We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere in Mytilini”
Review of Pyrgos of Mytilene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pyrgos of Mytilene
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mytilene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pyrgos of Mytilini is a place where you will feel warmly welcomed by a very nice team. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the wonderful historic building, reachly ornamented in every room, especially in the breakfest and reception hall. Mytlini itself is an interesting place to stay during holidays. The city is very much alive and allows you reaching may nice beaches and villages by rental car during day trips.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the sea are more silent.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Pyrgos of Mytilene
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent 4 nights at Pyrgos this month hosts could not have been more friendly & helpful.
Katerina & Yota looked after our every needs.Our bedroom was spotless towels changed daily, breakfasts perfect and overall an excellent end to our stay on lesvos.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor ok for anyone with mobility problems. Some traffic noise in bedrooms at front.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank t-wride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I can't say enough about the people that host your stay, especially Katerina. The rooms are really nice and it's nice being just a little walking distance from the harbor area. Very reasonable for the price. We actually cut our stay short at another location 30 km north on the beach, to come back to Pyrgos of Mytilene for a second stay.

Great breakfast setup.

Only warning do not rent oversized car or you might find it very difficult to get into or out of the hotel parking space.

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms and we enjoyed both. You will get some road noise from the lower level rooms...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Everywhere else in Greece this would be labeled "archontiko," but here on Lesbos it's a "pyrgos" (Greek for tower), a mansion built in the local vernacular style: a stone tower with a regular house attached to it, the latter in the usual lath-and-stucco construction. There are quite a few of them in this part of Mytilini, but ours is the only one we found that has a round tower. And our room was at the top level of the tower, allowing for a nice view of the neighborhood with the town and the port in the distance. It's a bit of a walk to downtown, but nothing wrong with that. Service is superb, breakfast is great, everybody is as friendly as can be (when my computer started acting up they let me use theirs), and the place even boasts a private parking, "idiotiki parkink" in Greek - I love it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl_from_Flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Overwhelming hospitality from the hoteliers. Made to feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Opulent room, wonderful breakfast and unforgettable Greek coffee on demand morning, noon and night (a double, please!). Hotel has unusual architecture, carefully preserved, it's a walk down the hill to the port with many welcoming cafes and restaurants, plus plenty of advice from Reception about how to get to places, how to book. Nothing too much trouble, ask a question and they have the answer or organise what's needed for you. Perrrfect for pleasure or business or both!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I went to Lesbos for business and stayed here based on recommendatinos here. LOVED IT. Katerina and Yorgos were so nice, the breakfast was immense and delicious, and I just wish I could have stayed longer. I have lived in Greece for years and places this good are rare. Bravo!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank clovisformula1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Friendly and helpful personnels (thanks Katherine and Penelope for everything) as well as sanitary, elegant and well-furnished rooms are the best features of the hotel. The architecture of the building is original and worth-seen. The location of hotel is a bit far away from the city center, If you go the island by a ship (from Ayvalık like us), you take a taxi certainly. Breakfast is good but not wonderful (It has been explained excellent by many travellers, but as for me it should be better). Other than these issues, in the bathroom there is a problem related to putting the shower head to the wall. By the way, alhough parking area is not large, it is sufficient for three-four small cars that is prevalent througout the island.

Room Tip: Upper floors are sunny and scenic, sub-ground floors where we have stayed are quite large but not da...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sterlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mytilene
0.9 mi away
Theofilos Paradise Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Hotel
Blue Sea Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mytilene
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lesvion
Hotel Lesvion
#3 of 6 in Mytilene
99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Michelles Apartments
Michelles Apartments
#3 of 5 in Anaxos
30 reviews
28.1 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyrgos of Mytilene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyrgos of Mytilene

Address: 49 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Mytilene 811 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Mytilene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Mytilene
Price Range: £64 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pyrgos of Mytilene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PYRGOS OF MYTILENE" BOUTIQUE HOTEL/MANSION. "PYRGOS OF MYTILENE" is a real jewel, one of a kind, as nothing similar can be found in Lesvos. Our boutique hotel was built in 1916 by the Architect Ignatios Vafiadis in the style of Second Empire. In 1995 the building was renovated in respect of its history and from August 1999 operates as a luxurious hotel all year around. PYRGOS OF MYTILENE is situated in the town of Mytilene where most of the mansions exist in the area, 200 meters from the new Marina. The significant exterior staircase constructed from white marble leads us to the main entrance, flanked by two aristocratic columns and eventually culminates at the highest point in the small tower. The interior seduces with its luxury, including decorations and furnishing from the period of Louis XVI. Every room creates its own unique atmosphere with discreet and soft coloring. The overall, romantic atmosphere takes you back to the 19th century, creating a feeling of living in the area. The three floors, which are connected with an imposed wooden staircase (there is no lift), leads to the luxurious 12 rooms, with assorted views of the garden, city or sea. Home comforts are not lacking as every room has air-condition, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hair-dryer, bathroom amenities, wireless Internet, safe-box and 24-hour room-service. The hotel offers a parking area for your convenience and Business Facilities (Fax, Internet, E-mail). Reception and Bar are open 24 hours per day. As soon as you enter the hotel a warm reception area greets you. In the living room or at the bar you can enjoy refreshments, while your Breakfast, American type Buffet with local delicacies, is served in the Breakfast room or outside on the terrace, where you can enjoy an enchanting view of the houses and the sea. The friendly environment and wonderful service offered by extremely efficient personnel create a warm and friendly atmosphere and will in sure make an unforgettable stay. Feel home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pyrgos of Mytilene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyrgos Of Mytilene Greece - Lesbos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing