We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best B&B experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green

The Green
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green
Ranked #2 of 3 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best B&B experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

The hosts Ann and Pedro greeted us with homemade cake and coffee and a lovely chat about life in Wethersfield, jazz, rugby and the history of old buildings. They are the warmest and most helpful hosts we have ever encountered staying in a B&B. The room was great. The bed was wonderful. And they had our favourite newspaper waiting on the table at breakfast. We will definitely go and visit again and recommend The Green without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

You should stay at The Green, Weathersfield! This part of England is a beautiful well kept secret and if you want to explore it then you won't find a more charming place to stay. The most charming of hosts in Ann and Pedro, a house filled with character, indulgent afternoon tea and an English breakfast straight out of the top drawer. Couldn't ask for more!

David and Melanie

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Although a very pretty B&B it would be so much nicer if the duvets were feather. I got overheated and found the duvet was synthetic and could not be shaken down.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Jenny and I stayed at the Green, Wethersfield for the 2nd time in 3 months. Once again, Ann and Pedro were the perfect hosts and we will certainly be going back again. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at The Green for a relaxing break and the most fantastic full English breakfast! Thank you Ann and Pedro - you are absolute diamonds.

Room Tip: The main bedroom has an en-suite bathroom but, in truth, both bedrooms are very good. The 2nd bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnPedro, Owner at The Green, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you Julian for your kind words. I think we enjoyed your visit as much as you did. Looking forward to the next time we see you and Jennifer.
Yours truly...........Ann & Pedro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I stayed for 4 nights at the green.Ann and Pedro are a welcoming warm and friendly couple who definatnely have the best interests of their guests at heart. I cannot thank them enough for making my stay a memorable one, I will definatley reccomend them to anyone.I will definatly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We spent two nights in this wonderful place and cannot recommend it highy enough. Ann and Pedro Harris made us welcome from the moment of our arrival when we were given tea and cakes. Our room was beautifully appointed, spacious and spotless. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was all delicious. We left this lovely place feeling that we had visited dear friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnduffy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angouleme, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We were treated to tea and lovely home-made cake on our arrival at this lovely old thatched cottage. Our large bedroom had comfy chairs, books and magazines, a fridge with a jug of milk and bottles of water and, most important - tea-making faciliities (including a supply of builders' tea!) The furniture was beautiful - for example, an antique desk we couldn't squeeze into our suitcase! We asked for not too large a breakfast, but still received copious amounts of everything and were offered more. Ann and Pedro Harris were attentive and entertaining hosts and we were not surprised to find their Visitors' Book was filled with appreciative entries from travellers from round the world. We intend to go back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara187204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green

Property: The Green
Address: The Green, Wethersfield CM7 4BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The Green' is a delightful 16th-century house with a wealth of exposed beams, inglenook fireplaces and antique furnishings. It is situated in the middle of the pretty village of Wethersfield overlooking the village green and church. Wethersfield is 7 miles from Braintree, conveniently close to Halstead, Saffron Walden and Sudbury and within easy reach of Cambridge, Chelmsford and Colchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Wethersfield, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing