.

Find the path below the castle walls and walk right round. Visit Trento. Climb Panarotta for exercise, and I guess for the view (we were in the clouds), Do take good map as it is easy to get lost if you don't go back the way you came!

Room Tip: Talk to them as rooms are varied. Perhaps best views from the towers, though we had an excellent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Ate here night before Masters UCI Time Trial world championships. Must have been 10 lbs heavier for race. Food was superb. Yes, best I have had in Italy. All local ingredients coupled with local wines. As mark of athletic abstention turned down the grappa. Dining room worth the trip alone with views over the mountain peaks as the sun sets like a set of campagnolo chainrings. Service immaculate and friendly. Came back the next night.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
9 Thank Vimmy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout
Level Contributor
221 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Castel Pergine is a unique setting for a vacation: rooms with over one meter thick walls, but with good beds and a modern bathroom, a nice private garden to relax and the 'Rittersaal' where breakfast is served and the place to read a book, enjoy a drink or check your email. So far the Rittersaal is the only location where wifi is available (although the quality was poor - something to improve upon).
Especially worth mentioning is the good quality of the food and the excellent selection of wines, mostly of the region, several are served by the glass. The staff gives helpful advise on which wine to choose. Prices are very acceptable, most bottles are less than 50 euro, even the good ones (including Granato, Abtei Muri Gries, Clesurae and several aged Barolo's).
Expositions of sculptures, inside as well as outside, are changing frequently. One day a performance was given in the garden by two a cappella choirs; the acoustics were surprisingly good.
Very special are the tower rooms of which there are three: a round tower, a square tower and an entrance tower.
The entrance gate to the parking area is rather narrow which may form a challenge to big cars.
For us this was the second time here and fully to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ineke_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed 1 night with half-board (includes dinner bed and breakfast) in April 2013 following another unforgettable 1 night stay in May 2009. We just had to return to this wonderful castle and now feel that a review is appropriate. Our room was delightful, large with corner seating and views out over Pergine to the mountains, ensuite and very comfortable and authentic. Don't expect 5 star, that is not its charm. The castle has an atmosphere of yesteryear, and Verena is a wonderful hostess at all times. The included dinner is first class and delicious with lovely recommended wine. Breakfast is abundant and tasty. Thank you for allowing us to share this special experience which we will treasure always.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaHenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pergie18, Direttore at Castel Pergine, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind summery of your stay at Castel Pergine. For us it was a pleasure to have you here. Best regards - Verena Neff / Castel Pergine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney, australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Apart from the scarily narrow entry archway which nearly caused a scratched car and a stressed start to the long weekend there was nothing to want for. A knight in armour watching down from the wall we fell in love with our room feeling propelled back in time. Enjoying the castle as if it were our own, sipping sparkling wine in the sunny courtyard, exploring the exhibition which we adored, loving the cakes, the simpleness in a spoiling way - the breakfast buffet does not give you 100 choices but what is there is fabulous and of the best quality - this simplicity is a luxury itself. Great starting point for excursions but one could actually just stay in the castle, take in the views and enjoy life...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Have you ever stayed in a real European castle? This is it. Not huge but very authentic and a real treat. The rooms are 'monk like' modest but clean and could be, functional and comfortable. No TV or internet in the rooms (which is really nice when vacationing). In our case, dinner and breakfast were included. The restaurant is elegant, sophisticated and served an excellent multi-course meal. The wine list is extensive. Dinner surpassed our expectations. Breakfast was simple but perfectly fine.
A walk around the castle to take in the artist in residence's work is fun and the views of the valleys below and mountains all around are outstanding.
I have got to believe will will remember this fondly for a long time to come.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pergine Valsugana hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Al Ponte
Hotel Al Ponte
#1 of 5 in Pergine Valsugana
122 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agritur Maso Laite
Agritur Maso Laite
#2 of 5 in Pergine Valsugana
24 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Hotel Miralago
Residence Hotel Miralago
#1 of 14 in Pergine Valsugana
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
B&B Ai Ciliegi
B&B Ai Ciliegi
#5 of 14 in Pergine Valsugana
22 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B Alba Sul Lago
B&B Alba Sul Lago
#6 of 14 in Pergine Valsugana
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rotonda
La Rotonda
#3 of 5 in Pergine Valsugana
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Pergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Pergine

Property: Castel Pergine
Address: Via Al Castello 10, 38057 Pergine Valsugana, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pergine Valsugana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Pergine Valsugana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Pergine is unique: It comprises a small hotel with 40 beds, a dining room with castle atmosphere, a bar with soggiorno in the 500-year-old throne room and a wonderful garden for relaxation within the inner wall circle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Pergine Hotel Pergine Valsugana
Castel Pergine Trento
Castel Pergine Hotel Trento
Castel Pergine Italy/Pergine Valsugana, Province Of Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing